Boys Will Be Boys

January 19, 2009 at 9:27 am 10 comments

On Friday night, my parents invited Stephen and I out to dinner and then to the Nassau Bay Community Theater to see Agatha Cristie’s And There Were None. I read this book back in high school and loved it. I’ve seen the movie and the play at the Hobby Center. If you ignore that disturbing psychopath element, it really is quite clever. If you’ve never read it or watched it, I recommend it. As great as the story is though, we didn’t quite know what to expect. Nassau Bay is small… so Nassau Bay Theater had to be even smaller. And we figured this was a good time to check it out.

 

I’m very blessed to have a husband who likes going to the theater with me. He’s constantly telling me that I have issues and I need to drop my stupid stereotypes about how men are “supposed to be.” This is hard for me. It’s still shocking to me when he chooses a pina colada over a Shiner. It always makes me giggle when he asks if we can cuddle before bed. He irons, rubs my feet, loves games, gets massages. and (wait for it…) loves cats. However, when I announced that my New Year’s Resolution was to learn to knit and Stephen said, “Oh great, I’ll learn with you”, well, I drew the line. I told him boys don’t knit and that’s that.

 

We get to do things together that many couples only do after the wife begs. We do crosswords, go to musicals, have endless conversations about baby names, we sit on the back patio drinking wine and staring at the fire, we watch The Food Network and Jon & Kate (okay, yes, sometimes I have to beg, but he always ends up enjoying it).  

 

Now don’t get me wrong, my husband is all man! He burps and farts with the best of them. He’s strong and hairy and can’t match his clothes (He may disagree, but we have photos to prove otherwise). And, let me tell you, this man can shoot a gun. Stick an iPod in him and he’ll work in the yard all day. He watches things like Lord of the Rings, 300, Battlestar Gallactica, and South Park. And boy, how he eats! He’s one of those types that doesn’t actually believe he’s eaten a meal unless it has meat in it. “Grilled tomato and cheese? Can you put some ham in it?” “Eggs? can we have some sort of meat with that?”  

 

He’s a wonderfully well-rounded man that I constantly try not to take for granted. So as we were sitting in the play on Friday night, enjoying the evening, I was smiling that both my husband and dad have enough of a soft side to enjoy evenings like that. During one of the intermissions, I was enjoying a cup of coffee with my mom. Stephen of course, thinks coffee is worse than drinking pond water unless his mug is half-full of flavored creamer. So he goes out to see if they have some hot chocolate. Nope, but he is enjoying his evening all the same. What a wonderful man. We settle back into our seats and watch the final act. Miss Vera Claythorne is talking to her love interest Philip Lombard about who the killer is. They are standing especially close and you can hear the fear in their voices about the possibility of losing each other. Stephen is holding my hand (as he does so often) and I’m fully enjoying the moment. Then he leans over and whipers in my ear, “Do you smell bacon?”

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Nights Out, Stephen.

Release the Hounds Kids These Days

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  January 19, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Yep, you are blessed and yes, he CAN eat – except soup! 🙂

  • 2. Stephenie  |  January 19, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I can’t help but laugh. “Can you smell bacon?” is NOT what I expected him to say after you pumped me full of how graciously romantic he is. I am glad that you have fallen in love with someone so charming… hoping to hear about a little Hurst some time this year!

  • 3. Lindsay  |  January 19, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    HAHAHAHAAA! What a Stephen thing to say at a moment like that!

  • 4. The Husband  |  January 19, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    You know what? I love my wife like whoa.

  • 5. Rachel  |  January 19, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Reasons I laughed at this blog:
    – The thought of Stephen knitting
    – The fact that Andrew and I are pumped about the Jon & Kate marathon that was on today (ok… more me, but Andrew will enjoy the TiVoed episodes too)
    – You called Nassau Bay small… 🙂

  • 6. Matt  |  January 19, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Chelsea, this has become a tab on the top of my home screen layout. LOVE reading about this. Damn near about to start my own…

    Btw, we just got a playmate for Molly and Rookie 🙂

  • 7. John O.  |  January 20, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Sounds like Stephen and I are pretty similar in the manly department. This is too funny. There is nothing wrong with drinking “chick drinks” They are tasty! I Iron, ask Sarah if we can cuddle before we sleep, wish I could watch more Jon & Kate (there isn’t much on over here in germany!), get massages, and LOVE cats. I’m also in the army. 🙂 I had to join to counter balance all of those other things. *blush*

    P.S. on days when the army doesn’t pick my clothing, I can usually be found asking Sarah “Does this match?”

    Chelsea, LOVE the blog. Keep it up!

  • 8. Jimbo  |  January 20, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Fantastic entry Chelsea…fantastic! Your blog is my favorite to read….

  • 9. osarah  |  January 20, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    I love it! I’m surprised by how many things our husbands have in common. Mine failed to mention he also loves hunting and all that outdoorsy type stuff. Speaking of, does Stephen like to ski? Because if he does, I may have a proposition for you when we move back: ski trip. The boys can ski, and we can go shopping and drink coffee. Sound good? 🙂

  • 10. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:17 am

    […] Boys Will Be Boys […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

