Props! to Moms

May 8, 2009 at 10:07 am 6 comments

Apparently my life has turned boring because this is the third time this week that I’ve come to the computer with nothing to say. I’m not sure why. I don’t feel bored. Do I sound boring? Granted, yesterday’s post wasn’t the most entertaining topic of discussion. But other than that, am I putting you to sleep?

 

I planned to do a HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY post on Monday, but since my mind is mush, I’ll do it now!

 

Do moms feel more loved on Mother’s Day? Do they feel more appreciated? I hope not. I hope that moms don’t have to wait until Mother’s Day to feel that they are great mothers and that we love them dearly. I hope Mother’s Day is just a day that they get a nice card and lots of hugs and don’t have to cook or do any dishes. Maybe my mom felt more loved on Mother’s Day during my less-lovable teenaged days, but I hope that’s not the case now. I truly hope that I show my mom love each and every time I see her.

 

To all of you Mommas out there, I hope you have a fantastic Mother’s Day. I hope you know how important your job is and how much you make a difference. Happy Mother’s Day to MY MOMMY! Happy Mother’s Day to MY MOTHER-IN-LAW! Happy Mother’s Day also to all the women who have been second, third, and fourth mothers to me. (Not because my Mom isn’t mom-enough to handle me! But because the Lord has placed these women in my life to teach me things.)

 

Reasons Why My Mom Rocks:

*She’s a hottie!
*She makes the best chicken salad in the entire world. Not kidding. Really.
*Exhibit A
*She has great hair.
*Because of her example, I know I will not fail as a mother. And I can’t wait until the day I get to prove that!
*She lets me whine to her. And almost never tells me things that I don’t want to hear.
*Even though I’m her favorite, she treats all of her kids equally.🙂
*She loves her son-in-law and daughter-in-law.
*She doesn’t make me feel stupid when I call her with questions I should have learned in Housewife 101 class.
*She’s been in love with my daddy for 30 (ish) years and has made their marriage a priority.
*She gives and gives and gives.
*She screams at the tv like a man when she watches UT football.
*She brought Banana Chocolate Chip muffins into my life
*She accepts all of my friends as her other children.
*She has a cute, red convertible.
*She (and my dad) taught me how to be smart with money, how to parent, how to be in a successful marriage, and how to make time for family.
*She keeps her granddog when Stephen and I are out of town.
*She reads my blog!
*When I was little, she used to make homemade play-dough.
*She’s a wonderful woman of the Lord!

 

Me and my hot momma on the cruise!

Me and my hot momma on the cruise!

Now it’s your turn! Why do you love your momma? Why do you love my momma?

Entry filed under: Family, Props!. Tags: , , , .

Excuse Me While I Waste Your Time Simple Things

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  May 8, 2009 at 11:14 am

    You’re not boring me one bit, and I certainly understand the frustration of coming to the computer with nothing to say.

    I wish I knew your mom so I had something great to say, but I can (and will) add this: I love your mom because she raised an awesome daughter who knows how to cook great dinners (thanks again for all the recipes!).

    I love my mom because she put up with me in my awful teen years. Geez, I was a pain. I love my mom because her hugs always made everything ok. I love her for lots of other reasons, too, of course!

  • 2. Mom  |  May 8, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    My Momma has all those things in common with your Momma!! haha…crazy! But my Momma dresses really cute, too!

  • 3. Mom  |  May 8, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I think Linz must have left that last comment on MY computer without changing my name!!!!! So…I will just say THANKS, Chelsea, for all the wonderful words of appreciation. And, yes, you always make me feel loved, NOT just on Mother’s Day, and for that I am thankful! I pray you will be blessed with children to love and “mother”…it is the greatest blessing in the world! (Except your daddy, of course!) 🙂 P.S. Thanks Linz for the compliment on my dressing cute – she must not have seen me today in my grunge!

  • 4. Chelsea Hurst  |  May 8, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Mom, I don’t think that’s entirely true. Meme doesn’t have a red convertible. She doesn’t read my blog. And I’m certain she doesn’t yell at the tv during UT football games. She probably just says something cute like “Oh dern it.”

  • 5. Chelsea Hurst  |  May 8, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    HA! Oh that makes more sense. Lindsay, get with it!

  • 6. Lyndsey  |  May 20, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    I love your momma because I feel as comfortable in her home as I do in my own. And because she doesn’t have any rules.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

