Loser Week 5: Look How Sweaty He Is

February 4, 2009 at 9:43 am 6 comments

I knew this episode was going to be good when Jillian yelled at Aubrey in the first 5 minutes of the show. Oh Jillian!

 

The episode began with the returning contestants weighing in. I wasn’t sure what to expect. They had been gone for 30 days. What is reasonable weight loss for this sort of competition? The range of numbers fell from 2-25 pounds. Aubrey was the sad contestant who only lost 2 pounds. She started making excuses and said that even though she hadn’t lost much weight, she was stronger and had more endurance. Jillian called her out and told her to stop sugar coating it… she had only lost 2 pounds… in 30 days. I don’t know about you but my weight fluctuates about 5 pounds regularly. So, Aubrey, losing 2 pounds does not prove that you worked out for 4 hours every day. It proves that you didn’t drink as much water today, or maybe you took a good trip to the restroom. No more excuses. (Side note, the blue team got immunity this week since Sione lost the most weight at home… these cousins are awesome.)

 

This was one of the more creative and entertaining challenges. Each contestant was roped to their partner. That  rope was attached to another long rope that was wrapped around a giant metal beam hundreds of times. (Imagine the way the rope and ball get wrapped around the pole in the game Tether Ball… only the pole is horizontal.) The teams had to unwrap themselves until they had enough slack to run to the finish line. There were quite a few people climbing on to the bar and then falling off. I’m not going to lie, I laughed at this. Shockingly, the yellow team (Aubrey and Amanda) won this challenge. I really thought it would be the blue team (Sione and Filipe). The prize for this challenge was either $5000 (which caused Joelle to almost poop her pants with excitement) or a 2 pound advantage at the next weigh in.

 

 The last chance workout was pretty enjoyable. Nobody threw up. I don’t think there were any tears. Carla worked her butt off, Joelle watched. The blue team continued to amaze everyone, Joelle watched. Shannon was told to carry Sione across the gym, at which she replied, “Look how sweaty he is…”, I laughed, Joelle watched.

 

Finally, the weigh in. I don’t think there were any that were incredibly shocking. I’m continually impressed with Team Black. Blaine lost another 9 pounds and Dane lost another 11. They consistently lose high numbers. We learned that in the 5 weeks on campus, they’ve lost 140 pounds. That’s impressive. Note that I said that none of the contestants were particularly shocking… so when I say the Joelle lost ZERO pounds, hear that I am not shocked. It ended with Team Silver (the Silver bullet, really? is that an appropriate name for their performance? maybe because they kill and wound everything in their path with their laser eyes and fire spit…) and Team Brown below the yellow line. I bet you can all guess how that went. Team Brown cried and gave another heartwarming plea. My favorite line: “100% of this team wants to be here.” Team Silver on the other hand… well… it didn’t go well. They obviously ended up getting voted off but lets address a few things here…

 

-Aubrey is not nice. She’s been back on the ranch for one week and she already thinks she is the Queen B. I don’t know why she thinks she can yell at Joelle for making excuses when she herself only lost TWO POUNDS IN THIRTY DAYS. This seems like a situation of the pot calling the kettle fat. I love her sister Amanda, so I’m not ready for them to go. Maybe Bob can organize a martial arts training for the whole house and someone can accidentally judo chop her in the vocal cords…

 

-Let’s discuss the Silver girls for a second. Yes, Joelle is lazy. And quite honestly, I think she has a few screws lose. She needs to see a doctor (and a financial planner). But there is no excuse for the way Carla talks to her. That’s not friendship. Rewind back to episode one… before we knew Joelle was a crazy lady. Carla was extremely condescending and patronizing to her. We now know that they haven’t spoken in months. Good for Joelle. Yes, she owes Carla an apology for her laziness (although I think she may not understand that she was lazy, she may honestly believe that she gave it her all) but Carla owes her a million apologizes for the way she treated her and attacked her character. I’m anxious to see how they look at the finale. However, I’m not looking forward to everyone yelling at her again. Hopefully the producers will try to focus on another story and understand that those sort of attacks will end up killing Joelle.

 

I hope you enjoyed last night’s episode. I sure did. Looking forward to next week, as usual.

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , , .

A Day in the Life of Rookie Dog Proof That My Intelligence Has Declined Since College

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  February 4, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    When they said that Team Black had lost 140 pounds since they have been at the ranch, Katlin turned and looked at me and goes, “Ummmm…they just lost YOU!”

    CRAZY! I’m all for Team Black, Blue, and Green!

  • 2. osarah  |  February 4, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I look forward to this post every week. John and I have to wait until we can watch the episode on the Slingbox, but as soon as we finish, we both jump on our computers to read your post.

    It’s weird how you and I perceive Aubrey and Carla differently. Granted, I haven’t watched since week 1, but I don’t think Carla is mean. My perception is that she was frustrated and fed up with Joelle’s work ethic (or lack thereof). I don’t think her attack was on Joelle’s character (statements like “you’re stupid”). To me, it was honesty about her performance. Perhaps if I’d seen since the beginning, I’d feel differently.

    As for Aubrey, I do think she has a very dominant personality (a la Queen Bee) and there may have been some double standards with her criticism of Joelle’s weight loss, but Aubrey got back to the ranch and worked hard, whereas Joelle hasn’t had much of a work ethic at all.

  • 3. Chelsea Hurst  |  February 4, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    I could see how you’d think both of those things. For the most part, I just don’t agree with the way they are talking to Joelle. I understand she’s lazy and makes too many excuses, but there is really no need to talk to someone (especially a ‘friend’) that way. I don’t remember what exactly was said in the first episode but something about not letting her down *again*.. just their whole way of communication is awful. Carla talks to her like she’s a child (yes, she acts like one) but that’s no way to talk to a friend.

    I dont know. These people are going through such a crazy time. They don’t need other contestants tearing them down like that. Just be nice, people!

  • 4. osarah  |  February 4, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Yeah, you’re right. I can’t fathom talking to a friend like that,e even if I was frustrated, annoyed and let down.

  • 5. Matt  |  February 4, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I lol’d so hard at “the pot calling the kettle fat”.

  • 6. Cindy Swanson  |  February 4, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Great recap, Chelsea! i’ll have to remember to come back often. You made some good points about the Joelle/Carla issue. As a commenter on my blog pointed out, obviously Joelle does not respond to yelling and cajoling…yet she must have found some way to motivate herself if she’s continuing to lose weight at home. And I TOTALLY agree about Aubrey…you voice my thoughts exactly!

    Hope you’ll check out my BL recap here:

    http://cindyswanslife.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

