Weighing The Pros and Cons

May 18, 2009 at 10:14 am 12 comments

Life is all about balance. Give and take. Every decision we ever have to make has options that could be considered. Sometimes we ignore the other options and take the bad with the good. Example: This weekend I was in Alice, Texas visiting family. The church had a potluck after the service. I ate a finger sandwich, some veggies, deviled eggs, etc. and then, of course, I visited the dessert table. Little old Presbyterian ladies make great desserts. Then we got back to my aunt and uncle’s house and I ate another Saltine Surprise because, well, have you had Saltine Surprises?? And these were made with dark chocolate. So… I really had no choice. A couple hours went by of reading and holding baby Sophie (more on her tomorrow!) and I was still feeling quite full. I pulled the ultimate fat girl move and put on athletic shorts with elastic. (Elastic that was digging into my gut and turning me into a human play-dough spaghetti maker thingy.) But then my cousin asked, “Do you want a piece of pie?” Do I want a piece of pie? That ridiculously amazing homemade chocolate cream pie that my uncle made? Let-me-think-about-that-for-a-second-Yes!  In this instance, there really are no other options. If I opt out of my 3rd (who are we kidding.. 7th) dessert of the day, I may feel a little better, I may not bust the elastic on my shorts that were purchased in the men’s section of Old Navy. But I’d regret it. Forever. Because that pie rocks. In this instance, the other options don’t matter.

 

But sometimes other options matter. Sometimes the pros and cons should be weighed. At one point, I considered quitting Chapstick. For those of you who don’t know, I am severely addicted to Chapstick. (Classic Cherry to be more specific.) And by “severely” I mean that I always have a tube in my pocket. I apply at least 20 times each day (more, depending on what I eat). If I leave it at home, I have to stop and buy a new one. I haven’t gone an entire day without Chapstick in 8 years. I probably haven’t gone an entire two hours without Chapstick in 8 years. It takes me approximately 21 days to get through a tube. It’s bad. Really bad. So I considered quitting. I don’t want to be a slave to Chapstick for the rest of my life. But after some research, I compiled a list of pros and cons.

 

Pros:

-I’d save approximately $1.69 every 21 days. That comes out to $29.37 a year. Assuming I live another 55 years, that’s $1615.56 over my lifetime.

-I wouldn’t feel like killing myself every time I couldn’t get my hands on that tube of glory. My lifeline. My brand of cocaine. I would be a slave to nothing. (Except chocolate. And cheese. And sleep. Oh dear. I have issues.)

-I wouldn’t ruin any more clothes by accidentally leaving the tube in my jeans pocket when I throw them in the washing machine.

-My hair wouldn’t get stuck on my lips when it’s windy.

-That’s it. That’s all the pros.

 

Cons:

-I might die.

-My lips would bleed for a few weeks until they learned to make moisture on their own again. (This is one of those instances where “use it or lose it” applies.)

-I might die.

-I would cry and Stephen would have to put up with me.

-Each time the weather was dry or I went to Colorado, I’d tempt my addiction again.

-I would die.

 

So that’s that. Not quitting. The mere thought of it makes me sweat and my heart rate accelerates to a point that makes me question my safety. I’m getting a headache just thinking about quitting. Not going to happen. Glad I considered my pros and cons on that one.

 

Have you ever made a decision after weighing your pros and cons and then later realized that your one con should have heavily out-weighed your list or pros? Stephen wanted to shave Rookie. A lot of people in Texas shave their dog in the summer. A lot of people in Texas also have outside dogs. We do not. In my opinion, Rookie’s thick fur wasn’t going to kill her in our 70 degree, fully AC’ed house. But whatever. The girl has got to pee and I suppose it’s possible that she could pass out in the 2 minutes she’s outside sniffing out her next pit stop. Also, she sheds a lot. Our house is constantly covered in dog fur. We sweep about every 2-4 days. Each time, we sweep up so much hair that we could build Rookie a litter of baby-Rookies. So shaving her would (supposedly) cut down on all the shedding. Two pros. That’s what Stephen came up with.

 

I only had one con. She’d look ugly. I think shaved dogs are ugly. They have bushy faces and bushy tails but their bodies are skinny and weird looking. I don’t like it. And I don’t want an ugly dog. But after half of the family argued “the only difference between a bad haircut and a good one is a couple weeks,” Stephen won. Two pros (to the untrained eye) appeared to outweigh my one measly con.

 

Maybe now if I take all of Rookie’s old beautiful fur and put in on my con side of the scale, it would tip in my favor and I can win and this will never happen again:

 

My naked dog.

My naked dog...

...that no longer looks like my sweet Rookie. She now looks like a moose. Or a deer.

...that no longer looks like my sweet Rookie. She now looks like a moose. Or a deer.

You can't tell but I'm dangerously close to tears. Mourning the loss of my beautiful BLACK pup is not enjoyable.

You can't tell but I'm dangerously close to tears. Mourning the loss of my beautiful BLACK pup is not enjoyable.

 

Cons: She is ugly as sin and I no longer want to cuddle her. She doesn’t feel like my Rookie.

Pros: They say blondes have more fun…

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , .

Babies, Babies Everywhere! Sophie Grace

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  May 18, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Words fail…

  • 2. Mom  |  May 18, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Don’t give that poor baby a complex by withholding your love from her!!! 🙂 She is STILL Rookie and she is STILL sweet as can be. IT WILL GROW BACK. And THEN, pros and cons aside, you WILL NOT let Stephen touch her again with those clippers, I bet! 🙂

  • 3. kelly  |  May 18, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    omg…poor rookie! i hope she isn’t cold in your house. looks like she could use a sweater!

  • 4. shanna  |  May 18, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    she is adorable! close her ears when you say things like that! she is probably self conscious as it is!

  • 5. John O.  |  May 19, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Oh man… poor rookie! We won’t ever shave Beni. Not because he would look ugly, but because Labs have two coats, a soft undercoat for warmth, and a harder outercoat for water-proofing. I don’t know if it would ever grow back right if we shaved it all off.:-/

    But you really should spend time cuddling with your ugly Rookie! He would still love you if YOUR head got shaved.🙂

  • 6. laurenfromtexas  |  May 19, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Thanks for bookmarking me! Your dog is still PRECIOUS even with no hair🙂 Look forward to getting to know you better!!

  • 7. Chelsea Hurst  |  May 19, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Oh no John! Rookie has two coats too. The redish blonde one that you see now is her undercoat. Her coarse over coat was black. If it doesn’t grow back I will die. I cuddled with her last night. She isn’t as soft as she was. And I gave her a bath to see if that would help. I feel sorry for her… nobody likes to be ugly.

  • 8. alicesworld  |  May 19, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    This is a great post. I love your obsession with Chapstick – they should pay you for endorsements. LOL

  • 9. osarah  |  May 21, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Aw, poor Rookie. I hope it grows back in soon. However, I do think her face is accentuated and is extra adorable.🙂

  • 10. Jennifer  |  May 21, 2009 at 9:13 am

    So I considered shaving Magnolia because she too sheds like crazy… I’m going to reconsider though. Let me know if it grows back!

  • 11. Samantha  |  August 22, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Hahaha, oh my gosh, thank you for recommending this old post! I can fully relate to you about the Chapstick addiction. I even have multiple tubes at one time so that no matter where I am, there is one there. Heaven forbid, I once forgot to take a tube to work, and I had to go buy one during my lunch break. I couldn’t stand the feeling of being without it! Don’t ever quit – we’re not quitters!

    The second best thing about this post is your dog being shaved. Not that it’s a GOOD thing, but I can relate. When I was in high school, we had a yorkshire terrier. With medium length silky black fur. My dad decided to shave her because of the heat (like yours, she was an indoor dog, but okay…). Post-shaving, she was the same color as Rookie, AND looked like a skinny rat. IT WAS BAD!

  • 12. Feanne  |  January 23, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Hi! I came across your posts while internet-researching about quitting Chapstick.

    I’ve successfully quit Chapstick. I first started the attempt last December, and this whole month I’m giving my lips a break from all lip products. It was so horrible for a few days, with my lips dry and peeling and cracked and bleeding, and I was so ready to go crawling back to that tube of comfort! But I just drank more water, applied honey or virgin coconut oil on my lips, and it got better after a while.

    My main reasons for quitting?
    1. I’ve used Chapstick religiously for the past ten years, and there was no long-term improvement on my lips whatsoever. In fact, I believe it made the chapped condition chronic, due to its ingredients and the way it works (temporary relief only, and stops the basal layer of the lips from producing new skin cells).
    2. I just don’t want to be dependent on it for the rest of my life.
    3. Well it’s still a lot of controversy– but I’m now inclined to believe that petrolatum (petroleum jelly) is just not an acceptable ingredient in any of my cosmetic products.

    Right now my lips are semi-dry, with a bit of peeling, but nothing like the terrible cracks of the first days without Chapstick. So, not enviably kissable, but it’s an acceptable state. I’m guessing this might be the nicest that my lips can get, naturally. Next month I’ll be trying organic lip balm (made of beeswax and virgin coconut oil, instead of petrolatum), to see if it can give me the soft-smooth-plump Chapstick effect without the dependency. At least I won’t be worried about that controversial ingredient.

    Anyway, I just wanted to share! Of course it’s a personal decision and I definitely don’t think it’s quite as big an issue, as, say, smoking, or excessive drinking.😛 But I just wanted you to know I can totally relate. And it’s possible to quit, if you do decide to.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

