Better With Age

January 13, 2009 at 10:01 am 3 comments

Sunday night Stephen and I were invited to my parents’ house. They’d had a party the previous night and had a bunch of leftovers. So we were invited for dinner and to use the hot tub. We loaded up the car with our swim suits and Rookie, and made the 4 block trip to their house. When we pulled up, Rookie and Molly greeted each other at the fence and fussed until we were able to unlatch the gate. We spent the next 30 minutes relaxing by the fire pit with a glass of wine as Rookie and Molly wrestled dangerously close to the edge of the pool. We then ate a wonderful dinner of leftover ham, turkey, rice, and green beans. Then the four of us went to the hot tub. It was an extremely relaxing evening. It’s funny to think about how much of I have come to enjoy the simple things in life. So instead of dishing out a semi-interesting story today, I’m going to take note of some of the things I’ve grown to truly love and appreciate.

 

Wholesome television, clipping coupons, jeans that fit (bonus points if they cost under $60), Saturday mornings, mail, transfering money into our savings account, a clean house (but that never happens), spending time with family, going to church, having no plans on a Friday night, doing crossword puzzles with my husband, an oven that works properly (I don’t have one yet but I can dream…), reading, young families, making extra mortgage/student loan payments, Avon makeup and lotion, cheap wine, dreaming of our future family, going to bed early (another thing that never happens), gardens, health, knitting/crocheting, playing games with my grandparents, quality time with my siblings, having jobs (yes, God, we know this is a blessing and we aren’t taking it for granted!), moisturizer, organization…..

 

Sorry if you were expecting an entertaing story. Feel free to use the comments to add things you are learning to truly value in your life. I’d like to know!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old. Tags: .

Bringing Down The Cheer Loser Week 2: When Trainers Attack

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  January 13, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    my husband, my children, my siblings, my parents/in-laws…yep family is the best!

  • 2. Sarah Johnson  |  January 14, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Hey Chels! Great post- you really have a knack for this blog writing! I would have to agree with a lot of your list- I love going to bed early and getting up early (and I’m trying to more discipline in doing that!) Another thing that I appreciate more with age is my parents- my Dad is a handy man and my Mom is becoming more of a friend than a mom. They are just great and I’m glad they are still around!

  • 3. osarah  |  January 14, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Hmm I love…time when John & I don’t have to do anything but enjoy being together, playing games with my family, hearing stories about my grandparents and great-grandparents, visiting with John’s grandmother, random phone calls people make to us here in Germany, having house guests, warm clothes out of the dryer, big snowflakes like the ones that fell today, having nice neighbors to talk to, people who smile and/or say hello when you pass them on the street, friendly people in general, baking (LOVE it), scrapbooking, learning guitar when John teaches me, exploring new places in Europe, not having any dishes to do (rarely happens), leaving the windows open in the house (fresh air rocks), comfy couches and my parents’ new pillows…seriously, I will blog about them when we get our own. They are the best pillows I have ever put my head on, and now John and I are set on getting them. They’re pricey, but for the time we will spend in bed in our lives, I think it’s a valid expense :o)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

