Motherhood, Planners, and Shoes – Oh My!

April 30, 2009 at 9:39 am 12 comments

Before I was an adult and learned how much houses and cars and tax and insurance cost, if you asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I’d say “a mom.” I maintained this thought up until about 2 years ago. Ironically, the same time I graduated from college. Let me just take a second to clear the air- I still want to be a mom. I just know that Motherhood will not be my only job. And as sad as that makes me, it’s okay. I can’t tell you how many times “adults” have told me, “Don’t wait until you think you have enough money to have kids. If you do that, you’ll never have kids.” I see their point. But until I have rugrats of my own, I’m just going to keep living my life.

 

Which is apparently the life of a mother… minus the kids. I’m not sure why. My house is not clean, I’m quite lazy, and I’m terrible at playing Barbies. But for some reason, people think I’m motherly. As weird as this sounds, I think my height has a lot to do with it. For some reason, people think that just because I’m tall I’m older, wiser, and played basketball in high school. Wrong, wrong, and oh-so-very wrong. I can actually remember a time in high school. I was the manager of the varsity boy basketball team. That basically means that I went to each game, sat at the scorekeeping table, and kept the books. Anyways, during timeouts and other breaks, you visit with the other people at the table. One game, this woman asked, “So how long have you been teaching at Lutheran South?” I was 16. That’s ridiculous.

 

For those of you who know me, you probably don’t need to hear any more. For those of you who don’t, let me further prove my point. My nickname is “Momma Chelsea” and even have an apron that says “Momma Chelsea’s Kitchen”. I cannot even tell you how many times my sister has said, “Chelsea. I already have a mom. I don’t need two. Be my sister.” And here’s the kicker. A couple weeks ago I was at the eye doctor. I was up at the desk checking out and making my follow up appointment. Once we picked the date, I wrote it in my planner. The lady behind the desk said, “Do you need an appointment card?” I said, “No it’s in my planner. That’s what counts.” And she smiled and did that oh-how-sweet-I-empathize head tilt and said, “Oh I know. A mother can’t do anything without her planner! Keeps the family together!”

 

I understand that I’m old enough to be a mother. But do I really look old enough to have a family that needs to be kept together by the powers of my planner? I’m not quite ready for that. And here’s why.

 

A status I recently saw on one of my facebook friends’ walls (she has planner aged children) :

 

“(Name omitted so she’s still my friend) is wondering how my son can lose his shoe at school. How? I try to be understanding about the lunch kits, jackets, homework, books, etc. But a shoe?”

 

As insanely adorable as that is, I’m not quite ready for missing shoes.

 

Just so you can all sleep tonight, there was a follow-up status the next day “(Supermom) is thrilled! The shoe was found! I repeat, the shoe was found!”

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Getting Old. Tags: , , , .

Loser Week 17: Winners and Liars Props! to Dinner Creations

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becca  |  April 30, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I know EXACTLY what you mean! My nickname, since age 15, has been Momma Becca. I’m 5’10”, turned 21 two days ago, and I get the whole “you’re only THAT young? And single and have no kids?!?” Then I get a look of pure scepticism… like they think I’m lying or something!

  • 2. Amanda  |  April 30, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Haha. I liked this blog. Yes, you are tall. I think that does have a lot to do with it. But, you’re also assertive and nurturing. Many mothers are also those things.

    One of my friends recently found out she was taller than me. She said she always thought I was taller, mainly because I kept her on cue. I kept a planner and helped her out. Lol.

    Lastly, you will NEVER be ready for kids. Never. You will never be ready for lost shoes, ear infections, sleepless nights, hospital bills, etc. Never. But, it will be the best thing that’s ever happened.

  • 3. The Husband  |  April 30, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Hah! Chelsea, you already help me find the things I lose on a daily basis! I think that means you will fit right in to having two or three people losing things fine.

    Don’t forget, it’s better to be respected and looked up to. Also, you always have me there to make you feel small and “hopefully” to help you out when you need it!🙂

  • 4. Chelsea Hurst  |  April 30, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I think we need to clear this up… I’m assuming my hubby means that he makes me feel “small” in the physical sense… Although I don’t really feel small around him. Stephen, watch your words!

  • 5. Matt  |  April 30, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    I think I vaguely recall the shoe incident. But seriously Chelsea, you are poised to be successful at WHATEVER you choose to do. Believe it.

  • 6. Lindsay  |  April 30, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Haha…you were always my second mom…I think that it’s good you are getting into the habit of a planner early. I’m trying to but since I’m in school it’s more of just assignments. I associate planners with Mom. Her black one that she always had..

  • 7. Jimbo  |  April 30, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Amanda hit the nail on the head…”assertive and nurturing.” That’s why you’re Momma Chelsea to me anyway…oh, and your lasagna!

  • 8. Mom  |  April 30, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I can think of A LOT of worse things to be labeled as! 🙂 Moms are worth their weight in gold, and you will be too! Your organizational skills will DEFINITELY help you! (And I appreciate your “motherness” to Lindsay – even if she doesn’t) 🙂

  • 9. Rachel  |  April 30, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    In 5th grade a lunch lady tried to charge me the teacher price on my lunch. She thought I was a substitute. IN 5TH GRADE!!! Maybe it was because I was chubby and my mom dressed me like a dork.

  • 10. Veronica  |  May 1, 2009 at 7:01 am

    haha i can relate; but i’ve never thought that it’s probably because of height. makes total sense. i always just thought i looked “old”, specially now with my gray hairs.

    so what was it 2 years that made you not want to be just a “mom”??

  • 11. Chelsea Hurst  |  May 1, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Rachel- Oh my gosh. That made me laugh so hard!!

    V- I would love to be a mom. But I know that I will have to be a mom AND something else. 2 years ago is when I realized that things like houses and cars and dreams cost money.

  • 12. Jimbo  |  May 1, 2009 at 8:17 am

    @Chelsea–Sarah and I still believe that she can be “just a Mom” and not have to work once we start having children. Granted, the cost-of-living in WF is pretty small but I am convinced that, while it will take some pretty substantial sacrifices, just about any two-parent family can make it on one parent’s income.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

