Loser Week 16: NOOOO!

April 22, 2009 at 12:08 pm 10 comments

Terrible. Horrible. Depressing. Let’s get this going….

 

We started with a breakthrough for Kristin. She made it through the elimination and was extremely grateful. She had a talk with Bob and realized that it’s okay to want to win this competition. She realized that she deserves this just as much as any of the other contestants. It was touching. She looks so amazing. I’m so proud of her. I love you, Kristin!

 

The first competition was a game show. Questions about nutrition. There was a tie between Mike and Kristin. The winner would win a 3 day trip to NY. The final question was “How many calories are in this fried fish sandwich?” Mike won, he was only off by 5 calories. Kristin was devastated. I agree with the trainers though, these contestants should have done MUCH better at this challenge. They are a week away from going home. There is no reason you should underestimate the calorie count of something by 200 calories!

 

Last night we experienced something awful– the longest “commercial” in Biggest Loser history. They always do these terrible plugs… Brita, Extra, Jenny O, Ziplock, Subway, Quaker… Newsflash to the companies: This does not make us want to use your product. If we happen to see them using it, we might be more interested. But none of these skits and camera shots of only a pack of gum. It’s lame. We aren’t idiots. I will never purchase Extra gum, or Jenny O Turkey. And we all know how much I love this show. I’m glad yall support it, but I will not buy your product. Period. So back to the awfulness of last night’s commercial. It started with Bob talking to his team about what they eat. He was acting all disappointed because they aren’t getting enough protein. (My first thought: There is no way that this late in the game they don’t know how to eat. No way.) So he tells them he wants them to video tape their meals for a day so he can see it. This is when I spoke up. I told Stephen that this is all a set up. He already knows what they eat. I’m sure they write it all down and he reviews it. There is about a 0% chance that the trainers don’t know what the contestants are putting into their body. Ugh. Once again, we are not idiots. So they film and, oh look at that, they aren’t eating enough protein. Well, look, here is a solution. Some powder stuff that Ali is on the cover of. How convenient. LAME!

 

Now to the challenge. The contestants were suspended in a cage 45 feet high. They had to hold onto a rope that was connected to a pulley system that held them up. If they let go of the rope, they fell and were out. Winner gets $10,000 or a 1 lb. advantage. Really, no surprises. Tara won. Helen was so dumb. Trying to convince Tara to both let go at the same time and split the money. First of all, don’t complain that someone wins all of the time. They win because they are good – not because they are an evil person. It is fair. So stop saying that you are tired of her winning and she needs to give someone else a chance. Clearly you don’t understand the game. Second, Helen, why in the world would Tara agree to split the money if you’re saying, “Hurry and make up your mind, my hands are about to slip.” If your hands are about to slip, she has no reason to forfeit. Dumb! You should say, “I could stay here all night, want a truce?”

 

Last chance workout was tough. I haven’t seen everyone sweat that bad in a long time! Except Helen. I’ll try not to judge… because I don’t sweat either. But I do, however, think that it’s odd that she did her last chance workout with her hair down. Wouldn’t that be hot and annoying? Anyone? Jillian told Mike to confront his dad about their issues. He did. It wasn’t dramatic. Stephen and I don’t think Mike got any closure. Only time will tell.

 

Weigh in. Kristin and Helen were below. Poor Kristin gained a pound. My heart broke for her. They said their speeches. Nothing new. I am pretty tired of people saying “I’m not ready to leave yet.” Who is? Ever? Really? That’s not an argument. So Kristin pulled Ron aside and asked for his vote. Early on in the game, Ron said he’d never write Kristin’s name down. Throughout the show we heard him say he’ll “do everything in his power to get her and his son to the finale.” Hmm… interesting. Liar. He stayed true to his word that he wouldn’t write her down. However, he told Mike to vote her off. That way, there would be a tie between her and Helen. Kristin would automatically go home since she lost the least. And that’s exactly what happened. Ron, time and time again you have a chance to show us that you can be wonderful. Time and time again you prove to be a shady, manipulative man. America is not very forgiving. You’re lucky your son rocks or else you’d have very few redeeming qualities.

 

Oh yeah. And Tara took the mopney instead of the pound. Jillian said she thinks its great that she did that because that means she believs in herself. Wrong. Jillian only said that because Tara ended up losing enough weight. Jillian normally would say “Why would you take the money? Obviously she doesn’t know why she’s here. Blah blah.” Come on Jillian.

 

Only two weeks left. Then what will I blog about?

Entry filed under: Television. Tags: , , .

Props! How Ike Ruined Our Lives

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  April 22, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I was sad to see Kristin go, but it does come down to game play now and Helen is no threat.

    I do believe it has something to do with how they are eating, Bob should know why his team is not pulling the weight loss, they do not seem to be dropping the weight like they should.

    Hello Fillipe, your weight loss stinks week after week, is it still Jillian’s fault. I loved it when he fell in the challenge after trying to cause the other players to fall. lol

    Helen was nuts with her trying to make a deal with Tara, Tara owes you nothing, especially after you ate the cookie that cost her the last 10K she would have won. And at first she said she wanted to split the money, but after she was crying over the 1 extra pound. Were you going to stab her in the back “again” if she let you win?

    Why when Mike’s mom lost all that weight did she not take her children down that road with her? They both were still very young at the time she lost all her weight.

    Mike you are just plain cute, please do not end up with your dad’s attitude.

    Ron, shut up, go home.

  • 2. Amanda  |  April 22, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Yeah, the pretending not to know what to eat is ridiculous. I cannot remember what episode it was. But, they showed someone’s food journal, it might have been Filipe’s journal. I cannot remember. Moral of this story, the trainers do know what their peeps are eating.

  • 3. Lindsay  |  April 22, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    When I was watching last night, I couldn’t wait for this post because I knew my first comment was going to be about Helen’s hair. I can’t even walk around the mall all day with my hair down, let along RUN. Pull your freaking hair back! If I was Jillian, that would be a requirement.

    Also, can’t stand Ron. He voted for Helen, looking like he kept his promise…but really is just a backstabber because he ultimately helped Mike send Kristin home. I loved Kristin!

  • 4. Lindsay  |  April 22, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Oh, and I don’t think Ron is sorry AT ALL for leading his kids down the path he did. He didn’t look sorry at all. Usually in those talks, the parents CRY. Like 2 seasons ago when Ali talked to her mom, tons of tears. This time, none. I think Ron is just plain selfish.

  • 5. Jimbo  |  April 22, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Chelsea, is it bad that I have just about stopped watching this show completely and rely on your blog for my Biggest Loser fix?

  • 6. Chelsea Hurst  |  April 22, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    I love yalls comments. I get fired up when I type my Loser blog each week and I often forget things. So glad I have yall to remind me.

    Yes Jim, that’s bad. There are a few people who have started watching Loser because of my blog. I’m sad this is the other way around. I just shed a tear….

  • 7. Mom  |  April 22, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Manipulative and dishonest…not such great qualities for a person to have. Can’t imagine how Mike couldn’t also be like that too, as you learn from example. CAN”T stand Ron…enough said.

  • 8. osarah  |  April 23, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Agreed – especially about the “I’m not ready to go home yet” thing. When Helen said that, both John and I rolled our eyes. The game is almost over, that line shouldn’t be used anymore. In fact, it should not have been used for the past month or so.

    I cannot believe that Ron went to tell Mike to vote Kristin off the show (actually, I can believe it, but still). He’s so deceitful, and to do that to Kirstin is just wrong. I truly believe she was not there for the money at all. I wanted her to win!

  • 9. Stephenie  |  April 23, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    I have to say I was thinking the same thing when I saw Helen in last chance work out with her hair down. I dont know about everyone else, but working out, or just flat out sweating with your hair sticking to you is disgusting! I was floored when I saw what was being said between Mike and Ron. Not that I didnt see it coming, but I had to rewind the dvr just to make sure I read the dialog correctly! I was very sad to see Kristen go, I was hoping to see Helen voted off. I have to say of all the contestants left I really liked her. Oh well… looking forward to next week!

  • 10. Rachel  |  April 27, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I thought of you today… I read an article about the rise in product placement due to the increase of people with DVRs. Guess which show was #1 for product placements with 6,804? You guessed it! (American Idol, Extreme Makeover Home Edition, America’s Toughest Jobs, and One Tree Hill rounded out the top 5, in case you were wondering.)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

