Ancient Chinese Torture, Provided by Ike

January 8, 2009 at 9:35 am 4 comments

Life in Hurst Castle has been a bit more interesting since Hurricane Ike’s visit. We had the typical damage… down trees and fences. The tree debris was removed shortly after the storm leaving a massive hole in our backyard that slightly resembles the effects of a meteor. Our fences were replaced as well. New post holes were dug, cement was poured, and a new beautiful fence now spans our backyard. All except two spots… an area for our neighbor to have full access to his electric meter thing (it’s the least we could do, we crushed his garage) and a spot by his garage that we will not replace until he replaces his garage. So we came home yesterday to a giant machine of some sort, tearing down his garage. It was loud and a mess… but it was so beautiful! We’re seeing progress! Almost four full months after Ike, our neighbor is finally able to get someone out to remove the remains of his crushed garage. So I went inside with a little hop in my step!

 

Sadly, that wasn’t our only damage. A branch pierced our roof and rotted out our bathroom. For the last 4 months, we’ve been using the guest bathroom. It’s not ideal, but it works. Last night was a relaxing night. I made dinner, practiced my knitting (screwed that up horribly!), and in an effort to avoid putting away the Christmas decorations, I took a bath. Since our master bath doesn’t have a bath tub, I never took baths before Ike. I’m enjoying this new activity of mine. Except last night… Slowly that faucet had developed a leak. It started with a drip, now it’s a stream. Like a good wife, I googled “faucet leaks” and printed instructions on how to fix it. It seemed easy. They didn’t mention that one of the pre-requisites for 1965 faucet fixing is a Masters Degree. Since neither of us have one of those, it’s still dripping. So there I am, in my nice bubble bath, smelling like peaches and reading my latest book, with a constant stream of water pouring into my bath. I decided it would be a good time to practice the art of speed reading and speed shaving. (Neither are really recommended during times of distress.)

 

While I’m ecstatic about our neighbor’s progress and an entirely completed fence in our foreseeable future, I’m also reminded that there is a long way to go before we are back to normal. The reminder comes in the form of a stream of water in my otherwise relaxing bath.

Entry filed under: Hurst Castle.

Surrounded By Losers HAPPY B-DAY STEPHEN!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  January 8, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I’m glad you’ve been enjoying baths lately and that your neighbor is getting to make progress on his garage, and I hope you all are able to get your faucet leak fixed soon!

  • 2. Matt  |  January 8, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    This is entertaining! Keep it up : )

  • 3. Justin  |  January 10, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Your valve prolly is not fully shutting. You may need a new one. It shouldn’t be too hard to fix. I bet it’s a needle valve.

  • 4. jic  |  January 31, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    “but it works”

    that’s right it works. It works cause I broke it. I’m a pioneer.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

