Seven Quick Takes – Does My Blog Make Your Ovaries Sing?

March 12, 2010 at 9:20 am 20 comments

I’m fully aware that R&R has turned to pregnancy/baby central lately. I don’t plan for it to be like that all the time but you do have to realize that I’M PREGNANT and that’s kind of a big deal. So bear with me. Maybe Stephen will say something hilarious this weekend so I have another fun Stephenism for you on Monday!

1.
Last week I mentioned that Taryn made Avery a little Rice onesie so she’d have something appropriate to wear when her “Uncle T” pitches. She wore it last week when Rice played UT. She was precious. Also… babies in jeans? So cute I may vomit!

2.
I went to Starbucks the other day with the giftcard I got from my friend Kelly. I ordered a hot chocolate and felt like a pansy. I wanted to say, “I really do love coffee… it’s just that I’m pregnant. Please don’t judge me.” I didn’t. I just smiled and said, “Thank you dear!” so she’d be distracted with the fact I called her “dear” more than with the fact I went to a coffee shop to order hot chocolate.

3.
A few weeks ago I mentioned that I had the desire to either learn to knit or sew. I think knitting is a sweet skill because it’s portable. But I have my doubts about my ability to knit for a few reasons: Following patterns isn’t my favorite, doesn’t it involve counting? And I have some serious carpal tunnel in my right arm. My wonderful chiropractor keeps in manageable but I can’t imagine doing something else that involves small movement with my wrist. So I thought sewing would be my way to go… only I don’t have a sewing machine and I hear that’s an integral part of sewing. I couldn’t really see myself buying a sewing machine because I have a deep desire for a new vacuum and new carpet. However, my dad left a comment on that post with a proposition: If I take a sewing class and decide that I like it, he’ll buy me a sewing machine. In return, I have to take care of all of his and my mom’s sewing needs.

So? On my to-do list: Research sewing classes before my belly gets too big to reach the machine!

4.
I’ve been mourning the length of my legs lately as I visit maternity stores and see that the only way to be comfortable is to wear high-waters. I’ve hit the internet and Googled my little heart out. A few of you have emailed advice (thank you). Somehow in all of that I stumbled upon this website with the cutest name: Mommy Long Legs (<-that’s a link).  So I wandered around this site and of course it made my heart skip a beat because, HELLO, you guys know how frustrated I am about this long jean situation. I chatted a bit with the people over there and it looks like I’ve scored myself a pair of LONG jeans in return for an honest review of their product. So hold your breath y’all. And tall chicks, come back soon! (Oh and Canadians, they ship to y’all’s land too!)

5.
I’m thinking about quitting Twitter. I’ve mentioned about 17,000 times before that I am not really a fan. I feel like I’m boring. I think it’s a distraction. And most importantly… it’s another thing I need to keep up with. I’ll probably keep my account but not sign in very often.

6.
Thanks for all of your comments yesterday. I haven’t been nauseous, I’ve just had a general yucky feeling. Maybe it’s heartburn? I don’t know. I’ve never had heartburn before. But it’s not always right after I eat. For now, I’m just blaming hormones. If it keeps up, I’ll call the doctor. The only problem is that I don’t even know how to explain it. So I’ll just moan and complain and pop Tums!

(I wrote that paragraph yesterday around lunchtime. Last night I had my first pregnancy vomit session. Hopefully that’s just a one time thing… It was not fun!)

7.
I’m so very excited about this weekend. For many reasons. I’ve been quite hormonal this week. Grouchy, sad, excited, etc. etc. etc. at all different times for no real reason. It’ll be nice to not sit in front of a computer for two days and enjoy life. We have great great plans that I’ll share with you on Monday. I hope you all have a fantastic weekend!!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Pregnant Pause – Yeah… Again When Good Bloggers Go Bad

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathleen  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Lauren and I were just talking the other day about taking a sewing class! It’s on my list of goals. My only problem is my stupid ever-changing schedule that makes it nearly impossible to commit to something at the same time each week.

    I don’t want you to quit Twitter! I think it’s a great tool for bloggers to keep in touch with and respond to their readers.

  • 2. Amanda  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Yucky feelings are common when pregnant I think. I had a hot flash once, I thought I was dying…

  • 3. osarah  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:43 am

    Hope you have a great weekend, Chelsea!

    If you find a sewing class and like it, I have an excellent sewing machine to recommend for you (and it’s only $150 at WalMart).

  • 4. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:48 am

    I don’t really use my twitter account, either. I just don’t have time between blogging and raising kids houskeeeping and using facebook (which I prefer anyway) and spending time with my husband. It’s just more hassle than it’s worth for me. So I condone your acquittal :)

    I’m excited for your mommy long legs review! I’m not even very tall and I have a hard time finding long enough maternity pants. Very excited to see what you think.

  • 5. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Oh, and you KNOW your blog makes my ovaries sing :)

  • 6. Southern Gal  |  March 12, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Mommy Long Legs? Seriously? My daughter will LOVE this. She went shopping this past weekend and complained about capris and crop pants. She says she has cankles due to pregnancy. Anyway she wants LONG pants.
    Can’t wait to read your review.

  • 7. deiala  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Oh don’t feel “bad” for ordering hot chocolate in a coffee shop! I do that often. In fact, I prefer chocolate or tea to coffee…

    Have a great weekend…

  • 8. Karen  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Babies in jeans are always adorable, but don’t vomit on her, that might take the cuteness away. May be, I don’t know, she’s darn cute people may not even notice.

    I have a creative gene that I never act on either, I would like to sew, draw and even knit, but it is more like day dreaming than reality, it is easier to day dream it, not much physical work there, just the good feeling. My grandmother use to knit, she was really good too.

    I am looking forward to this weekend also, we are going to have fabulous weather, sunshiny days, warm nights, oh the feeling, it is finally here.

    My niece is at the hospital, dilating, it won’t be long now before little Travis Keith is here, I am excited.

    I hope your weekend is great with no yucky feelings.

  • 9. DebbieQ  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:19 am

    If you can’t knit there are those who will do that for you.

    I would miss you on Twitter but I do agree that it is a distraction. One more thing that I think, “Oh I must be witty” when I don’t want to be.

  • 10. kelly  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:24 am

    so glad you are using your gift card…if only i had given it to you in a more timely fashion!

    also…i’m so glad avery could go to her first college classic at minute maid…thank goodness it wasn’t freezing in there last weekend like it was way back in the day…february 2004!!! (wow i had to catch my breath there for a second). just think…next year your parasite/roommate/baby will get to be there too!

  • 11. Lauren From Texas  |  March 12, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I can’t wait until you do this review! Save the info – I’ll need it myself in the next 1095 days ;)

  • 12. Jessica  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:26 am

    You used the word vomit twice in this blog. I hope Lindsay can make it through this post. Doesn’t she hate that word?

    Anyways, Avery is adorable! I love baby jeans.

    I’m happy you found some long length jeans, I hope you like them!

  • 13. mom (Nana) Alice Rosenhagen  |  March 12, 2010 at 11:50 am

    (1) OMGOSH my granddaughter is amazingly adorable! (2) the pregnant mommy holding her is cute too (3) pregnancy is just unexplainable to some – bad days and good days and medium days mixed in …just have to deal with it, I guess, And every time you feel funny, say a prayer of thanksgiving for the precious baby inside – just think how many prayers that will be for her/him! (3) I am soooooooooo sorry you vomited (hope Lindsay doesn’t read) and I really hope that is it. No more!!!! Try to get some sleep this weekend – at least in the car!

  • 14. Tabaitha Kaye  |  March 12, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    I’m looking forward to your review as well. Like you my long legs hated being pregnant during the fall and winter months because I had to wear jeans. I would much rather be pregant and wear shorts, tanks, skirts and dresses every day.

  • 15. Faith  |  March 12, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    I have some major wrist problems and just took up knitting. It hurt the first two weeks and now six weeks later, no pain at all. I’m really surprised. I had to knit with my brace on for awhile. If it’s your left hand you probably won’t have any trouble, if it’s your right, then you might have some.

  • 16. Sara  |  March 12, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    You should definitley learn to sew or CROCHET. Crochet is way more easy than knitting, IMO, but not good for the carpal tunnel, of course. Sewing is great and there are lots of blogs out there with great tips!

  • 17. Jenna  |  March 12, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    #6 – I’ve never had heartburn while pregnant, but I do get acid reflux – BAD! I just found out this pregnancy that it has a name… it’s a gross burning feeling from mid chest, up your throat. Hopefully you start to feel better soon! And YAY for finding long pants.. I’m a shortie, so I don’t have that issue! :)

  • 18. Molly  |  March 13, 2010 at 4:56 am

    Please don’t quit Twitter! I like reading all your updates and I don’t think you’re boring AT ALL!

    I hope you feel better soon. I would get heartburn HOURS after I’d eaten so just because it’s delayed doesn’t mean it’s not heartburn.

    Have a great weekend, friend.

  • 19. Ginger  |  March 13, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    I think that as long as you are constantly snacking during the day that you shouldn’t really feel get the whole vomiting issue, although I realize that it changes with different people. My sister thought that it was from not eating enough though, because if she got hungry (which is apparently an instantaneous reaction when you’re pregnant) and didn’t eat immediately she would feel sick. I know I feel sick when I don’t eat for long periods of time too…so our theory was that the reason you get severely sick is because you get hungry super fast, weak super fast, then SICK super fast…so always snack! If you’re having heartburn issues I vote for boring saltines!

    Oh and BTW, picked colors for your blanket and I don’t know why I didn’t think of them sooner…the yarn is acrylic though…I hope that’s ok?? Please let me know.

  • 20. Taryn  |  March 15, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    LOVE her in her little Rice onesie!! And I so love babies in jeans. They’re little diaper rears are the cutest!

    PS – if you really want to take a sewing class, I HIGHLY recommend Sew Crafty! I just signed up to take a class to learn to make a “naughty secretary skirt.” I’ve taken a class there before – they’re wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

