Learning to Focus

February 13, 2009 at 11:40 am 2 comments

I think Fridays are bad blogging days. Historically, I haven’t had very exciting blogs on Fridays. I think my brain is tired. Apparently I’m having focusing problems in all aspects of my life! So, once again, I will blog about randomness…

 

-I’ve had a headache for 24 hours now. Not sure what the cause is. Rain? Job stress? Vision therapy? Genes? Who knows.

 

-I have a love-hate relationship with my vision therapy games. I love them because I know they’ll help. I’m excited about the future of my eyes. But oh how I hate them. Those games are not fun. I yelled at the computer last night. I don’t know what I thought it would accomplish, but I did feel better. There was this one game last night called Traffic Jam. The screen was an aerial view of cars. On the top of each car was a tiny arrow. In order to pass the car in front of me, I had to push the arrow button that corresponds with the arrow on top of the car. So I start playing. It was a bit of a strain. Those arrows were tiny. That wasn’t the problem. The problem was with the sound effects. The first time I pushed an arrow button, I heard the screeching of tires as my car moved ahead and the one in front of me disappeared. I assumed that sound meant I was correct. The next one honked, a very low, loud honk. It sounded like a “YOU’RE WRONG” kind of honk. So I kept going. Randomly I would get a tire screech, and other times I get a honk. I was getting frustrated. At this point my eyes were about 4 inches from the screen because I just KNEW I wasn’t getting this many wrong answers. (This is when I yelled at the computer.) I finally called Stephen in and made him watch. He agreed with me, I was getting the right answers, this program was broken. Then my husband had a brilliant idea: get one wrong on purpose to see what sound it make. I did. It made a new sound. I had been getting them right all along. So, to the maker of my Amblyopia Vision Therapy Software, you’re mean. A honk that low means “wrong”. You have insulted my intelligence. I expect a formal apology.

 

-I have a date with my mom tonight. Stephen is going to play poker and win us lots of money. My mom and I are going out to dinner and then to Target to look for bathing suits for the cruise. (Yuck. Bathing suit shopping. Gross.) I love mom dates though!

 

-I washed our new car last week. I hate hate hate washing cars. I’m not good at it and I think it’s a lot of work for nothing. Then it rained. All week. So I drive a wet car to work, it sits in our parking lot all day where dirt and dust blows on it, and when I leave at the end of the day, it’s filthy. It’s annoying.

 

-To add to my old aged habits, I’m about to learn to cross-stitch. Not that I really want to learn. I really have no desire to cross stitch. But I have to do it for therapy. Shockingly, my knitting is improving. Often I find that I’m knitting from muscle memory, and that really doesn’t help my vision. So I’ve been instructed to do something with a fine point and preferably a needle. I’ll make sure to have Stephen fix our rocking chair so I can sit in it while I sew. Maybe we’ll get a few cats to sit at my feet… (totally kidding Stephen, don’t get your hopes up!)

 

-Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. I love Valentine’s Day. Stephen and I never go out. He makes steak, I make dessert. And we exchange gifts. This year I’m trying some new dessert. Chocolate Fudge Cake. The picture looks amazing!! I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

-Rookie did the coolest thing the other night. I was in the bathroom brushing my teeth. She was standing at my feet because she was tired and telling me she was read to go to sleep. I said, “Rookie, are you ready for night night? Go tell your daddy.” And she ran out, ran into the living room, and fussed at Stephen. Man I love her!!

 

I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend. The reason my blog is ‘blah’ today is because I am ‘blah’ today. Maybe yall can entertain yourselves with a fun comment thread. Happy Friday!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Getting Old, Rookie, Stephen, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

A Little Therapy Never Hurt Anyone Don’t Ever Ask Me To Save The World

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  February 13, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    You are going to love cross-stitch…well, I did when I was younger and doing it. Made some neat things…and I am looking forward to our “date” too…NOT BUYING A SWIM SUIT THOUGH! yuk!!! p.s. we needed the rain 🙂 sorry about your car though

  • 2. osarah  |  February 14, 2009 at 8:04 am

    I hope you’re feeling better and that you guys have a great Valentine’s Day. Steak by Stephen and dessert by Chelsea sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

