Opening Day

April 6, 2009 at 10:27 am 9 comments

Today is Major League Baseball’s Opening Day. In my previous life (aka: life before Stephen) I would wear an Astros hat and Astros shirt. I would bake a round cake, frost it in white icing and put red stitches on it. I would walk around with a smile on my face and a hop in my step. I would read all the MLB websites. And I would most definitely go to the game tonight. But times change. Priorities change. Husbands happen.

 

Husbands change everything. I’ve heard the saying, “If you want to see a woman gain weight and stop shaving her legs, watch her get married.” Yeah yeah. Okay maybe that is partially true, but give us a chance to defend ourselves. Hear me out!

 

I don’t think it’s necessarily true that we don’t shave our legs anymore. Or that we quit wearing make up. Or that we “let ourselves go.” I think that there are just more eyes on us now. Back in college if I woke up and didn’t feel like getting ready, I could throw on some track pants, a t-shirt, throw my hair up and go. Nobody would think twice. There wouldn’t be any judgment. If I played my cards right and sat by that guy, I could even look dressed up compared to his torn flannel PJs and matted hair. But not now. Now I’m expected to dress like I care. Like I’m a mature adult who cares about what all of the other grocery store patrons think. But I am a grocery store patron myself. And I don’t notice. The only thing I care about when I’m at the grocery store is if the avocados are ripe and the yogurt is on sale. I don’t stop to notice what other customers are wearing. Unless of course they are dressed up… in which case I wonder who the heck they are trying to impress.

 

But stereotypes are out there for a reason. So obviously someone somewhere thinks that married women let themselves go. Yes we wear ponytails, yes we skip make up occasionally, of course we don’t shave as often in the winter… but we did all of this before marriage. It’s not our fault that you didn’t analyze our appearance back then. And to you, Stacy London, I love you… but it is okay to own sweatpants, it is okay to own t-shirts, it is okay to have multiple pairs of jeans and tennis shoes. I don’t live in LA. If I want to sit around my house with my husband, I don’t need to wear a wrap-around dress that flatters my shape. My husband knows my shape, I’m not going to fool him!

 

As far as gaining weight, okay, I’ll give you that. The second we get back from our honeymoon, we start swelling up. For this, I blame the husband. In my former life, it was acceptable to skip dinner. It was perfectly normal to have a bowl of Ramen and call it a night. Grilled cheese and tomato soup was my dinner of choice. Not anymore. Apparently, dinner is not dinner without some sort of meat. This was a big shock for me when we got married. My dad was never like this. Maybe it’s because of his frugality (is that a word? it is now…) and how he’d never waste a morsel of food. He puffs with pride when he can eat a meal and only spend $1.76. He would never assume that every dinner should have some sort of meat. My brother ate anything. His only request was that it be dead. And not fungus. Otherwise, he didn’t care if it was meat or not. But I have found that they are the exception, not the rule. So many men have this meat mentality. Consequently, us new wives have to please our men. We have to make actual meals each night. So we gain weight. This is not our fault.

 

I’ve copied my friend Sarah and created a little way to help out all of you newlyweds! (Or those practicing for newlywedism.) If we have to cook and gain weight, we may as well do it with great recipes! Today is the opening day of my new recipe blog. (<– click there) Don’t expect a new post everyday, that’s just ridiculous! But I’ll post as I cook new recipes that I feel are worth passing along.

 

In honor of Opening Day and the Astros taking on those pesky Cubs, maybe we’ll order a Chicago style pizza. The button on my jeans popped just thinking about that…

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Getting Old, Marriage, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Making An Educated Decision Becoming THAT Woman

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becca  |  April 6, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I’ve been thinking about all that as Trevor and I start talking about settling down… IT’S SO TRUE! You have shed some great light on the matter and I think in order to stop this stereotypical nonsense, when we date, we should try harder NOT to dress up for every little occasion so that our men see that true side of us. Stacey would have a heart attack! But it’s the real us!
    Luckily for me tho, the dinner aspect is HE doesn’t really eat until I make food for him…so he’ll probably be the one to gain! and I’ll stay my nice size 4 (HA! yeah right…I’m not a 4…)

  • 2. Jimbo  |  April 6, 2009 at 11:49 am

    This is an amusing post for so many reasons (Chelsea…your blogging skills are, as the kids say, “mad”)! I was looking at cookbooks to get (I do the majority of the cooking in the Johnson household) and I got so excited because I found the “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” cookbook from Mark Bittman. I would cut back our meat consumption to one day a week but I’m afraid that that would be taking things a bit too far for my wife!

    Incidentally, I made this killer casserole last night that I will be posting on the recipe blog. It’s quick, easy, and FANTASTIC!

  • 3. Mom  |  April 6, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    GO ASTROS! (And THANK GOD for hubbies like mine!)

  • 4. Lindsay  |  April 6, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Yay Opening Day! …but I wish I was there to experience the ASTROS day and not the stupid cards.

  • 5. Amanda  |  April 6, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    My Stephen LOVES grilled cheese with tomato soup. He’s an exception to the rule I guess. And… he also does the majority of the cooking!

  • 6. Lindsay  |  April 6, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    ps, i’m a girl who needs her meat!

  • 7. Chelsea Hurst  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Lindsay, I need meat too. I’m a Texan! But you’re okay with a grilled cheese or scrambled eggs for dinner… you don’t feel incomplete without a lunchmeat in your grilled cheese or a side of bacon with your eggs. That’s the difference.

  • 8. The Husband  |  April 7, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Just for the record. I was home alone the other night to get myself dinner and I made eggs and ate some cheese.

    Point being–> I need protein, not just meat. This is the difference.

    *Also Kurt used to eat a lot of meat from my understanding, but has grown out of that, much as he has grown into his nuts stage of life.

  • 9. What The “Hip” Kids Do… « Roots and Rings  |  June 10, 2009 at 11:55 am

    […] me that I am too old for my age. I’ve had plenty of posts about being old… see here or here or here or here or here… (there are more, but I’ll stop) so I’m not going to prove […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

