Becoming THAT Woman

April 7, 2009 at 9:39 am 7 comments

The following post is not my usual; it not dripping in sarcasm! I hope you still enjoy it.

I’ve been blogging for 3 months now. I’ve been pulled into the blogging world unarmed. This is not recommended. There are so many women out there that have amazing blogs. They cook, they sew, they knit, they are photographers, and they are fantastic writers. On top of that, they have beautiful children, a wonderful husband, and a clean house. Oh how I desire that! I have a wonderful husband, but I’m lacking in just about every other area. Stephen and I have talked about this before. We feel that we are good at many things, but not great at anything. And while this may not be a bad thing (or even true) it has the ability to tear you apart. This is definitely a lie that someone down under (and I don’t mean Australia!) is feeding us.

My Bible Study is doing a study called Beauty by the Book. Our church recently had Laurie Cole come speak at a Girl’s Night Out and I thought she was great. Now we’re doing her 6 week study. Last week as I was doing my homework, something happened. I was studying the Ideal Woman and reading Proverbs 31. Now I’ve read this chapter a million times. Maybe even a trillion times. But for the first time, it made me angry. As a teenager I always thought, “I can’t wait to be a wonderful Proverbs 31 woman! I can’t wait to tend to my home and my children and cook and keep the house together. I can’t wait to be blessed and praised by my children and husband.” It seemed so easy back then. Now, as I read through the discription of this woman, I hate her. I hate that I feel so inadequate. I hate that I don’t even have children but can’t seem to keep my house together. I hate that I have no sweet skills. I hate that I can’t wake up before dawn to prepare breakfast or make coverings for the bed. I eat cereal from a styrafoam cup on the way to work! So after reading this and feeling that I am The Queen of Mediocrity, I realized I have issues!

How often do you fall in this trap? How often do you compare yourself to others? God does not call us all to the same life, so why do we compare ourselves to everyone? We discussed this passage last night and went over how important it is to recognize that this is not “A Day in the Life Of”, it’s a panoramic view of her life (nor is it meant to be taken extremely literally; your children don’t need to be clothed in scarlet, and you don’t have to buy a field…). I think the most important part is verses 26-30.

“She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue. She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her, ‘Many women do noble things but you surpass them all.’ Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

So ladies, let’s strive for that! Let’s strive to have the type of character that our husbands want to praise. Let’s speak with wisdom and throw out that bread of idleness! Then slowly, we can take on other challenges. Of course it’s not a bad thing for me to desire these other talents. I mean, who doesn’t want to make killer chocolate chip cookie for their kids? Or have an inviting home? Or be able to sew their own curtains or pillows or tote bags? This is not wrong, (thank God because I WILL do these things… one day!) it’s just not everything. And goodness, that’s a relief! Nobody expects me to be this woman. Nobody is putting this pressure on me, except me!

And that, my friends, is fantastic news!!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea. Tags: , , .

Opening Day Loser Week 14: Nothing Has Changed, Except… Everything

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:11 am

    That’s a great perspective on Proverbs 31 that I hadn’t considered before. Thanks for sharing, Chelsea!

    And if you ever do find a killer chocolate chip cookie recipe, be sure to post it to your new recipe blog🙂

  • 2. Christine  |  April 7, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Beautiful post!

  • 3. The Husband  |  April 7, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Yay Wife! …Hooray Wife!

  • 4. Lindsay  |  April 7, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    If I rememer correctly, you are an incredible cook! You’ll always beat me at that for sure.

  • 5. Sarah Johnson  |  April 7, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Wow, Chelsea! I cannot wait to come hang out with you! You have pretty much nailed my thoughts about life for me right now on the head. I am very interested in this Bible Study. Right now, I’m doing Beth Moore’s Esther: It’s tough being a woman. I like it, but sometimes, it is a little too flowery, for me. But its all good.

    I may have to do a related entry. But don’t worry, I’ll give you all the credit! Yay for baseball and good friends!

  • 6. Matt  |  April 7, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    MMMM saltine surprises….

  • 7. Mom  |  April 9, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    You have soooo many positive attributes and talents (I know you will learn to do WHATEVER you put your mind to) but your love for the Lord and His word is the MOST important attribute. I’m proud of that post, Chelsea!
    P.S. When you learn to sew, you can make stuff for your mom! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

