Props! to Sharpies

May 12, 2009 at 9:50 am 10 comments

I fear that today’s post will be similar to yesterday’s. That’s okay. There are worse things.

 

I mentioned that I love getting mail from my friend Rachel because of her Tahoma handwriting. I was always envious of her handwriting. I don’t understand how at the age of 15, Rachel could write so well. How does that happen? When the rest of us were fingerpainting swirls and blobs in pre-k, she was probably meticulously writing her ABC’s. My handwriting has gotten better though. I fill out a lot of paperwork at work, so I get a lot of practice. Not that I didn’t write much throughout my life, I just never really cared how pretty it looked. I figured out the secret though. You must must must have a good pen. You know, something with great ink flow, a nice color, no friction as the pen moves along the paper. And more importantly, it needs to be a pen that makes you happy. I’m sorry, I just heard a scoff. Are you scoffing? Are you judging me? Pens don’t make you happy? I know there are people out there that’ll do a little happy dance when they get a great pen. We are the same people who own several sets of stationery and like to hold the cardstock in our hands and feel the texture of the paper. In case you’re curious, we also like labels, post its, and stamps. We are a weird breed, I know! Anyways, back to my happy pen. My pen of choice is the Pilot Precise V5, in blue ink. (Here’s the link, you have to scroll down a bit. I’m sure I’d prefer other ink colors over blue but I have to use blue for work. I’m sure those purple, pink, a teal ones would make me really happy though!)

 

Last night at Bible Study, there was a girl taking notes in her book with a green thin tip Sharpie. Of course I was jealous that she had such a rockin’ marker while I was using a blue Papermate ballpoint pen. But at the same time I kept wanting to scream, “Honey! You are going to bleed into your other pages! Please, oh please, stop! You’re going to cause all sorts of unnecessary chaos!” But I held my tongue. I am able to do that. It’s holding my figures that I have a problem with… hence, the blog! Anyways, it turns out that Sharpie has made a solution. Sharpie pens. I’m curious about these rumored Sharpie pens. Won’t bleed through paper? Nonsense! The people who came up with this are probably the same people feeding us the lie that a “quick 30 minute nap can completely recharge you.” Rubbish. Regardless, I’m intrigued. So I went to the Sharpie website to see if these things exist or if they are actually in the same family as leprechauns or unicorns or comfortable stilettos. The picture is there. I’ve never seen one in real life, so their existence is still in question.

 

More importantly, as I went to the Sharpie website, look what I found! A stainless steel Sharpie. Hello! A-maz-ing! Check out how tough and spacey it looks. I bet astronauts use this. If I were an astronaut, I’d use this! It probably costs $20 so I’ll never buy it. But I can look at it all I want! It’s so pretty….

 

I think I’ve officially out-dorked myself today. I apologize to my readers who don’t understand the excitement of office supplies. You are truly missing out. To those out you who do understand, I leave you with this link. It makes me happy.

 

——

Three hour Biggest Loser season finale tonight! Don’t miss it!!!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Props!, Work. Tags: , , , .

Simple Things Loser Finale: Are You Freaking Kidding Me?!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  May 12, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Sarah has wondered the same thing…we have looked all over for the rumored “Sharpie pens” and have been unable to find any but she completely shares your obsession with fine writing instruments.

    Personally, I have found no better pen for most tasks than the Pilot G2 Black…best note-taking pen and best letter-writing pen on the market.

  • 2. osarah  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:52 am

    When I was little and Winn’s was still open (does anyone else remember that store?), I loved going there because they had awesome office supplies for cheap. I would beg my mom for pens, notebooks, post-it notes, and “While You Were Out” notepads.

    This post reminds me how I need to get some decent pens…

  • 3. rachelheather  |  May 12, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    i love pens! my favorite non-special use pens are cello silke pens. they’re about $2 for a pack of 24 at walmart, but they have great ink flow and write really smoothly. they write black, but come in lots of pretty colors – each pack has 6 pink, 6 purple, and 4 each of green, blue, and yellow.

  • 4. Stephenie  |  May 12, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    I LOVE pens too! I find the fat ones that are often given away are the best. They just glide across your paper so well! Become a pen thief and you will know what I mean!

  • 5. Lindsay  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Every year I splurge on ONE school supply. This year it was my Sharpie pens.. I LOVE THEM.

  • 6. Matt  |  May 13, 2009 at 12:09 am

    I am SO glad somebody finds the same joy in school/office supplies that I do.

    Binders are my fetish. The right binder can make taking notes or keeping stuff in not so horrible.

    Pens are the shiz too. My writing utensil of choice? Oddly enough, the VBall V5 RT.

  • 7. Sarah Johnson  |  May 13, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I’m a little behind in posting- I have sharpie pens and I LOVE THEM! In fact, I’m going to bring you some when we come next week! They don’t bleed through, write just like a Sharpie and are amazing!

  • 8. Lyndsey  |  May 20, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    It never occurred to me that there are people who do not love pens and post-its! P.S. I am glad your comment section has spell check.

  • 9. Ginger  |  May 24, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Pens! I still love them and still have a massive collection. Gelly Roll pens are still my favorite, but I have to be careful to not buy fine-point pens. Medium point is the way to go. I also have a small collection of fine-point Sharpie markers (the colors!), but I don’t use them often.

    Also, you can buy Sharpie Pens at Walgreens, and they are amazing. James swears by them!

  • 10. James  |  May 26, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    I was just as shocked as you were about the Sharpie pen, but they rock!! I have found that they don’t last as long as a normal pen, but they are still awesome.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

