Another Mumbo Jumbo Friday

February 6, 2009 at 9:47 am 9 comments

It’s Friday… I can’t form one cohesive thought. Here’s a bunch of randomness. (With a few plugs…)

 

-Does anyone actually watch 30 Rock? I don’t know how they win so many awards, I haven’t met a single person who regularly watches it. The Office on the other hand, everyone watches that. It’s hilarious. It’s the best show ever. Why aren’t they winning Best Comedy awards? I don’t think I’ve met a single person who actually doesn’t like that show. (My sister didn’t like it for a while. She was in a bad place… mentally. No worries though, she’s over that and is a fan of the Dunder Mifflin bunch!)

 

-Am I the only person in America that doesn’t like Katy Perry? Sadly, I thought I Kissed a Girl had a great beat and it was super catchy. But Hot and Cold and whatever the other one is, oh my, annoying.

 

-Stephen is taking piano lessons. I’m thoroughly enjoying it too. I like to sit on the couch and knit while he practices.

 

-On that note, if anyone in the Houston area is looking for a piano teacher or a pianist for an event, I know one! And if you’re looking for a photographer, I know one! http://www.emilyhansenphotography.com/ Or if you’re looking to hire someone for any job, I know someone looking!

 

-I sell Avon. If you buy Avon, we should talk. We could make magic.

 

-Yesterday I made a bunch of copies of some plans at work. I went back to the copy machine to pick them up… turns out, I put the original stack upside down so that I made a bunch of blank copies. That was a proud moment.

 

-Ever since Stephen and I got married, I always thought gift-giving time was a bit weird. We share our money. I don’t really know how to put it in words, but it’s weird. Buying him a gift with his money… or him buying me a gift with my money. I don’t know. Doesn’t anyone know what I mean? We ran into a problem more so with Stephen since I check our bank account daily. He has no chance to buy something without me finding out. We’ve decided we’re going to open a separate account for him to use for my gifts. Stephen turned to me last night and said, “I need you to give me some cash so I can go buy your Valentine’s Day present.” We’ll open that account this weekend.

 

-I’m doing a walk this Sunday to raise money for Habitat for Humanity – Women Build. This is basically a Habitat for Humanity but it’s for women to participate. (Incase you couldn’t figure that out from the name.) Thanks to those of you who donated $10 to support this. If anyone else would like to support, let me know before Sunday.

 

-My family is going on a cruise in a few weeks. Reasons I’m excited: warmth, beautiful beaches, non-stop food, I get to see my sister, I actually get to spend more time with my brother, it’ll remind Stephen and I of our honeymoon, a week off of work, I’ll have time to sleep and read, we can watch the same movie in 4 different languages. Reasons I’m not excited: I have to get back in a bathing suit, non-stop food, I may blind someone with my whiteness, Laura may get sea-sick, it will have to end sometime.

 

-“Happy birthday to you.” Period. Not even an exclamation mark?  It’s more professional that way.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Stephen, Television, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Proof That My Intelligence Has Declined Since College There Are No Words…

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kelly  |  February 6, 2009 at 10:28 am

    i have made blank prints and faxes on more than one occasion!

  • 2. Mom  |  February 6, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Another reason to be excited about the cruise….IT’S PAID FOR! woo Hoo! Had the same problems with “the money situation” as you two do. Hated it also – I ALWAYS knew what I was getting (still do) cause I also pay the bills – bummer…like the idea of a seperate account.

  • 3. Jimbo  |  February 6, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Women Build is a cool program…the WF HfH has one every year…glad you’re participating.

    Know EXACTLY what you’re talking about on the gift-giving thing. Sarah and I have had to resort to just paying in cash or losing the surprise (I’m the one who checks the account in our family).

    Not sure I know who Katy Perry is.

    He plays piano…you knit. You realize that you’re a shady looking British gentleman away from a Jane Austen novel, don’t you?

  • 4. Lindsay  |  February 6, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I resent that you say that Hot and Cold is annoying. I love that song. The words are wonderful. It describes the normal teenage/early 20’s male PERFECTLY.

    —YAYYYY for cruises!!! I’m so excited!!!!

  • 5. osarah  |  February 6, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    What we do with our gift-giving is say “hey don’t look at the bank account until your birthday” (or other day: Christmas, anniversary, etc). Then the person who is gift giving is responsible for the bank stuff until the holiday passes. When it’s a joint gift-giving holiday, one of us uses the debit card to buy and one uses the credit card and we keep our eyes to our respective statements until the day has passed.

  • 6. The Husband  |  February 6, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    What is it with Jim and Jane Austen? Is it the common ‘J’? Is it the dry romanticism? Is it the unbridled ability to relate life to the Victorian Era? Who knows…

    Ok…I’m off to play Wii with my friend Darcy.

  • 7. Matt  |  February 6, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    haha…

    I like the promoting!!!

    Do we owe you an advertiser’s fee now?

  • 8. 2muchtv  |  February 9, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    I watch 30 Rock. I think it’s hilarious. I probably think that 30 Rock is at least as funny as you think the Office is. I don’t watch the Office. I’ve never seen it.

    I think I like Katy Perry. I was on the fence at first because I think I Kissed A Girl – although catchy – was a salacious attempt to get attention. But I downloaded her CD after seeing her perform some other song on MTV. She does have a strong voice, she plays the guitar, and her lyrics are thoughtful.

  • 9. Lyndsey  |  February 13, 2009 at 9:20 am

    My thoughts on your thoughts:
    -Your gift giving situation makes me sweat.
    – I used to HATE the office because it was way to awkward and the awkwardness made me so uncomfortable that I could not bear to watch it. Now I love it!!!!
    – I have to agree with jim

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

