Props!

April 21, 2009 at 10:50 am 6 comments

Move over Oprah*, there’s a new opinion in town. Starting today, I’ve added a new feature to your favorite source of R&R (Roots & Rings… did you get that? Yeah. Okay.) Chelsea’s Favorite Things! Chelsea, why do you think you’re so special? Why do you think we care?  Well, I don’t know. But you’re reading, right? And who doesn’t like to know about great products, books, movies, and links? If you don’t like my opinion, that’s what the comments section is for.

 

Because I don’t think “Chelsea’s Favorite Things” has quite the same ring to it, we’ll call it “Props!” I’m not sure if this will be a Tuesday thing, I may move it to Friday. Or it may be completely random. Man, I’m such a rule breaker! Can you handle this??

 

Today is the first edition of Props!: Reusable Shopping Bags!

 

It took me a while to hop on this bandwagon. I always have a problem paying for something that you can get for free. And I just kept thinking “What a pain! I’ll have to remember to bring them, and keep them in my car, and carry them around the store. No thank you.” All three of those are valid points. It is tough to remember to bring them. It’s tough to remember to take them to the car after I unload my groceries, and I don’t enjoy carrying them around in my basket. I currently keep them in the front part of the basket that is normally reserved for my purse, eggs, and bread. Now they’ve thrown me off. The eggs have been demoted. I’m not sure how they feel about that. I think the carts need a thin, metal  “pocket” on the outside so we can slip our bags in there. Anyways, this is not the point.

 

These even make brussel sprouts look good!

These even make brussel sprouts look good!

 

I shop at Kroger and have their black bags that say something about Eco Blah Blah in lime green. They aren’t as cute as these “happy bags” but they do the job. This is why I love them. They are big. They can fit the equivalent of about 4 plastic bags. (The ads say they can replace 6, but I think that is only true ifall of your items are stackable. A lot of mine aren’t- tomatoes, bread, etc.) I also love them because they have a flat bottom. This makes things fit well and keeps the bags standing in the trunk of my super cool Nissan Murano. (!!) I love that they have long straps. They are so easy to carry! And I love that the tree huggers don’t turn their picketing and chanting towards me when I walk out of Kroger with my 12 plastic bags. Just kidding, they only give me death stares and hand me fliers about how my great-grandchildren won’t have any place to live and will have to make their clothes and curtains out of my wasted plastic bags. Just kidding. Do they even notice? “Tree huggers! Hey, look at me! Look at my reusable bags. Aren’t I great? Now if you’ll excuse me I need to go home and take out the recycling and plant a tree.”

 

Anyways, this is an easy way to “do my part.” And if you haven’t jumped on the “GO GREEN!” bandwagon, it’s okay. No guilt from me. But these bags are good for more than just that. Trust me, you’ll appreciate how easy they are. I never knew I hated plastic bags until I started using these. I do wish I had held off and gotten some cuter bags. If you have cute bags, show me. I’ll live vicariously through you.

 

 

*Contrary to popular belief, I’m quite different than Oprah. Unfortunately I don’t have as plush of a bank account. So there will not be free handouts – unless the item is super cheap and I just think someone HAS to own it, or if the company wants to give you one. But seeing as my opinion doesn’t have quite the pull as Oprah’s, don’t hold your breath!

Entry filed under: Props!. Tags: , , , .

Keep Austin Amazing Loser Week 16: NOOOO!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  April 21, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Yay for reusable shopping bags! Sarah and I have been using them for about 9 months and the only complaint I have is that (as you said) you have to remember to bring them!

    An additional plus…you can make your own “cute bags” if you can sew (see directions at: http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=177482.0 ).
    This is the first project I am going to ask Sarah to tackle once she starts sewing.

  • 2. Amanda  |  April 21, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    I LOVE the reusable bags. It took me a while too. My mom has been doing this for a while now. They are way easier to carry.

  • 3. Mom  |  April 21, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    And HEB has UT LONGHORN bags! Woo Hoo – can help the environment AND be cool!

  • 4. Becca  |  April 21, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I’m pretty much in love with that Catherine reusable bag you showed…maybe I’ll have to jump on this bandwagon. The only thing I can say is that I do reuse those plastic bags…but if our children might end up wearing them as clothes, I better lay off right?!😀

  • 5. Rachel  |  April 21, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    BTW… those reusable bags come in handy while you’re trying to juggle a squirming child and unload groceries!

  • 6. Cee  |  April 21, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I love reusable bags! They are so handy and I like that you can use them for other things. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

