Props! to George

May 28, 2009 at 10:31 am 6 comments

Strait, that is.

 

How do you accurately give appropriate props to the greatest country music artist that has ever existed? Well, you don’t. But you can try.

 

Last night as I watched the tribute to George on CBS for being the Artist of the Decade, I fell back in love with him. Back in high school, I was quite the George fan. I’ve been to a many of his concerts. I’ve owned many of his CDs. I even had a poster of him on my wall! (This was way after the days of JTT and Devon Sawa and slightly after the time of Spice Girls.) As far as name recognition, talent, and success goes, very few country stars can even come close to him. He’s THE King George. He has had 44 Billboard top singles. Forty four!

 

Amazing.

 

I watched the two hour program with googly eyes at a 57 year old man. He sat there with his wife and son (and some other girl?) watching other country stars perform his music. What a great night. They all told stories about him and when they first met him. It was touching. What a wonderful day to be George Strait. Actually, I’m sure most days are great days to be George Strait… but you know what I mean. I’d also like to comment that I never really liked the song “Run” but I think Taylor Swift did an incredible job with that!

 

So I love him. And I’m pretty sure he loves me too- even if he doesn’t know it. Why wouldn’t he? I’m a great fan. And I’m sure that I’ve contributed somewhere around $320 to his bank account… not that he’s shallow enough to love me for my money.

 

I watched the show while facebooking back and forth with Lyndsey (you know, the friend I’m going to bribe to move to Houston by having a baby). Well, obviously I don’t have a baby, so I’m bribing her to visit with something almost as enticing as my first born. George Strait tickets. So now, I’m the proud owner of 2 tickets to the show on August 8! It’s up to her to get her butt down here for it! If she doesn’t come, I will be taking my husband. And I will post massive amounts of pictures to make her jealous.

 

Consider yourself warned.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Props!. Tags: , , , , .

Comfortable Guests My Reality

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren From Texas  |  May 28, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I WANT TO GOOOOOOOO. I love that man.

  • 2. Jimbo  |  May 28, 2009 at 11:55 am

    When she says “Consider yourself warned,” she means it. You better go to the concert or you risk not having pillowcases the next time you visit!

  • 3. Lyndsey  |  May 28, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Within 17 hours of the initial discussion (8 of those were spent sleeping) we have purchased tickets and booked a flight. Add this to the list of reasons I love you and we are friends.

  • 4. Mom  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:01 am

    SHUCKS!!! I was sooooo hoping Lyndsey couldn’t make it (sorry Lyndsey) and you would OF COURSE take your MOM – not your husband – cause SHE HAS LOVED HIM FOREVER!!! After all, didn’t she introduce him to you?????? 🙂

  • 5. Chelsea Hurst  |  June 2, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Lauren and Mom – Nobody is stopping yall from buying tickets. I didn’t have to cash in on and favors to get them, just went to ticketmaster.com! Mom, you should take Carrie.

  • 6. J  |  September 2, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    While I would disagree that he’s the best country music artist that ever existed, he is pretty extraordinary. My goal is to see him live before he stops touring.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

