Umbrellas Up! It’s A Rainy Day

February 27, 2009 at 9:40 am 10 comments

Our first Rainy Day Question. From the one and only Jimbo Johnson in Wichita Falls, TX:
If Biggest Loser was not shown one week because the President of the United States had the audacity to speak to the country in primetime, what would you do during that time?

 

Good question Jim. First I would cry. Then I might say a few choice words in the direction of said President. Ultimately I’d realize that this is one of those great national tragedies that I can do nothing to prevent, so I adapt.

 

Tuesday night Stephen and I went to Olive Garden for dinner. We had gotten a gift certificate from my parents for Valentine’s Day and I was craving some never-ending salad and breadsticks. It was delicious. As Stephen was focusing on his fresh-out-of-the-oven breadsticks, I was trying not to focus on the Loser I was missing. However, if Mr. Prez hadn’t chosen that time to speak and I hadn’t had a hankerin’ for some chicken parm, I wouldn’t have this little story to tell you: As Stephen and I were being shown to our table, there was a small mob of people crowded in the entry area. It was hard to maneuver. There was a mom and her two kids trying to shove their way through the crowd to leave. One of the boys was extremely focused on his Nintendo DS. The mom, who was trying to part the river like Moses in order to get her children out of captivity, screamed back at her son, “Christian, quit gaming and pay attention!”  This may be one of those “had to be there” incidents, but I thought that was hilarious. With my right hand raised and my left hand on the keyboard, I hereby pledge to never use the word “gaming” to my children.

 

Back to Loser. After Olive Garden we went home to pick up Rookie and took her to my parents house so she could play with Molly. And so we could steal my parents’ DVR. Then we went home so Stephen could do Loser yoga and I could do my therapy. And no, we didn’t watch the President’s speech. Mr. President, if your Crackberry starts buzzing and this entry shows up on your Google Reader, please please please hear my plea. Don’t mess with my Loser. Tuesday night is my tv night. Mess with another night. Ok? Thanks.

 

Thanks Jim, good question!

 

Another thing. I went to the Biggest Loser website yesterday when I was writing my blog. I couldn’t remember Cathy’s name so I had to look it up. On the front page there is an ad for a new trainer. Anyone have any theories? Who are they getting rid of? Or do you think they’ll have 3 teams again? I love Bob and don’t want him to go. I don’t LOVE Jillian but I think she’s a great trainer and she’s entertaining to watch. Anyone?

 

Also, the application to be on next season’s Biggest Loser is 9 pages long. Plus a 10 minute video and a picture. In those 9 pages and video, they couldn’t see Joelle was crazy? They couldn’t see that Vicky was a little witch? I know they couldn’t learn anything about Heba because Bob picked her and Ed up in a bar. So I guess he’s to blame for that mistake.

 

Have a fantastic weekend. I’ll be spending a good portion of my weekend at Minute Maid Park for the College Classic. I will be a Rice baseball fan for the first time in my life. I even have a hat to prove it! My cousin will be pitching on Sunday and I couldn’t be more excited! Hook ’em. Go Owls!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Rainy Day, Television. Tags: , , .

Loser Week 8: Idiots Getting a Return on Your Investment

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  February 27, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Have fun at the baseball college classic thing! (I didn’t know if that’s a tournament or what, so I resorted to “thing.” How…educated.)

    I like both trainers, but I’d be super sad if Bob left. I’m hoping they’re bringing on a 3rd, because I ‘m not ready to lose Jillian either. From what I’ve seen, she’s a little too militaristic in her yelling/screaming style for me, but I still think she’s good at what she does.

    So who are these characters Vicky and Heba? Are they from previous seasons? I went to the Biggest Loser website but couldn’t figure it out. Please don’t tell me it’s something super obvious that I’ve missed…Am I having a blonde moment?

  • 2. Jimbo  |  February 27, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Wait a sec…who is your cousin? Any Big 12 schools playing in the tournament? And Stephen does yoga?!

  • 3. Chelsea Hurst  |  February 27, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    My cousin is Taylor Wall. He’s a freshman lefty at Rice this year. He’s pitching against Baylor on Sunday. Tonight they play UCLA and tomorrow night they play A&M. Not sure what other teams will be there. I know UT won’t be there this year.

    Yes, Stephen does Biggest Loser yoga. So do I. It is VERY hard. You should buy it. I highly recommend it. You’ll be sweating and very very sore. It’s not “spiritual” yoga, it’s weight-loss yoga.

  • 4. Lindsay  |  February 27, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Thank you SO much for bringing up the College Classic…
    I’m SOOO jealous that I can’t go!

  • 5. h*dizzle  |  February 27, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    omg the endless breadsticks and salads from the olive garden are amazzzzing! id rather go for that than the actual meal =]]]

  • 6. Matt  |  February 28, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Jimbo Johnson is also, oddly enough, the nickname of my uncle who lives in Dickinson.

  • 7. Matt  |  February 28, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    And nobody “pitches against” Baylor. People just “attempt to pitch in the general direction” of Baylor.

  • 8. Mike  |  March 1, 2009 at 6:48 am

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  • 9. Lyndsey  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:23 am

    The man friend (seems weird to put his name on here without his permission) was at the Classic all day yesterday. I can not spell weird… I always spell it wierd… didnt you point that out to me?

  • 10. Rachel  |  March 3, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    I think you should do a rainy day blog about your room… not your room now… unless you and Stephen are allowing your friends to write on your bedroom walls in order to keep with tradition. If so, I’ll bring my Sharpie when I finally get down to see you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

