The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

January 6, 2009 at 11:29 pm 2 comments

Oh what a joyous season! Everyone is excited, houses are decorated, you can have friendly banter with complete strangers who hold different beliefs, you can wear the same color every day and nobody thinks otherwise… Ahh, yes, the season of Bowl Games. (You thought I meant Christmas? That was so 12 days ago!)

 

As I want checking out at Half Price Books today, the man says “You must be in a good mood!” I look at him with his long hair and mismatched clothes, look down at my purchase and say, “Why? Because I’m leaning to knit?” He tilts his head, nods at my sweatshirt and says “Well, I was refering to the game last night.” Oh… yeah. Next stop: the grocery store. A man wearing a Cowboys sweatshirt and Texas hat smiles at me as I’m picking out dishwashing soap. “Hmm, friendly” I think to myself. As I’m putting my groceries in my trunk he walks up to me and says, “So how about that game?!” Instant friends.

 

I’m not sure what it is about football season that brings everyone together. But I think Christmas season could learn something from it. Nobody thinks twice about throwing up their guns or wearing their Aggie ring around people that they don’t know. As the lady in her Purdue shirt walks by me in the grocery store, I highly doubt that she’s thinking “Maybe I should cover my shirt so I don’t offend that Longhorn girl over there.” No, we don’t do that. Why? Because it’s ridiculous.

 

You don’t have to celebrate Christmas but you should know that I do. So to everyone out there, Merry Christmas!

Entry filed under: Holidays, UT. Tags: .

Time Flies! Surrounded By Losers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  January 6, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Yes! I will def read. Keep it up, it might inspire me to dust off my old blogs again, lol.

  • 2. Jimbo  |  January 7, 2009 at 9:26 am

    I’m afraid that the level of “friendliness” and acceptance regarding football bowl season is easier to achieve because college sports ultimately do not matter whereas religious beliefs do matter. Glad you’re blogging Chels!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

