Loser Week 8: Idiots

February 26, 2009 at 9:22 am 9 comments

This week was broken into two episodes, so I will break my comments into two sections.

 

Tuesday Night:

We began this episode with a challenge. Up downs. In the mud. Whoever got to 100 first got to keep their own trainer. Everyone else had to flip a coin to see who’s team they’d be on. Whoever got in last place definitely had to switch trainers. Of course Tear-a won. She’s a machine. Nobody else had a chance. Sione was only a few seconds behind her so he got second. Helen got last. This is when the drama started. Tara and Laura were automatically part of the black team with Jillian. Everyone else flipped the coin. And it pretty much changed everything. They almost completely switched trainers.

 

Immediately afterwards, Jillian’s new black team got together to talk. They basically discussed how they’d need to get to know each other and learn how they all work. It was straight business. The team (who was mostly Bob’s previously) was upset. They didn’t want to talk and didn’t want to be there. Then they went to work out. Bob’s team meeting didn’t go as well. You could tell Bob was flustered. Kristin, Cathy, and Ron were the only ones there who had previously been on his team. Kristin cried. None of Jillian’s old team mentioned that they were really going to miss Jillian. (Or maybe they did and I just chose not to hear it?)

 

As the blue team headed toward the gym, the black team was leaving. Sione, Filipe, Helen, and Mike stopped to talk to Bob. Now if you were an outsider and had never watched this show, I could see how you’d think the next scene was extremely cheesy and overly dramatic. But as someone who watches this show religiously, I was sad. Bob knows his team. He loves his team. He works with them all day every day. And they were good. Really good. So for those 4 contestants to be taken away from him, I could see why he’d be torn up. So Bob cried. And Helen cried. And so did Sione and Filipe. And Mike. And they all hugged, then parted ways. The contestants caught up with their new team. And Bob made his way into the gym to be the trainer for a group of contestants that would later prove to be the biggest fools that ever walked on campus.

 

Time for another challenge. I loved this challenge. As a team, you had 24 hours to put as many miles as you could on a bike. The winning team got a 3 pound advantage and a Trek bike. The black team had a great game plan. Each person would bike for 30 minutes and then take a 2.5 hour break. This would allow each player to bike as fast as they could and get a good amount of time to sleep or eat or rest. The blue team had no plan. Just ride until you can’t ride. After a while, the blue team decided they had enough. They wanted the black team to agree to quit so they could all get some sleep and be able to work out the next day. Sione (I love him) gave an inspiring speech about how he couldn’t quit because quitting is what got him fat in the first place. The speech gave everyone a little boost. In the end, the black team won. By a lot.

 

Wednesday Night:

Last night was only the last chance workout and the weigh-in. I enjoyed watching the last change workout, I always do. I love seeing them sweat and cry and complain. And then succeed. It was also interesting to hear the contestants talk about the differences in the trainers. I think if I was going to be on Biggest Loser, I’d choose Bob. I like the way he encourages and gets excited. He doesn’t just yell yell yell until he gets what he wants the way that Jillian does. Don’t get me wrong, Jillian is fantastic at what she does. But I’d cry too much.

 

The weigh-in was great. There was a shocking amount of weight lost. But, as you could probably expect, the blue team fell below the yellow line. Cathy lost the most weight so she had immunity. So the blue team had to decide between Kristin (not going to happen, she’s a fierce competitor and her mom would never vote her off), Aubrey ( not my fave, but not likely to get voted off since her sister was there), Mandi (once again, not likely to get voted off), Ron (the obvious choice since he can’t lose much weight for the team), and Dane (the best asset to the team).

 

To me, this was a no-brainer. Vote Ron off. He has a hurt knee and a hurt shoulder. He can’t compete. He can’t pull big numbers and will hurt the blue team’s success. Apparently the blue team is a bunch of  “no-brainers”… apparently they’ve never seen the show. They pulled their vicious teeth out wayyyyy too soon. I’m all about game-play. But when you have SIX people left on each team, it’s way too soon to make decisions based on your own strategy. At this point, it MUST be about the team. So the blue team did the dumbest thing in Biggest Loser history (even worse than keeping Joelle when they had the chance to get rid of her). They voted off Dane. WHAT? Are you kidding me? Dane? The biggest guy? Really? And now you have four girls and RON? Oh my gosh. Ridiculous.

 

I want to go hug Bob and tell him I’m sorry. I think he’s had the worst week of his life. I want to tell him that America knows he has a team of fools. Come on Kristin, I thought you knew better. I thought you were smarter. This episode depressed me. Jillian will probably mourn the loss of Dane for about .6 seconds and then do a happy dance because she is sure that her team will win. Tear-a may go into a state of depression after learning her other crush is gone.

 

As always, I can’t wait until next week! Looking forward to hearing your comments.

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , .

“Awesome! Awesome!” Umbrellas Up! It’s A Rainy Day

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  February 26, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I agree, I think the blue team hung them selves with that vote, It would have been sad to see Ron go, but that was the obvious choice. There is a time to be emotional and supportive, but there is also a time for game play, and they blew that. Why did Audrey vote for Kristin, that confused me, now she most likely is on the radar for the boot.

  • 2. Katlin  |  February 26, 2009 at 10:07 am

    wow. I’m glad I had to work because had I saw this episode I probably would have smashed my t.v. screen! DANE?! Your title says it all… Idiots.

  • 3. Chelsea Hurst  |  February 26, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Karen, I totally forgot to comment on that Aubrey thing. This is another reason I don’t like her. She kept saying that she couldn’t choose and that it was too hard. So she did the WEAK thing and voted for someone she knew wouldn’t get voted off. That’s stupid for a few reasons. 1. Now Kristin is going to hate her. 2. She is part of the team, she needs to have a say in who goes and who stays. 3. Now she’s stuck with Ron instead of Dane. 4. She’s sooooo stupid.

    Aubrey needs to go.

    Oh and I’m sad because now all of my predictions from the first week are wrong. Orange and Black are all gone. What do I know?!

  • 4. Mom  |  February 26, 2009 at 11:19 am

    All I can say is POOOOOR Bob! He certainly didn’t deserve this team….

  • 5. Lindsay  |  February 26, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    STUPID STUPID STUPID STUPID STUPID!!!!!!!

    They are stupid.

    I don’t like Ron that much after last night…saying that Dane should go home because he has the most support…yeah, he might..but why wouldn’t you want him there to help out your team??? Ron is stupid for putting that bug in everyone’s ear.

    My tv almost DIED last night..I almost threw my lamp at it.

  • 6. osarah  |  February 26, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    John and I just finished catching up. These two episodes stunk! I nearly cried when Bob was talking to the 4 former teammates outside the gym.

    I can’t believe the blue team voted Dane off either. John thinks Ron should have thrown himself under the bus, and I agree. He has no chance of winning and he’s preventing the tblue eam from winning challenges. Ugh. I can’t believe they kept him. Don’t get me wrong, I like Ron, but geez! And poor Bob. He’s going to be so pissed they voted Dane off, but if he reacts too much, it’ll offend Ron.

    Perhaps the producers wanted some “good” drama-filled TV, but I didn’t like this week’s episodes at all.

  • 7. Cindy Swanson  |  February 26, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I didn’t get to watch the show last night :(. It has to do with DVR’s, VHS’s, and an embarrassment of riches…all 3 of my favorite shows on one night, and limited ways to record them! I tried to tape BL on VHS, and something went wrong with the tape. 🙂

    Anyhoo…I read the re-cap of televisionwithoutpity.com, and the writer pretty much mirrored your thoughts, Chelsea. I’m really stunned. Poor Ron…he just needed to go. Anyone can lose weight at home if they really try–even Joelle has done it!

    I’ve pretty much not liked Aubrey since she came on the show after losing only two pounds at home, claimed she spent four hours a day in the gym (I don’t think so!), and proceeded to be the most vocal anti-Joelle person. (Not that I was crazy about Joelle, but Aubrey just didn’t have the right at that point.)

    And I do love Bob…always have. It’s obvious he is one of the most incredibly nice people on the planet.

    As always, I’ll come back to BL because I love seeing people transform their lives! And I really enjoy your re-caps, Chelsea!

  • 8. Lyndsey  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:17 am

    So, if I were going on the biggest loser (and trust me I fanaticize that there is a month long biggest loser for people who need to lose 20-50 pounds every week) I would want Jillian to be my trainer. I need a good dose of her “no excuses” “shut up and stop whining” approach. I am pretty sure I would cry a lot though.

    I keep feeling like the producers are trying to start drama every week, it is like they are trying to provoke the contestants to “play” the game instead of work hard and love each other like they have been doing. At first I thought the 24 hour challenge was another way to do just that. Riding a bike for hours+ stress+sleep deprovation+ working with new personalities when you would rather be with your original team=DRAMA. But there was no drama, just continuous bike riding. THEN when they came up with the plan to call a truce….. I was ECSTATIC! I felt like the competitors were sticking it to the producers. It was like them saying “WE are in control of this game, not you.” I loved it. Then Sione made his speech, and I went “oh ok, he’s right!” And I cheered for their success.

    I can’t even write about Dan going home. I will scream and/or cry. I will only mention that I bawled like a baby when he and his GORGEOUS wife crossed the finish line of the marathon they ran together. AMAZING!

  • 9. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    […] 7. Loser Week 8: Idiots […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

