A Bonus Post, All About Pudge

March 17, 2009 at 2:28 pm 7 comments

If you know anything about cruising, you know that eating is a big deal. Non-stop food. If you’re hungry, find a buffet. If you’re not, suck it up and eat anyways because you’re on a cruise for crying out loud. It’s included. You don’t have to pay a dime. So put your big girl panties on and eat up!

 

I consumed about 2 or 3 times the amount of food than I normally do each day. On sea days, we either visited the Windjammer for a buffet or the dining hall for a nicer breakfast. On port days, it was room service all the way! And of course you don’t know what you’ll be in the mood for. Fruit? Check. Eggs? Check. Bacon? Of course, double check. Yogurt? Check. Hashbrowns? Check. Coffee? Check. Pastries? Check…. Oh my! Lunch varied too, but it was always some version of a buffet. Most days we headed to the Promenade Cafe for a slice of pizza (or two) and a dessert (or two) for snack. Then dinner at 8. A couple appetizers, an entree (or two if you are Stephen or Laura! or three if you are Justin and it’s lobster and prime rib night!) and a couple desserts. “An extra ice cream all around!”

 

I wouldn’t say that cruise food is exceptional. It’s really not. You can get much better food at a nice restaurant. It’s the quantity that is fabulous. Chilled apple soup with a hint of cinnamon? Sounds a lot like apple sauce to me but I’ll order it anyways! Throw in an International Cheese Platter with that and you have a pretty standard first course. Naturally since there are 8 or 9 options, some nights you may have to order 3 or 4 appetizers so you don’t feel that you’ve missed out on something. Of course at the time you don’t feel guilty for eating so much. If anything, you feel bad that you can’t eat more. “My apologies to the chef but after 2 rolls, a spinach salad, a cup of onion soup, a brie tartlet, and a NY strip, I just can’t seem to find the space for that sirloin. I’m sure it’s delicious. Can I please try that Choco-Trio dessert, though? You may as well add add a side of vanilla ice cream. No, no apple pie. Not tonight. Thank you.”

 

Now that I’m home. I’m disgusted. I’ve had cereal and a banana for breakfast. Salads and sandwiches for lunch. Chicken breast and salad for dinner. (With the exception of tonight of course… I’ll be at the ballpark. The nachos are calling my name!) I’m wearing my “comfy jeans.” Ladies, you know what these are. These are also my higher waisted jeans… lower jeans cut into the muffin top, and that’s not comfortable! But I’m the one to blame for this extra “fluff”. My gut didn’t inflate itself. I guess that’s just the nature of the beast. (The beast in this case is the Voyager of the Seas.) I’ve heard it put: You come as guests, you leave as luggage.

 

In other news, the Astros signed Pudge Rodriguez for a year contract. Yes, he’s old. And as many of you know, catcher years are much like dog years. So he’s actually climbing up into his late fifties. But he’s a great player. I’ve always been a fan of him. I can remember the days when I didn’t know the difference between him and Mike Piazza. Chelsea, how could you not tell the difference between the two of them?? Oh shut up, give me a break. I was a middle school girl for Pete’s sake! You should be proud of me for even knowing who they are. And come on, they are both catchers with weird names. And behind those masks, they all look the same. Anyways, I think he’ll be a great addition for Houston. Just his history and expertise will certainly have a positive impact on the ‘Stros!

 

So the moral of the day is this: Embrace the Pudge. In the end, it’s all worth it!

 

Your cruise photo for the day:

You can see from my dad's plate that it's lobster night. So it's possible that Justin's awkward lean is actually him crunching up from a stomach ache. Justin, would you like to tell the class how much you ate that night?

You can see from my dad's plate that it's lobster night. So it's possible that Justin's awkward lean is actually him crunching up from a stomach ache. Justin, would you like to tell the class how much you ate that night?

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family. Tags: , , , , .

Loser Week 10: Godfather Ron Winners and Losers

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  March 17, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    I totally thought this was about the Astros signing the baseball player Ivan “Pudge” Rodriguez. Fail.

  • 2. Matt  |  March 17, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Well it helps if i read the whole thing…fail on my part.

  • 3. Jimbo  |  March 18, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I have a question…do you HAVE to dress up on cruises because every picture so far has had you guys all gussied up.

    Second, be glad you have Pudge. He was my favorite Ranger while he was here and he will be a great addition to the Astros (for his leadership presence if nothing else).

  • 4. Chelsea Hurst  |  March 18, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    No, Jim. On a 7 day cruise, there are usually 2 formal nights. Every other night is “casual”… but you have to wear pants. No shorts in the formal dining room. But after being out in the sun and in a bathing suit all day, it’s nice to dress up. Other nights, guys wore jeans and a polo or button down. Stephen usually wore flip flops.

  • 5. Jimbo  |  March 18, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    Okay, because my plans to go “cruising” almost got crushed before they even began. Thanks for the clarification.

  • 6. Lyndsey  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I am still waiting to hear from Justin (and aparently Laura) on how much was eaten before and after this picture.

  • 7. Justin  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    I only had a salad.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

