Meet the Potters

May 5, 2009 at 10:09 am 6 comments

The purpose of this post is not to debate the Twilight series. Let me just throw that out there. If you haven’t read it and you’re a female who enjoys reading, get on it! And I don’t want to hear about it being too long or the writing style (Sarah) or that you don’t like that type of book. Just read it. Okay? Moving on.

As I was reading the first Twilight book, I became suspicious of everyone I encountered. All of a sudden, anyone could be a vampire. As far as I was concerned, I was Bella in a world full of Cullens. And it was my responsibility to narrow down the Cullen family tree. My sister is way too tan, she’s obviously not a vampire. My brother eats food. Lots of food. So he’s not a vampire. My grandpa? No, he grew up on a farm. And I don’t think sparkly farmers are taken seriously. Wait, maybe that’s why he quit farming and moved here. No, he eats too. Not a vampire. My friend Lyndsey? Heaven’s no. She sleeps. A. Lot. What about my dear husband? He has fair skin. He doesn’t go in the sun unless completely covered. He has black eyes. Obviously though, he’s not. While he does have a few vampirish (vampiral? vampiric? vampirian?) traits, he’s far from being a Cold One. He loves to sleep, he loves to eat. He’s aging. And he very rarely has the desire to kill me. Emphasis on the ‘rarely’… I will not go so far as to say ‘never’.

So I’m not married to a vampire. And I may not know any. And I know you’re lying if you’ve read the book and haven’t thought “Oh, maybe ______ is a vampire!” We can’t help it. We get into the story. If you watch X-Men you may walk down the street and think “I bet he’s a superhero.” Or after you watch Sixth Sense, you wonder if you are surrounded by dead people.

I never got on the Harry Potter bandwagon. Maybe one day I’ll read all 42 of those books. I’ve never really had the desire to read them but I’ve heard they are really good. I wonder if people who read those books wonder if there are wizards and witches and giant chessboards somewhere out there. I wonder how many kids have run into walls hoping that they could take a magic train to Hogwarts. Harry Potter is still a popular Halloween costume. People want to be magical. But are you magical? Does your Swiffer Wet Jet fly you to the grocery store? Does your Snuggie make you invisible? Hmm… Intriguing. Maybe Stephen is a wizard! I don’t know much about wizard characteristics. Are they hot? Cold? Do they age? Are they smart? Are they funny? Do they have to know how to play chess? I don’t know! All I know is this. Harry has a scar that means something special about something having to do with his wizard-dom. See. (I should note that I got this picture for some other blog, wasn’t sited… don’t want to break any copyright rules. I have no idea how that works…)

Doesn't he look tough with that Z scar on his head? And magical. He looks magical for sure!

Doesn't he look tough with that Z scar on his head? And magical. He looks magical for sure!

Well if a funny, permanent  mark on your forehead is all it takes to make you a wizard, it looks like I’ve snagged myself one of those. Meet the newest member of Gryffindor:

dsc01116

He looks normal enough, right? Don’t be fooled though. These wizards are good at fitting in with us human-folk. Take a closer look.

The evidence

The evidence

See that dark spot on my hubby’s forehead? It’s been there since Sunday afternoon. I know. It’s small. Not very noticeable. Hey Stephen, will you turn your head so we can get a look at the other side of your face?

Further evidence. And the reason Stephen can no longer keep his Wizard status a secret to his friends, family, and coworkers.

Further evidence. And the reason Stephen can no longer keep his Wizard status a secret to his friends, family, and coworkers.

 So he’s either a child who somehow gets random stains on his skin, or he’s a wizard. Lets, please, go with the wizard theory.

Entry filed under: Stephen. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Hoarding At It’s Best (Or Worst) Loser Week 18: The Marathon

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    HAHA! I hope Stephen is a wizard..that’d be so cool. Why was he hiding it from us? Also, I haven’t read any of the 42 Harry Potter books either. I’m thinking I might after I see all the movies..but really I’m just putting it off. I hear they are good, I just don’t want to.

  • 2. osarah  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Ok well you can give me a hard time for not reading the Twilight books and I’ll give you a hard time for not reading the Harry Potter books. I absolutely loved them. But no, that doesn’t change my perspective on reading about Bella and Edward.

    (By the way, Johns 2 sisters and my sister-in-law are way into the Twilight series too. And they are 35, 29 and 18. Apparently it appeals to a wide range of ages!)

  • 3. Jimbo  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Harry Potter = BRILLIANCE! Seriously, jump in, fall in love, and enjoy the ride.

    As far as Stephen goes, I think that we (James, Dallas, Stephen, and myself) had a conversation one Sunday at Sherlock’s where we discussed if Stephen might be a wizard. I don’t remember what we decided (other than the fact that I can’t beat him at pool)…

  • 4. Maureen  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    HA!!! HA!!! Very interesting! Well, I don’t mind if Stephen is a wizard, as long as that doesn’t mean that I’m a witch???

  • 5. Matt  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Maybe Stephen is a Vampire? And Rookie a Werewolf?

  • 6. Only One of Us Thinks This is Cool «  |  July 15, 2009 at 8:46 am

    […] normally get about 5-15 people each day searching for “Harry Potter’s  Scar.” Click here to see why they end up here. Apparently if you google it and look at the images, I’m the third one. It’s kind of […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

