Altima vs. Murano

January 27, 2009 at 9:59 am 19 comments

Today will be a different type of post… I need your help. Stephen and I will be buying a car in the next couple days. We’ve narrowed it down to two vehicles. We’re back and forth on this decisions, there are pros and cons to each. So please help. Ultimately, it’ll come down to our decision and how we feel after we’ve driven both cars. But I would love to have your vote and any supporting arguments. (Anyone see The Office last week? Hillary Swank, hot or not? Much like that, only this vote matters.)

 

Pictured below are our two choices. If we go with the Altima, it’ll be the brick red. If we go with the Murano, we are unsure. I do know that I want an actual color (not white, cream, champagne, etc.)

 

Take into consideration our lifestyle. Necessities: safety, comfort, family-friendliness, design of car, etc.

 

Altima

Altima?

 

Murano

Or Murano?

 

It’s a tough decision, I know. Both are so beautiful! Any thoughts, arguments, and observations will be helpful. Here are two more pictures to help with your decision-making.

 

Altima

Altima?

 

Murano

Or Murano? (We won’t be getting this orange one…)

 

Let the voting begin.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Long Lived The Kar Loser Week 4: Featuring Kurt Warner (because he’s not busy right now)

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:14 am

    the Murano, at one point in time was my favorite car on the road. no joke.

    some points to consider:

    lots of seating
    more storage space
    a little bigger (crash test rating?)

    plus I hear its just as fun to drive XD

  • 2. Stephenie  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Honestly I have driven a car my entire life, and as you know I have recently decided to upgrade to an Equinox. (Couldn’t convince the husband that the Tahoe was a necessity, but that’s neither her or there!) Anyways I love my SUV, its roomy, I’m higher off the ground, and I can fit everyone in comfortably. Not to mention when we go on road trips we don’t have to pull over to get things out of the trunk we just crawl to the back, and even better, when my car isn’t clean and people are unexpectedly riding with me, they never notice how dirty the car was prior to their arrival, cause they didn’t see me toss it all to the back! Granted the Altma is lovely, but my vote is for the Murano, after all it’s kid friendly.

  • 3. kelly  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:33 am

    murano. you’ll need an suv!!!! and rockie and ride in the back and not get her hair everywhere.

  • 4. Courtney  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Wow, can’t believe this is already happening!

    Mom and Dad like their Murano a lot, I believe, but the ride isn’t as smooth as they like 🙂

    I love both cars! But maybe an SUV would be better with a growing family.

    xoxo Court

  • 5. Laura Rosenhagen  |  January 27, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Both are pretty. I don’t know what the gas mileage is like for either one, but something to look into. In a couple months, I hope to trade the red car in for an SUV. I like to be up higher and have more space. SUV’s are kid and dog friendly too.

  • 6. Rachel  |  January 27, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I vote murano. While, yes, I know it’s possible to have kids and get them and all their stuff into a car, it’s not easy. We literally STUFF the Durango to the brim whenever we go out of town with Caden and the dogs. When we leave the dogs, it’s still pretty full, but we don’t have to worry about tight packing. There is NO way we could fit it all into a car with tight packing.

    Now… you’re probably thinking, “we’re not planning on having kids for ___.” If I’m proof of anything… plan for the unplanned, go SUV. 🙂

    Plus, Kelly’s right about Rookie and the back… I immediately noticed when we got the Durango how much less dog hair was all over my clothes when I got out of the car.

  • 7. Rachel  |  January 27, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    PS- Did you sit in the back seat of both with the front seats all the way back in both vehicles? The Durango has sucky back seat room.

  • 8. Lindsay  |  January 27, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Although I have ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS lovveeddd the brick red altima, i think that a navy blue murano would be better for you…the whole possible family thing and all.

  • 9. osarah  |  January 27, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    We got a Nissan SUV when we moved here (Xterra) and really like it. We’re not necessarily Nissan people, but it’s a good car. With that, my vote is for the Murano.

    The space difference in an SUV is huge. We find it so much more comfortable than a sedan. Of course, as others have mentioned, mileage can be an issue with SUVs…

    Good luck with your decision & enjoy your new purchase, whichever one you go with! I can’t wait to see pictures of the real deal!

  • 10. Tia Boo  |  January 27, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Ok, well you know we LOVE our Murano, and I will get another one when we buy another new car. The only cons I have to say about the Murano would be the ride is not as smooth as we’d like, and the seatbelts in the back are hard to buckle sometimes. The pros are for John is that backup camera, boy does he love that thing, and since you are thinking about starting a family, I think an SUV is much more family friendly. Of course, I love the color of that Altima! But that aside, I vote for the Murano. We have really, really enjoyed ours. Oh, one other thing about the Murano are the brakes squeak. We had them checked and they were fine. A friend of mine told me that her dad owns an automotive shop and told her the reason brakes squeak in new cars is because the manufacturer uses the cheapest brake pads.

  • 11. Heather  |  January 27, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Murano is my vote!

    But, I would check into the gas mileage in case the powers that be decide that gas should be more expensive again

  • 12. Tia Boo  |  January 27, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    ps….AND in the Murano you can put the back seats down for Rookie, very convenient for transporting Pepe to Petsmart to buy him a new toy! 🙂

  • 13. Aunt Bonnie  |  January 27, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    You know me…..I can’t live without my SUV so I vote Murano solely on that basis. I don’t know anything about either of those vehicles. Face it, your family will never get “smaller”!!!!

  • 14. Alma  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Hi Chelsea,

    I’d go for the SUV–it’ll be kinder to your back when you’re having to deal with car seat(s) : )

  • 15. Jimbo  |  January 27, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    As much as I hate to break up the perfect streak of Murano voters, I’d go with the Altima because of gas mileage. Oil prices will go up again and I think you’ll like having the better mileage. Your insurance would probably be a little less too…

  • 16. Matt  |  January 28, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Truth is, oil prices WILL go up. Gas will probably get back up around $3.00 – $3.75 per gallon. That being said, I would go (pending I had the funds to back it) with the Murano.

  • 17. jfowens  |  January 28, 2009 at 9:14 am

    I know everyone else has already said this, but get the Murano. We didn’t realize how much we liked our SUV until we visited the states and we were driving a little saturn around. It feels sooooo much safer being up off the ground and there is so much room to spread out on trips. Eventually it will provide enough room if your family grows. Take the leap! Become SUV people!

  • 18. Grandpa  |  January 28, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Without a doubt, Murano. I’ve liked the looks of the Murano ever since it came out. Our new Buick Enclave has similar lines and we love it.

  • 19. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    […] 3. Altima vs. Murano […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

