Introducing: The Pregnant Pause

February 18, 2010 at 8:32 am 26 comments

If you follow me on Twitter (or know me in real life) you know that yesterday I experienced my worst nightmare. I had a migraine and because of this baby growing inside me, I’m not allowed to take my drugs. Migraines are awful even when you have drugs, they are pretty unbearable if you can’t take anything. I’m sorry but one regular strength Tylenol may as well be a sugar cube.

I’d like to introduce to you a new “feature” here on Roots & Rings. It’s called the Pregnant Pause. Basically it means that I need a day off of blogging because I’m tired, sick, or too fat to reach my laptop. I’ll post a picture or a¬†fun pregnant fact on these days.

So welcome to the first ever Pregnant Pause. It’s a special one because it’s the Hurstling’s blog debut.

That blob on the left is our baby. We’re hoping the little one chooses to become a bit more human looking for the next ultrasound. Say hello!

–We are thoroughly impressed with your comments yesterday! Seriously, there were so many good ideas! Thanks y’all!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: , .

There Are No Losers In This Post Seven Quick Takes – What a Week!

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alyssa  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:41 am

    Well enjoy your Pregnant Pause day! Cute baby!

  • 2. Karen  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Awww, is such a cute little blob, Hurstling looks just like you. lol

    I love ultrasound pictures, my nephew and his wife are on their second one, (a girl) and she had an ultrasound and Maddy or Mattie (yes there is a controversy on how to spell it, I told them in GA it does not matter, we say it the same way) was looking directly at the camera, like “what are you looking at” those kind of pictures are neat, hopefully you will get one too.

    Get some rest and I hope you feel better.

  • 3. Molly  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I sincerely hope you’re feeling better and that you don’t have too many migraines during this pregnancy. I had my first ever migraine at the beginning of mine and it was UNBEARABLE. I can only imagine what it’s like for you who gets them on a regular basis (and whose are probably much worse than my little one).

  • 4. Taryn E  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Aww… I’m sorry girl! Migraines are no fun! Have you ever tried going to a chiropractor for them? I know you can still do that, even when pregnant. Also ask your doctor if you can take more than just one Tylenol… I was allowed to take the normal dosage of the extra-strength stuff once I was out of my first trimester (but no ibeprofen or Aleve.) Hope you feel better!!!!!

  • 5. Amanda  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I only got one headache when pregnant. After the first one, I switched to these ultra-super prenatals. I think they literally have ultra in the title. They are wonderful. I also started drinking tea (camomille, etc) like crazy. I feel like my midwife also had me take something, but I can’t remember.

    Hang in there!

  • 6. Samantha  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Ugh, a migraine with no medicine is the worst. I’m so sorry and hope you are feeling better! The little Hurstling is an adorable blob. :)

  • 7. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:21 am

    That is one of the most gorgeous baby blobs I’ve ever seen.

    And talk to your dr/midwife about the migraines. They might have something they can do for you that won’t hurt the baby. But I hope you don’t have to go through that again!

  • 8. Kelly  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I’m sorry about your headache, but so happy for you at the same time! I hope you have a wonderful pregnancy.

    My headaches lasted until about 20 weeks, but they weren’t migraines. I can only imagine how much worse that would be. I hope you are feeling better!

  • 9. Tabaitha Kaye  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Sorry about the migrane. Hope today is better. Great first picture of the little Hurstling!

  • 10. Joy  |  February 18, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Hope you are feeling better! Very cute blob!!

    BTW I agree with Sarah, talk with your midwife/doctor about what they recommend for migraines; though hopefully they will go away while you are pregnant.

  • 11. Rachel  |  February 18, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Oh Chel! So sorry about the migraine. I know it won’t help, but you should be able to take the normal dose of tylenol. Being sick/hurting while pregnant is the worst.

  • 12. Jenna  |  February 18, 2010 at 11:51 am

    I feel for you, I really do. I am suffering from insane lower back pain this pregnancy… the migraine business is terrible! Hopefully tomorrow is a better day! :)
    PS – Your little baby blob is beautiful!

  • 13. Aunt Bonnie  |  February 18, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Sweet girl….you know you’re in my prayers! Migraines are bad enough but when pregnant….sheesh! You use those “pregnant pauses” whenver you need to!!!
    Luv u & the little Hurstling

  • 14. Candi  |  February 18, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I am so sorry. I can’t even imagine. I had a migraine that started on Monday, and with medication I didn’t get rid of it until Wednesday. I wish you the best of luck!!!

    Oh and thank you for your sweet comment. I hope she’s a girl too, because I can’t wait to see her bedroom decorated :) Hope you’re feeling better very soon!!!

  • 15. thatmarriedcouple  |  February 18, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I love your Pregnant Pause idea! I don’t want you to have any more migraines though. Hope you’re feeling better!

  • 16. Erin  |  February 18, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Hello, little Hurstling!

    Friend, I know what you mean about the migraines. They came in my second trimester and I didn’t even bother taking ONE freaking Tylenol, because what’s the point? When you’re throwing up because you’re blinded and deafened by pain, there’s just no sense in it. I just drank a lot of water and covered my head in ice packs…and had the husband hold my hair back.

    It will pass! I haven’t had one in over a month, now. But even if you have them through your rentire pregnancy…don’t you think it’s worth it??? :-)

  • 17. Amanda  |  February 18, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Beautiful already!!

  • 18. abby  |  February 18, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    I love the Pregnant Pause idea! I hope your headache is better today!

  • 19. Stephany  |  February 18, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    So sorry about the migraines. My mom gets terrible migraines and I feel so lucky that I don’t get them (I don’t know if they’re hereditary?!) because they’re just awful. I’ll have to ask her if she got them while she was pregnant with my brother/me and what she did.

    Anyway, Hurstling looks like the perfect little blob!

  • 20. Meredith  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    I get migraines too, and pregnancy was NOT fun in that respect. My OB was actually telling me to drink soda or coffee for some relief!

  • 21. Jill  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better! I like your Pregnant Pause idea ;) I didn’t know tho that you got ultrasounds so early. Cool!

  • 22. Yet to be named Grandma (Maureen)  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Aww! Look at my little grandblob! I love him or her already sooooo much!!!!

    I am praying that you don’t get anymore of those horrible headaches!

  • 23. Darla  |  February 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    So sorry!!!

  • 24. jenferlouise  |  February 19, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I’m so excited for you!!!

  • 25. Nora  |  February 20, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Aww! Hello Baby Hurstling.

    (you come up with the best names for things on your blog. I’ve decided that you and your husband must be very, very cool people. Just in case you wanted to know :) )

  • 26. brandilicious  |  February 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

    I’ve been horrible about reading blogs the past week.

    But this one, has been my favorite to catch up on. First glimpse of the Hurstling! Yay. Can’t wait to see it he/she gets bigger and bigger :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

