Updates and Links

May 20, 2009 at 11:18 am 6 comments

Today is one of those days we both hate. I don’t have any stories that I care to share, so you have to read about a bunch of stuff you may or may not be interested it. And, sadly, you don’t know if you’re interested until you read it. So, sorry if none of the topics below interest you.

 

-Our friends Jim and Sarah are coming into town on Friday. We are so excited. We planned this little weekend months ago and it seemed like it was years away. I can’t believe it’s already here!

 

-Speaking of Jim, check out his garden. I’m thoroughly impressed. While his garden looks like it’s actually bearing fruit, ours appears to be bearing grass. Lots of grass. And weeds. Mad props to Jim for doing his homework and planting a successful garden. No props to Stephen and I for randomly planting seeds and ending up with grass and the beginnings of beans and cucumbers. We know we need to pull the weeds but we’re too scared… what if some of it is actually a veggie? We wouldn’t know the difference! So hopefully Jim’s expert eye can give us a hand this weekend. Jim, please be gentle when you tell us that we actually have nothing of value in our garden. Let us down easy…

 

-I’ve mentioned The Five Love Languages before and I’ve told you how great of a book it is. Check out what my friend Amanda has to say about it. She mentions that her and her fiance have opposite love languages. this is pretty common…. which is why it’s so important to learn your spouse’s love language. If you know me well, you know that I don’t like touching. Hugging is fine, to a certain point. I was never one of those girls in middle school that walked down the hall with her arms linked to her BFF. I’m terrible at cuddling. I hate to be held. It’s so sad. This is especially sad since Stephen’s love language is physical touch. So after reading the book and realizing that he feels loved when I touch him, the same way I feel loved when he does the dishes or mows the lawn, it was shocking. It definitely made me more intentional about hugging my man! (I know, Stephen, I am a work-in-progress!)

 

-Sometime in the next couple weeks, Roots and Rings is getting a facelift. One day you’ll come to the site and everything will look different. I’m so excited about it, I just know you’re going to love it. And if you don’t, don’t tell me!

 

-In an effort to keep things fun and interesting around here, I would love to hear your thoughts. With Biggest Loser being over, I was thinking about adding in another weekly post. Take a look at some of these or throw out some ideas of your own. I thought about a weekly recipe, but I already have the recipe blog. Just look there if you want a recipe! I will continue to do Props!, but this is not a weekly post. It’s a whenever-I-darn-well-feel-like-it post. So be creative and let me know what you want to read about it. After all, if you’re coming here to get your daily dose of R&R, I want to make sure you’re getting your fill!

 

-Rookie still looks ridiculous. And now I’m scared that her hair isn’t going to grow back. She has an under coat of fine fur and an over coat of coarse fur. Does the over coat of a dog grow back?? Does anyone know? I think I’ll vomit if it doesn’t.

 

Hopefully something today struck your fancy. If not, just scroll down and look at the pictures of Sophie again. Once you see her, I’m confident you won’t stay mad at me for long!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Rainy Day. Tags: , , .

Sophie Grace Redeeming Qualities

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laurenfromtexas  |  May 20, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    your dog’s hair will grow back just fine!! and if it doesn’t, send Rookie to live with me – then I can have two dogs with bladder issues. LOL. 🙂

  • 2. Jimbo  |  May 20, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Thanks for the props Chelsea! Ideas for weekly blog entries? I personally like “Soapbox Tuesdays” where you get to rant about something in society, culture, work, or life that just drives you nuts (I’m thinking about doing this on our blog). Or, “Reason # _________ it’s tough to be an Astros fan” (I kid). Or, just wait on another tv show to hook you so that you can blog about it and hook us.

  • 3. John O.  |  May 21, 2009 at 3:25 am

    You could do like we do on Friday! Nostalgic Fridays! Write about and/or post pictures of a memory you can get all nostalgic about! I have to give Props! to my wife on this one. Its fun to think about all the fun stuff you did when you were little or in high school or whenever.

  • 4. Lindsay  |  May 21, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I STILL LOVE SOPHIE!

  • 5. Heather D.  |  May 24, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    15 year pet groomer here – yes, the hair will grow back and should look just like it did before the hair cut. Just give it time.

  • 6. osarah  |  May 26, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I’m excited about this Roots & Rings facelift!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

