25 Things

January 30, 2009 at 9:05 am 15 comments

There has been a facebook note going around for some time. I’ve been tagged multiple times. Assuming everyone who tagged me actually reads this, I’ll participate here instead.

 

25 Random Things About Me

 

1. I am deathly afraid of snakes. A few years ago, Stephen and I took a trip to visit my friend Rachel in Kansas. There was an incident involving the three of us, a local water hole, and a very very pissed off snake. My fear began that day and is out of control. I can’t even watch The Jungle Book anymore!

2. I save coke tabs and wine corks. Eventually I’ll give all of my coke tabs to the Ronald McDonald House, apparently they use them or recycle them or something. The wine corks, I’m not sure yet. I’ll make something with them.

3. I don’t go anywhere without my planner. It’s pocket sized. It took me weeks to pick out one that was acceptable.

4. I’ve had glasses since I was two. I am far-sighted and have a crossed eye (no you’ve never seen it, no I won’t show you). I got contacts in the 5th grade. I’m seriously considering getting a pair of glasses even though I swore I’d never wear them again. I’m also going to discuss the option of lasik.

5. I don’t have career goals. I’ve never laid in bed dreaming of the ideal career. Ever. Well, maybe in the third grade. But then I just made my sister come play school with me so I could be the amazing teacher I thought I could be! This really made me feel out of place in the UT business school… surrounded by overachievers and business-minded people.

6. When I’m stressed my body goes crazy. I get headaches and golfball sized knots in my shoulders.

7. I have a LOT of random health issues. None of them are really serious. My doctor has actually told me that I should play the lottery since the chances of one person having all of these random no cause/no cure issues is so slim.

8.  Sometimes I still stare at my engagement ring.

9. I’m terrified of knives. I use them all of the time, but I’m nervous when anyone else is using them. When I was little, I sliced my hand open when I was trying to cut an acorn in half… on my hand. Yeah real smart.

10. If there is no Chapstick in my pocket, I have a slight panic attack.

11. I thought marriage was going to be harder than it actually is. I thought homeownership was going to be easier than it actually is.

12. I love getting mail. (Not bills.)

13. I truly think I have the best dog in the world. I will devote a blog to her awesomeness in a few days.

14. I think baseball is one of the most beautiful things in the world.

15. Every food can be improved by adding one of the following: cheese, chocolate, bacon, or butter.

16. I love to read. But I don’t usually like to read anything with any substance. That’s very similar to the movies I watch. Just dumb and mindless chick flicks.

17. I forget to pack underwear on about 60% of the trips I take. I always have to buy new ones when I arrive. Consequently, I have a lot of cheap, Walmart underwear.

18. I truly think that The University of Texas is the best school in the world. If you consider the education, price, sports, amazing location, available activities… it’s hands down. I think singing The Eyes of Texas in a crowded stadium is awesome. I think the Longhorn logo is classy. I think the hand sign is better than any other school. And I think burnt orange and black are a beautiful combination.

19. I hate the word raw. I’ve gotten better and can now handle it if it’s reference to food. But if you say that your skin is r** from blowing your nose too much, back up because I may vomit on you.

20. I wish Lindsay, Lyndsey, and Rachel would move to Houston.

21. I’m an extremely picky sleeper. It has to be cold. I have to be covered. Nobody can touch me. I lay flat on my back with my hands laying over my abdomen, like I’m in a coffin. If there is any noise, I will wake up.

22. I enjoy grocery shopping. I clip coupons and make a detailed shopping list. I never have a shopping trip that is less than an hour long. I take my time, read prices, go over my menus, and get extremely excited when they say, “You saved $____ today, Mrs. Hurst.”

23. My ideal vacation is a cruise or a beach. I’m perfectly content spending 5 days on the beach, eating, drinking, and reading. I don’t need to travel the world. I don’t need to see monuments. I just need to sleep and see a pretty ocean. Any non-beach vacation we ever take will be Stephen’s idea. Oh, except Disney World. That’s actually my ideal vacation. It’s the happiest place on earth and I’d go once a year if I could afford it!

24. I have very healthy fingernails. They grow quick and thick. I very rarely paint them though. However, I believe that women should always have their toenails painted. Toenails are so ugly, they need to be covered up.

25. I truly enjoy blogging and wonder why I didn’t start sooner. Everyday, I am humbled by the amount of people that actually read this. I truly appreciate it and love your comments. And I’m also curious as to why Thursdays don’t get as much traffic. Maybe I should do some sort of science project on this topic!

 

Hope you enjoyed this and learned a little something about me. I’m curious if Stephen, my sister, or my mom learned anything new.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Rookie. Tags: , , , , .

Strength in Numbers What’s In A Name?

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  January 30, 2009 at 10:27 am

    can you track hits? not just comments, but how many people actually visit?

  • 2. Ashley  |  January 30, 2009 at 10:54 am

    i liked your list of 25. you are a great writer! i’ve definitely been enjoying reading your blog. sometimes matt and i will discuss your blogs after we’ve both read them =D

  • 3. Tina  |  January 30, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I also wore glasses since the age of two. I was really nervous about getting Lasik, but it’s so wonderful. Call me and we can discuss why you haven’t done it yet. You need to. Anyone who’s had a crossed-eye that long (like me) deserves it.

  • 4. kelly  |  January 30, 2009 at 11:30 am

    i’m saving my corks too! i’ve also started collecting coasters from different bars/restuarants. i don’t know what i’m going to do with them yet, but i’m sure the perfect idea will come to me some day!!

  • 5. Mary Kate  |  January 30, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    I also love chapstick. It is a neccessity. Getting a letter in the mail is the best feeling in the world, in my opinion. You do have an awesome dog. I usually dont forget to pack stuff because I am so paranoid about forgetting stuff. Disney world would be the happiest place on earth if it weren’t for all the people. It is just too crowded for me.

  • 6. Lindsay  |  January 30, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Sorry, sister. I knew it all already.. and yes, i have your eye.

  • 7. Jen  |  January 30, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    I feel really special because I basically knew all these things except maybe 3 🙂

  • 8. Rachel  |  January 30, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Number 1 made me laugh hysterically. Number 20 made me cry…

    Also, Andrew asked if he could come with me… I said you were too smart to think he’d move. Darn boys.

  • 9. Mom  |  January 30, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    #16 – you do too read some things of substance – think of all the pre-wedding and couples therapy books you read! #17 – you are soooo extremely organized that I can’t believe you forget to pack undies! 🙂

  • 10. Mom  |  January 30, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    P.S. I TOO hope your sister moves back and would LOVE it if the others were here too. I miss your two precious friends, too.

  • 11. Veronica  |  January 31, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    hehe we have a lot in common! i can pretty much relate to your #5…i def didn’t like those hard core business students. eek. AND you’re a picky sleeper too! good thing is, when you come stay at our new house, I promise it will be very cold because jake and I love to be freezing when we sleep. i will most likely start a blog soon…you have inspired me.

  • 12. Aunt Bonnie  |  January 31, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    WOW! Lots of info in that list of 25. Knew lots of them but some totally new. You didn’t mention that you love to cook. I think that’s pretty rare these days. Most young women don’t know how and don’t WANT to learn. Go figure…..
    love you

  • 13. Michael  |  February 2, 2009 at 12:43 am

    My favorite is #19. Many memories of you scolding me for that. I’ll probably write a 25 Things list. In it will definitely be something about cheese, chapstick, mail, and the Longhorn logo. I guess we’re similar in randomness.

  • 14. The Husband  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    I know all of your 25! Of course I should after living it for 3-1/2 years.

  • 15. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    […] 5. 25 Things […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

