Brat Beef Kielbasa Hot Smoked Sausage Cheddar Wurst

April 17, 2009 at 10:19 am 12 comments

I’m not quite sure why so many companies have such a hard time making a good commercial. I’m not just talking about the crazy infomercials. Yes, Sham Wow and Snuggie and anything Billy Mays hold the top slots for most ridiculous commercials. But I think that they are intentionally ridiculous, so they don’t really count. And in all actuality, their commercials are doing the very thing that they are supposed to – promoting brand awareness. I’m talking about normal, everyday brands. You guys make it so easy to change the channel. You’re just boring. Advil, Office Depot, cereal, etc. Bor.Ing.

 

Think about your local car dealership commercials. They are terrible. The salesman always looks awkward. The saleslady is always wearing some boxy pant suit. They always look stiff until the very end when they point at the camera or mechanically raise their arm to showcase their fabulous inventory. They are painful really. At the end, you don’t really want to buy a car from them. You want to go hug them and tell them it’s over and that they never have to do another commercial ever again. There is almost nothing more uncomfortable than watching someone who is nervous.

 

There are also all of these commercials out that think they are extremely entertaining. At least the previous ones I mentioned know that they are boring. They know they are just stating facts and getting the word out. But what about the companies that think they are actually putting out great commercials? Geico? Are you kidding me? Those cavemen are terrible. Quiznos regularly puts out awful commercials. I just don’t understand why it’s so hard. These people that generate these commercials are supposed to be educated right? They have eyes and ears, right? Can’t the see that these suck? Take a lesson from Hillshire Farms, their commercials are awesome. “That salad rocks. It’s the best. Make it easy at your desk. It’s second to none. Just add lettuce and you’re done. That’s crazy girl, I swear. There’s so much stuff in there.” If you want to watch some, here you go!

 

Lately I’ve been especially frustrated with Jack in the Box. A few years ago they had a strong campaign. Everyone and their dog had a Jack antenna ball. Brilliant! Then every now and then they’d have a clever commercial. Their logo was easily recognizable. They had it all going right. Then something changed. Jack got hit by a bus during the Super Bowl. And while the concept was a good one, the execution was terrible. The build up sucked, the accident and hospital visits weren’t funny. And they came out with other commercials during that time with the words “Recorded before Jack’s accident” on the bottom. Lame. Has anyone seen their new logo? Okay, I was not an advertising major. But I was a marketing major. And more importantly, I’m human. With eyes. And a brain. So here is the new logo.

 

New Jack in the Box Logo

New Jack in the Box Logo

Okay, that’s the look from close up. Looks sharp. Looks nice. Looks fresh. Pretty good. But here is my problem. When you drive down the freeway and off in the distance you see it, this is what it looks like:

 

What you see when you're driving

What you see when you're driving

“Look, Jack in the Box is gone. There is some new sign there. I wonder what it is. By the looks of the sign, it’s a place called Jack in the Circle. No wait, maybe there are sides to that circle. OH! It’s Jack in the Hexagon!”

 

——–

 

Congratulations to Jim (actually Sarah…) and Christine! You’ve wont the Beauty by the Book CDs! I must’ve slept through the lesson in computer class on how to screen print. It took me forever to figure it out. Now I have it saved and it won’t upload. Sorry. Just trust me – the Random Number Generator chose 2 and 6.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Loser Gossip Keep Austin Amazing

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  April 17, 2009 at 10:55 am

    YES! This may be the first time in my life I’ve ever won anything!
    I disagree with you about Geico…I enjoy the gecko commercials and I LOVE the mini sirloin burger Jack commercials (“They’re cows the size of schnausers but they’re cattle…”)

  • 2. Chelsea Hurst  |  April 17, 2009 at 11:00 am

    🙂 Congrats to you and your wifey. I think she’ll enjoy the study.

    I like the gecko commercials. I just HATE HATE HATE the caveman commercials.

  • 3. Jimbo  |  April 17, 2009 at 11:06 am

    You and my grandfather both (on the Caveman commercials). What about the Sonic commercials? I’ve discovered that people either love or hate those…personally, I think they are hilarious.

  • 4. Stephenie  |  April 17, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I agree with you, I HATE the Jack in the Box commercials… the are horrible! I change the channel every time. I just new you would have mentioned the “Head on” Commercial, I think thats what it is … I hate those too, broken record! I love reading your posts, keep’m coming!

  • 5. Christine  |  April 17, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    I won!!! I never win! Thank you random number generator and Chelsea! This certainly made my day!🙂

  • 6. Becca  |  April 17, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I must say tho, there are a few clever commercials out there…
    The Chili’s one where they play musical chairs cracks me up every time! That and I agree with Jimbo is saying the sonic ones can either be love em or hate em…the latest one where the guy yells about his date being cheap? Love it!

  • 7. Lindsay  |  April 17, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    I will stop whatever I am doing and turn up the TV to watch a Sonic commercial or FreeCreditReport.com commercial. LOVE THOSE!!

  • 8. The Husband  |  April 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Jim & Christine, didn’t you win when you got married? (sorry Sarah and Eric…seems they think they’ve lost)

    8^P

  • 9. Jill  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Hi Chelsea! Thanks for commenting on my blog yesterday🙂 You are right about Express–I am getting older *sigh* In my defense I’m only 25 (I’m just more into the classy and professional look vs. the “I’m going clubbin’ tonight” look hehe). As for the shirt around the tummy area, I think you could “scrunch” it up a little bit, instead of wearing it like the model, and hide any problem areas.

  • 10. Matt  |  April 18, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    I LOVEEEE the new Jack in the Box tv commercial with the “mini cowboys” and the “cows the size of schnauzers”.

  • 11. Big W-D  |  April 18, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I’m confused – where do I sign up for my Brat Beef Kielbasa Hot Smoked Sausage Cheddar Wurst?

  • 12. 100th Post « Roots and Rings  |  May 26, 2009 at 9:16 am

    […] 10. Brat Beef Kielbasa Hot Smoked Sausage Cheddar Wurst […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

