Making An Educated Decision

April 3, 2009 at 10:05 am 15 comments

I feel like I just graduated from college. In all actuality, I graduated two years ago. Two years! That’s 50% of my actual college career. Those two years have been quite eventful too. I’ve gotten married, gained weight, rented an apartment, bought a house, had two jobs,  been on two cruises, started blogging, been through 2 facebook layout changes (hated them both), and learned that I like cucumbers. So when I think back to high school, when I was making my college decision, it’s amazing that I can remember much about it.

I was recently talking to someone about their child’s college choices. This girl had a few years before she even had to apply, but she was thinking about it. (So much more refreshing than the “oh crap, now what?” mentality.) She had been set on a certain school. She liked the location, athletics, academics, etc. but after a quick trip to another campus, she immediately changed her mind. I asked her mom what it was that made her change her mind. “Oh I don’t know. I think she just liked the way it looked.” You and I are old and wise and we know better than to make such a huge decision on such a small detail. Oh youth! Wait a second. I was youth. Rewind….

Anyone who knows me and my family knows that I have orange blood. Seriously, prick my finger. But sometime around my junior year in high school I realized that you aren’t actually born into a college. When my mom got pregnant, she didn’t actually call the registrar and say, “Please put us down for a spot for fall of 2003. We’ll get back with you on the name later. Just know she’s one of us… Thanks!” No, my name wasn’t written in the Great Book of Future Longhorns. So with this revelation, I decided to break my parents’ hearts and look at other schools. Kendall’s parents went to Baylor and thought there was something special about that school… maybe I should be a Bear. Jennifer seemed to think there was something special about that school out in Lubbock… maybe I should be a Red Raider. Since we’ve rewound, let’s take a look into my 16 year old analysis.

Baylor. This is my first look at a college that isn’t UT or Lutheran. How exciting. I’m growing up! I’m actually looking at colleges! Wow, this place is pretty. And look! They have a bear. An actual bear, on campus! This place is awesome. Oh and a bookstore with all things Baylor! I could come here and have a green and gold comforter! And a hoodie! And a handheld fan! Oh, and this foam block! Kendall, let’s buy this foam block! Oh my gosh, look at all these college boys… And this is a Christian school so they must all be good Christian boys! Wow, I think I’m in Heaven. George’s! THE George’s?? Do you SEE the size of those margaritas? Too bad I’m too young, I’ll buy a shirt instead. Pat Green would want it that way. Oh my gosh, I love Baylor! Ahhhhh Sic ’em Bears!

Texas Tech. Whoa, what’s that smell? Seriously, it’s poop? Wow, this really is country. So all these college boys must be real cowboys? Amazing. Good thing I wore my boots! Since Baylor has already won my heart, Tech needs to work harder. Let’s take a campus tour. Wow, these buildings are beautiful! And wow, look at that hill! Who said Lubbock was flat?! Seriously, does that smell ever go away? They have a winery? Sweet! Let’s go. Gross, I hate wine but, hey, look how old and mature we look with wine glasses in our hands. Quick, take a picture! Oh my gosh, prairie dogs! How cute. I’d come here all the time if I was a Red Raider! I once knew a guy on the Texas Tech baseball team, we better see if Tech has a bookstore so I can get a Texas Tech baseball shirt! Ahh Sic ’emHook ’em… What the heck do they say? Put Your Guns Up (?) !! Yay Tech!

A&M. Ha! Yeah right. I never had that big of a lapse in judgment!

UT. Ugh, why am I visiting this place? I’ve been here before. Plus, I’m having a hard enough time deciding between Baylor and Tech. But I guess I’m a smart girl, I need to make an educated decision. Here goes nothing. Gosh this place is huge! Look how many people are walking arou– … wait, is that guy not wearing pants? What the…? Neither is he! Neither is she! This place is disgusting. This would never happen at Baylor. Wait, what, I’m not a student… why are you handing me all of these fliers? Mom, did you read this? It’s No Pants Day. Why did you come here? Ugh, lets just go to the bookstore and buy something.

Application time. I’ll go ahead and apply to all three schools. I can decide later.

Acceptance time. First letter. Check it out, Mom and Dad. I got into Tech. And look, they’re offering me money. Awesome. But I don’t think I want to go there. It’s pretty far. And I don’t really think it’s for me. Second letter. Oh my! Look how much money Baylor wants to give me. This is amazing. Third letter. Okay. “What’s that Chelsea?” Oh, nothing Mom. It’s just my letter that says I got into UT. “UT? Or UT business school. Because that’s a big difference” Um… UT business school.

Decision. Clearly God knew what he was doing. He always knew I’d be a Longhorn. Maybe He was the one that wrote my name in the Great Book of Future Longhorns. He brilliantly made sure I was naive and unaware of the difficulty of getting into UT… and more importantly, the UT business school. It’s possible that I wouldn’t have applied for fear of failure. He gave me a hint of interest in other schools to take the stress away from me.

Choosing a college is a big deal. I don’t think we are extremely logical when we are making these decisions. So maybe this girl will choose her college based on the way it looks. Maybe she won’t. I chose a school that decided it was okay to not wear pants. Completely illogical.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, UT. Tags: , , , , .

Save A Boring Post For a Rainy Day Opening Day

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  April 3, 2009 at 10:47 am

    We have two bears. Two.

  • 2. Matt  |  April 3, 2009 at 10:48 am

    For an example of two, look at the number of horns on Bevo.

  • 3. Matt  |  April 3, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Or the number of previous posts before this one.

  • 4. Becca  |  April 3, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Hey! I saw your note on my post…
    Love your writing style by the way…very interesting to read!

  • 5. Jimbo  |  April 3, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Why wasn’t OU included on the list of “considered” schools? 🙂

  • 6. Chelsea Hurst  |  April 3, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    That’s disgusting Jim.

    Gross.

  • 7. Lindsay  |  April 3, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    HAHA! Austin is so weird.

    And you thought YOU were breaking the Rosenhagen mold by even looking at Baylor and Tech…Oh man, Mom and Dad didn’t know what they were in for with me!!

  • 8. Jen  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Hahaha oh our college decision making adventures! I still remember our trip to each place and I think somewhere I still have the Baylor and UT shirts to prove it!

    And p.s. once I was actually a student I never made it back to prairie dog town, I don’t think I even know where it is…. weird huh

  • 9. Jen  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Oh and just fyi we say get your guns up 🙂

  • 10. Rachel  |  April 3, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Um… hello?!?! What about that weekend you visited me in Nebraska? 🙂

  • 11. Rachel  |  April 3, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    PS- I have seniors in my college prep English class who still have NO idea where they’re going to school. This baffles me.

  • 12. Mom  |  April 4, 2009 at 10:20 am

    HOOK ‘EM!!! Woo Hoo for my girl…I was all ready to accept your decision, no matter where it was (THANK GOD you didn’t even CONSIDER a&m or ou!) but glad you “saw the light” 🙂 (Confession, I didn’t want to go to UT either until I was a senior – too big and too liberal) BUT I AM GLAD GOD PUT ME THERE – LOOK AT THE WONDERFUL HUBBY I HAVE! ((You too!)

    P.S. Lindsay I’m REALLY ok with your decision – JUST DON’T STAY UP THERE! 🙂

  • 13. Matt  |  April 5, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Rachel, I didn’t figure out where I was going until April of senior year. XD

  • 14. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    […] 4. Making An Educated Decision […]

  • 15. Ten on Tuesday (43) «  |  August 17, 2010 at 7:36 am

    […] 1. Where did you go to college? I went to The University of Texas in the great city of Austin, Texas. If you’d like to read about how I made my college decision, you can read this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

