The Curious Case of Me

February 23, 2009 at 11:23 am 13 comments

You know how on your birthday there’s always those few people who ask “So do you feel older?” It’s a ridiculous question. There are very few people who can say that they actually feel older. Unless it’s one of those monumental birthdays, you pretty much feel the same as you did the previous day. I remember when I was 12 years and 364 days old. I was so excited for the next day. I was going to be a teenager. As someone who has always been a step or two ahead of her age, this was huge. Finally my age would reflect how I felt. (I still think its possible that my parents are lying about the year I was born. Pretty soon I’m going to find out I’m almost 27 and Justin and I are twins.) I remember setting my alarm clock for 12:00 am so that I’d wake up the exact second I turned 13. The alarm sounded, I woke up and said, “Yay, I’m a teenager!” and went right back to sleep. True story… I honestly thought I’d take that one to the grave with me.  So when people asked me if I felt older on my 13th birthday, I absolutely did. I was a young adult, I was no longer a kid!

 

Then comes the next “big” birthday… 21. I wish I could say that it was a big birthday for me. It wasn’t. By 21, I was tired of the party scene. I didn’t go to 6th street and get my party shots. I went out to dinner, ordered a drink, didn’t get carded and went home. We then had a party at my apartment. Shockingly the cops came, apparently neighbors don’t like loud radios. They didn’t want to see my ID though. I know this because I asked. I so desperately wanted something to change on this birthday. Nothing. So to anyone who asked me if I felt older on that birthday, no. A resounding no.

 

I wonder if anyone has ever felt older on a day that had nothing to do with their age. I ask this because I feel that I went through that aging process this weekend. I know it’s not normal to age 3 months after your birthday, but since when have I been normal? Remember when you were younger and everyone seemed so old? When you were in elementary school, high schoolers seemed so grown up. When you were in junior high, college kids were so old. And when you were in high school, people in their 20’s were adults. Apparently I’ve decided to fit into a high schooler’s stereotype of me… I’m becoming an adult. And you know what? It’s not half bad!

 

Below are some adult-like behaviors* I experienced the past 5 days.
(*according to the stereotypes I had of adults when I was in high school)

-Wednesday we had somewhere to be at 7. I had things to do though. I went straight from work to the grocery store. I came home, unloaded the car, put the groceries away, changed the wash, unloaded the dishwasher, reapplied makeup, and left. Adults are productive.

-Thursday night I went to the bank to deposit my pay check (can you believe we don’t have direct deposit?! Are you kidding? It’s 2009!), went to Michael’s to buy supplies to cross stitch for therapy, then went to my parents’ house to have dinner with my mom. Adults go to the bank. Adults buy needles and cross stitch pattern books. Adults also hang out with their parents.

-I began my Biggest Loser yoga video. I hurt terribly the rest of the weekend. But I plan to continue it. Adults care about their body. Adults hurt after exercise. Adults do it anyways.

-Friday evening we picked Stephen’s sister up from the airport and then went out to dinner with her and a lot of the family. It was a fabulous night. We went to Goode Company Taqueria and then to some beer garden for a drink. Adults pick people up from the airport. Adults go out to dinner on a Friday night with family. Adults have kids sitting at their table with them. Adults play bocce ball at beer gardens. Adults leave because they are tired and cold.

-Saturday was another family filled day. Stephen’s sister and parents came over for lunch and a little bit of Wii game play. I made my mom’s delicious chicken salad and we cleaned the house. Adults wake up and boil chicken on a Saturday morning. Adults serve rolls from the bakery instead of Mrs. Baird’s bread. Adults are exhausted at 4:00 on a Saturday after a day of cooking, baking, and visiting with family.

-Sunday after church we went to my parents. About 7 guys were called to my parents’ house to lift a tree. They lost two huge trees in Ike. My dad bought a new tree and needed help lifting, lowering, and planting. We had a wonderful lunch and then the guys went to work. I left to run some errands. Adults help their parents with home-improvement tasks. Adults return things at Lowes. Adults don’t buy a sundress that they really want because they feel guilty about the purchase. Adults only spend $15 on a hair trim because they can’t bare to waste $60 on something so ridiculous. Adults even refuse the “blow dry and style” option since they can “do that on their own at home, thank you.”

-Last night was the first time I ever watched an awards show. I’ve never really cared. I never watch the Grammy’s because I am either sick of the music or flat out don’t care. I don’t watch the Oscars because, well, I don’t watch many movies. The only reason we watched was because Stephen has a man-crush on Hugh Jackman. So I thought I’d give it a shot. It was fabulous. I really enjoyed it. I plan to watch it in the future. Adults appreciate awards shows. Adults have a glass of wine and eat leftovers while they watch television. Adults wish there was more singing and dancing by Hugh and less red carpet junk. Adults wonder why they come on so stinking late at night!

 

All of my sister’s friends are probably thinking, “You’re not old. Stop saying you’re old.” I’m not old. But I am an adult. And I’m settling into that role nicely. I budget. I have a bed-time. I am not scared of babies. I have high-waisted pants. I’ve accepted adulthood. It is a bit curious that I’ve decided to do it in spurts on random weekends… but hey, the Lord has his timing for everything. I guess He set the alarm without telling me… it went off this weekend. I woke up and said, “Yay, I’m an adult!”, turned on Discovery Channel, and took my multi-vitamin.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old, Nights Out. Tags: , , , .

Thank You For My AZ The Cure for the Common Writer’s Block

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  February 23, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    I still cannot get in the habit of taking a vitamin. The bottle can be staring me in the face, but it’s invisible to me. I need to work on that.

    And I, too, refuse the blow dry/styling option when getting my hair done. Besides, I never really like how it looks when the lady actually fixes my hair.

  • 2. Jen Halligan  |  February 23, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I am still really enjoying reading your blog! I’ve somewhat experienced the same thing. I was getting ready for work and my fiance said, “Gosh why are your pants so high waisted??” my answer was “Because I’m an adult”

  • 3. Matt  |  February 23, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    “Adults hurt after exercise. Adults do it anyways.”

    HAHA. AND DO IT ANYWAYS. I am not an adult yet, apparently.

  • 4. Amy  |  February 23, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I have only purchased one pair of low-waist jeans ever. I love Talbots and Coldwater Creek… I skipped adult and went straight to old lady.

    🙂

  • 5. Lindsay  |  February 23, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I experienced the birthday thing on my 20th birthday.. I was so thrilled to be out of my teens because for the last two years of them I never felt like a teenager..it was a good day.

    Also, props to Stephen on his man crush. Hugh Jackman is my FAVORITE actor and I think he did amazing at the Oscars. I thought the show was fabulous. I can’t wait until next year!!

  • 6. rachelheather  |  February 23, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I, on the other hand, am being dragged into adulthood kicking and screaming. I hate having to look professional every day, I hate running from place to place to place, and I really hate going to bed early.

    Probably because my best friends are either still in college or in a rock band. Really. Those are the 2 categories. Soooo not fair.

  • 7. Mom  |  February 23, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    High waisted pants??? You have high waisted pants??? You have got to be kidding me…didn’t think I would see that day! Whoo Hoo – you have ARRIVED! Welcome to adult hood!

  • 8. Dad  |  February 23, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Hey Squirt. You’re not a twin with Justin. We weren’t going to tell you, but you’re the older one. We had to continue the first-born son streak so we had to make Justin the older one. Changing all of those pictures to make you look younger before Lindsay was around with PhotoShop was the hard part.

    I guess I must not be an adult. I could care less about the Oscars.

  • 9. Lyndsey  |  February 25, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    I am not an adult… maybe in 5 or 6 years.

  • 10. Tina  |  February 26, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Good entry, Chelsea. Your family’s responses made me smile.

  • 11. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    […] 9. The Curious Case of Me […]

  • 12. What The “Hip” Kids Do… « Roots and Rings  |  June 10, 2009 at 11:55 am

    […] tell me that I am too old for my age. I’ve had plenty of posts about being old… see here or here or here or here or here… (there are more, but I’ll stop) so I’m not going […]

  • 13. Seven Quick Takes (vol.2) «  |  August 14, 2009 at 9:46 am

    […] 5. So, yeah. To answer all of the comments from yesterday. Yes I have gray hair. No, it’s not my entire head. But there are quite a few in there. Many a time people will say, “No! You don’t have gray hair.” Then I bend my hair down and tell them to look closer. “Where? OH! Oh my gosh. That’s like, a lot. Wow.” Yeah. It’s not that I’m opposed to gray hair, I’m just opposed to gray hair at the age of 24. It started a few years ago. Seriously, who starts going gray at 21? Me. That’s who. I’m still convinced that I’m actually older than my parents say I am. Here’s a post from a long time ago that tells you why. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

