Goose Egg

June 15, 2009 at 9:48 am 8 comments

I’m so proud of my family. This weekend we went to Round Rock to celebrate with my uncle. He just graduated from The University of Texas. He got his Master’s in 13 months. And had a full time job, and wife, and son. He’s been working so hard and is finally done! He threw a graduation party on Saturday night. And… he went all out.

A stocked tiki bar, a margarita machine, a keg, canoes, a pool, yard games, catered food, etc. It was a good time. But that’s pretty common. If you know my family, you know that the Rosenhagens throw good parties. And we have excellent vacations. Not because we go to extravagant places, but because we have a good time together. I have a certain friend (who will remain nameless) who has said, “I wish your parents had more boys so I could marry into your family.” That’s a good wish.

Just so we’re clear, it’s not just the Rosenhagens. My mom’s side of the family is great too. It’s full of talented people. Both sides had some crazy talented genes. Athletes, artists, accountants, people who know how to handle money, people who get into UT Law School (Hook ‘Em), and all around smart people. So really, I shouldn’t have to try so hard to find my talents, right?!

On Saturday night, my sister and I were hanging out on the barstools at the Tiki Bar. I looked over and saw my twin cousins playing washers. I looked at Lindsay and said, “Want to go challenge Matthew and Ryan to a game of washers?” And she replied, “Chelsea, I suck at washers.” I laughed a little and said, “Lindsay, they are 11. They suck too.” Famous last words.

It was a brutal game. I’d like to blame it on the board, but for some reason, the boys weren’t having as much trouble. We are pretty sure it was the longest washers game in the history of all washers games. I have never heard two 11 year olds talk so much trash. We ended the game with a score of something depressing like 21-8. The icing on the cake? I contributed a whopping 0 points to our 8 point total.

Talented family? Maybe I’m adopted.

I hope you’re enjoying the new layout. I made some changes to the top tabs (About and 100 Things). Keep checking back, I’ll be making more changes throughout the week.

Entry filed under: Family, UT. Tags: , , , .

What Happens in KC… Gets Blogged The Colors Are All The Same

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  June 15, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    OMG…You are soooo talented! You are one of the best writers in the family, if not the best. You are soooo talented in the scrapbooking dept….you are CREATIVE – so to heck with washers! (Remind me to ask Ryan or Matthew to be my partner next time we play!) 🙂

  • 2. Jimbo  |  June 15, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I’m sorry but…what is washers?

  • 3. Lindsay  |  June 15, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Yeah….we suck at washers…but hey, I warned her!

  • 4. Marissa  |  June 15, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    What is washers? Love the layout!!!

  • 5. Kristin  |  June 15, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    That’s awesome!! The hubs is working toward his masters in accounting, while having a full time job and our bambino. It’snot easy that’s for sure. Lovely layout!!

  • 6. Chelsea Hurst  |  June 16, 2009 at 8:48 am

    How do you people not know what washers is?! You’re missing out on some graet family fun! And it only uses one hand, so the other is availavle to hold your beer. Check out this link: http://s2.thisnext.com/media/230×230/The-Original-Washers-Toss-Game_3B96A13F.jpg Hopefully that works. You basically have two boards and you have to throw washers into the holes in the board…

  • 7. kelly  |  June 16, 2009 at 11:49 am

    what about your amazing gift giving skills? you always find the perfect gift! or your scrap booking skills?!! you have sweet skills!

  • 8. Lyndsey  |  June 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    You have sweet cooking skills too. I was talking about this EXACT topic yesterday. I would love to have a hobby that I am really good at, but I can’t commit to one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

