Loser Week 7: Life Without a Gym

February 18, 2009 at 10:31 am 9 comments

Hallelujah. Praise God. God Bless America. Dane speaks! And shockingly, it’s not awkward. So what was the deal with that?

 

This was one of my favorite episodes in Biggest Loser history. We began with an awesome challenge. The gym was locked up and there were only 2 keys. There were about 100 keys at the top of this mountain (hill?) and the contestants had to run up the hill, get a key, and try it in the lock on the gym.  This would continue until both keys were found. The two teams that found the keys are the only two teams that have access to the gym… all week. Awesome. So of course Tara (of the green team) and the two blue guys were amazing. They were sprinting and lapping people. And once again, these contestants prove to be “above the game”. Members of all teams were helping Ron up and down the mountain. He has two bad knees so the steep parts were too difficult for him. But each time, someone was there to push, pull or lend a helping hand. In the end, the pink team and brown team got the keys.

 

This meant that everyone else was forced to work out outside. And this is where Biggest Loser history was made. Jillian turned into a girl. It was odd. She went on a rant about how she hates being outside because it’s dirty, your shoes get dirty, you get stinky, etc. It was sort of endearing. So instead of working out outside, she turned the living room into a gym, doing 80’s style aerobics classes. I honestly thought it wasn’t going to be enough. I thought her team would suffer this week during the weigh in.

 

Bob’s team on the other hand, adapted well to the outdoors. The used lawn furniture as step blocks and weights. They worked out on the beach and carried giant stumps around. They sweat. A lot.

 

The other challenge this week was the type I like. It was fair. It wasn’t the type that rewards the weakest links. Each contestant was on a rowing machine. You had to row at a certain pace. If you dropped below that pace, your light turned yellow. If you didn’t speed up, your light turned red. Then you and your partner were out. The winner won immunity. I thought it was going to come down to the purple team and green team yet again, but Cathy wasn’t able to keep the pace up. So the final two teams were the green team and black team. Since Blane left last week, it was up to Dane to keep rowing. And keep rowing he did. Tara is a machine, so she had no trouble with this challenge. It was Laura that quit first, leaving Dane as the winner. And at that moment we saw that not only can Dane speak, but he can celebrate. He can jump. And smile. And pick people up. It was refreshing to see that personality come out of him. I was proud of him.

 

Quick side note. I think it’s disgusting that Jillian pronounces Tara’s name “Tar-a”… it’s pronounced “Tear-a”. Gross.

 

At the weigh in, we saw Kristin excel. She lost 12 pounds this week. Although I’m not quite sure how accurate that is since I’m pretty sure she “cheated” last week. It was still nice to she her shine that way. (Once again let me point out that I don’t actually think it’s “cheating”… It’s game play. And I’m all for it. When you win immunity, you win the right to strategize.) The brown team impressed me as well. I just love that father/son combo. I really want Mikey to do well. It was ultimately the pink team that was below the yellow line (despite being one of two teams with access to the gym). They sent Shanon home… all claiming that they were “respecting her wishes” but I think they sent her home because she has more weight to lose.

 

My closing thoughts:

-This season is awesome. I love these contestants. They are so nice. They genuinely care about each other and went to see each other succeed.

-I think there was a mistake on Shanon’s birth certificate. There is definitely a missing “n”.

-I hope we see Dane shine throughout the rest of the season. He and Blane can take both prizes this year.

-Stephen is no longer a big fan of Tara. He thinks she’s a big flirt. She was crying over missing Blane. And did anyone see her climb over Filipe when they were mud wrestling? Inappropriate? They have wives! I’m just saying…

-I hope they break them into individuals soon. (I think that’s coming this week with that coin toss thing.) I just really want Mike to do well and he can’t keep carrying his dad each week.

-Anyone think Tara and Laura’s friendship is hurting now that Laura is watching these episodes?

-I still don’t like Aubrey.

-What the heck is roller derby? I’ve heard of it but it just seems weird.

-Tune in next week… Bob cries.

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , .

Judgment Day Lost in Translation

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katlin  |  February 18, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Ok so your sis and I were watching this last night and to comment on your question, “Anyone think Tara and Laura’s friendship is hurting now that Laura is watching these episodes?” I totally said last night that it would tick me off if I heard all that stuff AFTER the fact! grrr.. aubrey’s an idiot.. and roller derby is awesome! I really do encourage you to watch a YouTube vid of it sometime… it’s kinda hilarious that people would put themselves through it!

  • 2. Lindsay  |  February 18, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I would have complained right along with Jillian..I love the gym..working out without a gym sucks…BAD!
    I still love Tara. She’s a BA. I think I may be her biggest fan. She was sprinting the entire key challenge and puked and kept sprinting, then stopped to puke some more, then sprinted some more!! It usually takes someone yelling in your face to drive you to that point but she just kept pushing. Impressive. Very impressive.

    ps, I can’t wait to see Bob cry.

  • 3. Lyndsey  |  February 18, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    My comments on your thoughts…..

    -BLANE CAN SPEAK! It is so exciting, and I started thinking that he is going to be pretty cute at the end.

    -You are totally right Jillian’s pronunciation of Tara is DUMB and kinda makes me angry.

    -I LOVE Jillian. I like that she is the one that kicks their A$$ES and they still love her.

    -I do not like Tara either. I appreciate the fact that she pushes herself to the point of vomiting, but I do not like her comments about her partner. Give me a break Tara… Just because you are paralyzed by fear at the thought of going home does not mean that your partner is not working hard. She has really stepped it up over the last couple of weeks, and she deserves a partner who loves and encourages her efforts. Lest we forget that Laura was at home for 30 days while you had the benefit/luxury of being on the ranch. I hope you go home Tear-a/Tar-a because you turned out to be vicious in your competitiveness. (There is no way they are still friends once Laura sees the show)

    – I love this group as well. They talk about how much they love their partners and how they can not imagine being at the ranch without each other. They say that the other person needs/deserves to be at the ranch (this is all with the exception of Tara). It is so much more fun to watch good people work hard, than mean people play a game.

  • 4. Stephenie  |  February 19, 2009 at 9:08 am

    I think I am with Stephen on this one. I am really tired of Tara (Tear-a). Her constant crying and doubting of her partner is getting on my nerves. If you think that bad of your friend, why are you friends with her?? Sounds like a parasitic relationship to me. Also her lustful flirting is quite annoying. I am ready for her to be off the show.
    I am really enjoying this season better than the rest. Like you mentioned, everyone meshes very well together.
    Looking forward to next week!

  • 5. Mom  |  February 19, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I LOVE THIS SEASON!!!! I was ready to boycott the show after last season so this is refreshing. They are all so nice and compassionate towards each other – which is how it should be!! I wasn’t sad at this elimination. I’m ready for the yellow girls to go now or the other pink lady….REALLY enjoyed watching Blane this week – YEAH he can talk!

  • 6. Cindy Swanson  |  February 19, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Hi! I followed your link from Sam Barrington’s blog, and really enjoyed your review. I will definitely come back.

    I haven’t reviewed Tuesday night’s episode, but I often do…and last week I actually posted, “So Dane will have to talk now!” Again…why wasn’t he talking before?!? He’s perfectly articulate and yes, will be attractive.

    As far as Tara goes. I think we all underestimate the emotions and hormones these people are going through. This experience is extremely intense…and the fact that they are literally metamorphosizing their bodies…well, who knows how we would react in that situation.

    I draw the line at downright meanness, though, which is why I couldn’t stand Vicky. This season, with people who obviously have compassion and heart, really is refreshing!

  • 7. Jimbo  |  February 19, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Amazing! I am also with Stephen on this. The greenies had been my favorites as well but not anymore. I am rooting for the blue team!

    Oh, and I could not be more excited at Shanon’s sending-home. I can’t handle the girls who sound whiny and cry ALL THE TIME! (Cindy S. has a nicer outlook and is probably a kinder person than I am judging by her above comments)

  • 8. The Husband  |  February 20, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I agree as well, I am for the blue team, they are just nice and caring people with honor (as proven before by taking people’s concerns over strategy).

  • 9. hdizz  |  February 26, 2009 at 11:43 am

    ahh i wish i could get into this show! you think i would be able too since i was a kines major!!! =[

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

