Babies, Babies Everywhere!

May 15, 2009 at 9:44 am 10 comments

You know that whole phenomena where you don’t notice things until they apply to you.. and then it’s everywhere? Like you don’t ever see certain cars until you’re in the market to buy a car. Then, all of a sudden, you see Nissan Muranos all over the place. You can’t even see street lights because the Nissan Muranos are taking up your entire vision field.

 

This happened in college. Senior year I was anticipating a proposal. Stephen and I had talked about getting married after we graduate. I knew after dating him for 2 months that he was “the one.” Waiting to get engaged was more for yall’s sake (oh yeah, and that money issue). We didn’t want any of you freaking out about us “rushing things.” So we waited. Starting at our one year anniversary, I began the anticipation. Being the female side of the relationship, I knew what had to happen in order for us to have our wedding the summer after graduation. These things take time to plan. (Not that I would know…. Thanks mom!) So the one year anniversary came. No ring. My birthday, no ring. Thanksgiving, no ring. Christmas, no ring. New Years, no ring. His birthday, no ring. And, of course, everywhere I looked were weddings. Commercials, girls in my classes with bling, people asking, etc. It was mid-January. We were graduating in 4 months. Weddings don’t get planned in 4 months. When Stephen proposed, I think all of those ads went off television. I think those girls stopped coming to class. Either that or I couldn’t see or hear anything over the beauty of my ring.

 

We are currently going through this same thing with babies. They are everywhere! I had the great joy of holding a precious, week old baby girl last night for the better part of an hour. I don’t know how anyone can hold a newborn and not believe in the amazing power of the Lord. Babies are perfection. They are so tiny. Their ears! Their toes! And their squinchy faces! Their bellies! Those little baby sighs. Oh dear. I’m in for it…

 

Well that’s just one baby, you say. First of all, holding one baby is enough to consume your thoughts. Secondly, there are more. I just got sidetracked talking about baby toes. Moving on. I have gotten two emails from Stephen about pregnant women at his office. (Baby count: 3) A girl from my high school and now blog-friend, Amanda, had a baby a few months back. He’s so stinking cute! Click on her name and scroll through her blog for pictures. You’ll want to drive to Austin just to squeeze Ian’s cheeks! (Baby count: 4) A girl from my community group in college now has baby #2 on the way. (BC: 5) A couple at our church just had a baby in January. (BC: 6)

 

Tonight after work I’m heading to good ‘ol Alice, Texas to visit my cousin and her baby girl, Sophie. (Oh looky there, Baby Count: 7) I am beyond excited to meet her and hold all 6 pounds of her tiny preciousness! And I will do everything in my power not to squeeze her and cuddle her! I can’t even imagine a mother’s love. I’ve never met Sophie and I love her so much! I would post pictures of some of these babies but I’m sure there are a lot of mom’s out there that aren’t as eager to exploit their babies as I will be. Oh, and did anyone see The Office last night… just saying. Also, a gret friend of my sister-in-law (Courtney) just had a baby. (BC: 8 and 9)

 

No, this post is not leading up to me announcing my pregnancy. But it is leading up to me showing you this picture (BC:10)!

 

Onesie says: Grandbaby On The Way! Can't wait to meet you. Love, Baby Rosenhagen

Onesie says: Grandbaby On The Way! Can't wait to meet you. Love, Baby Rosenhagen

 

Congratulations to my brother and sister-in-law! We are all so excited about the news! I can’t wait to see Laura gain weight! I can’t wait until the little miracle is here! I can’t wait to see you as parents! I can’t wait to see your dogs go into depression! Also, congrats to mom and dad! (Do you think I’m over-doing the exclamation marks?! I’ll try to control myself.) You’re going to be grandparents. (!) And congrats to my sister, Aunt Lindsay. And to my grandparents who are going to all be great-grandparents. And to all of our aunts and uncles and cousins… nobody is really sure what you’re going to be called but it’s still exciting. (!!) I think, as I’m typing this, that I truly understand the meaning of the term “my cup runneth over”… my Joy Cup has spilled all over my keyboard and is taking over!

 

Oh. Blessings. Blessings. What a joyful time to be me!

 

(I hope I didn’t miscount or leave out any babies. I’ve had to edit this twice because I’ve remembered more babies!)

 

Sidenote: Isn’t my family hot? Seriously, good genes! Too bad you can’t see my dad’s cool plaid shorts!

 

**Below photo added so Jim could see the shorts.

Is my dad too hip to be a gandpa? We better call him something cool like Poppi or G-Pa!

Is my dad too hip to be a grandpa? We better call him something cool like Poppi or G-Pa!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Getting Old, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

Just In Case You Were Wondering… Weighing The Pros and Cons

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  May 15, 2009 at 10:38 am

    YEA for babies!!!! Thank you God for the blessing of a new pregnancy in our family….and for baby Sophie who we are sooo excited about! I too wonder how in the world can you NOT believe in miracles and a God when you see a precious baby. I know I had 3 unbelievable miracles happen to me and it is beyond words. YEA for babies!!! (Hot??? Even with the red/splotchy crying eyes?? – your dad’s shorts are awesome!)

  • 2. Jimbo  |  May 15, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Congratulations to the entire Rosenhagen clan!

    (PS: Are there any pictures in existence of these “awesome shorts?” I’d love to see them! Also, who is the girl in the community group who has baby #2 on the way?)

  • 3. Chelsea Hurst  |  May 15, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Jim, I added a picture for you. Also, Annette is pregnant with her second baby.

  • 4. Jimbo  |  May 15, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    I really think I should buy a pair of plaid shorts now.

  • 5. Philippa  |  May 15, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    You are too funny! Plaid shorts!

    You’re lucky you love babies. I couldn’t stand the things until I turned 30, and then it was I WANT A BABY NOWWWWWWWW!!!!! LET’S GET PREGNANT NOWWWWWWW!!!!! Weird. And now mine are 8 and 11, I get to hold babies at church – best of both worlds.

  • 6. veronicanorman  |  May 17, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    you have baby fever like me! there really are babies everywhere; i’m with ya! haha. congrats to your brother – cute way to announce it!

  • 7. Amanda  |  May 18, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Oh, I love this post. Hot family = heck yes!

    I need to keep up with my blog. I’ve been in Houston though.

    Also, I cannot wait to see a mini Chelsea baby in the future. I’m super excited.

  • 8. osarah  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Aw, congrats to your brother!

    (Sorry I’m still catching up on blog posts. I have a long way to go. My Google Reader says 147 currently.)

  • 9. Stephenie  |  June 1, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Baby fever is right! It so ironic to be reading this post (yes, I am playing “catch up” on your blogs!); however last night I was just giving the baby count (12) to Aaron to justify my need for a baby. The phrase “you will be the only one in our circle of friends without a kid in the next year,” did not convince him of my need! This is still a work in progress… Congrats to Laura and Justin on their upcoming addition, and to you Aunt Chelsea!

  • 10. They’re Not In Texas Anymore «  |  July 22, 2009 at 9:40 am

    […] the night. But lately, they’ve been weird. Remember way back when, when I was lucky enough to hold a week old baby? The mom is a girl I went to high school with named Lindsay and we were able to meet up to chat […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

