Dear Work Week,

June 18, 2009 at 10:02 am 10 comments

I don’t think you and I got off to a good start. Quite honestly, I wasn’t very pleased with your arrival. I was having a great time with Weekend. You know him? Probably not… you two don’t have much in common. Anyways, we were getting along just fine. And then you showed up and kicked him out. I know you usually only stay around for 5 days but, really, I think that is too long. You’re overstaying your welcome. I think it would be more fair if Weekend could stay a little longer. Can we work on that?

Also, I’m a bit confused about the people you’ve put in my life this visit. Like that woman at the grocery store. We were in the Express Lane and even though she may have only had 5 items, there was nothing “express” about her behavior. In the future, can you make sure people have their cell phones off when they are checking out at the store? Or can you at least make sure that they are aware that they are checking out and help them find their credit cards? I think that would make your visits a little better.

And what’s up with the work experiences you’re providing?? Am I delusional or is everyone else drugged? I’m pulling out my hair here, give me a break! I can only take crazy in small doses. Not 8 times a day. Please, please have mercy on me in the future.

Sometimes you come and you bring fun things with you. Like good television, Bible Study, a dinner out, quality food, satisfying sleep, and an overall productive time. But it seems that you’re slacking lately. I realize I’ve cut your budget so the food and entertainment has been suffering, but get creative. It’s not like you’re new at this. You’ve been around forever and deal with all types of people. You should be able to make my time with you a bit more bearable. Please. And let me sleep! For the love of Pete, please let me sleep. Why do you insist on making me lay in bed for an hour before I can sleep? It’s not fair! You don’t make Stephen do that. Why me?

To be brutally honest, you annoy me. I don’t like your time here but I know you are a necessary evil. And I know you will continue to show up for years to come. So let’s work on our relationship. What do you say? Maybe we can try an exercise… I’ll tell you 5 things I like about you and you can tell me 5 things you like about me. And then maybe our relationship will heal. Here, I’ll go first:

1. You add structure to my life.
2. You keep our world organized (seems like you could do it in 4 days, but whatever…)
3. Occasionally you provide good television.
4. You encourage me to spend quality time with my husband and our dog.
5. You let me blog. When Weekend comes, he doesn’t let me.

So I guess you’re not all bad. I hear that next week you may allow me to go to an Astros game! And tonight you’re letting me go to the dog tracks. I really appreciate things like that. Especially when you can manage to fit those into the budget I give you. So thanks for that. I’d just really like to see more of an effort from you in other areas. Okay?

(Unfortunately) Yours,
Chelsea

PS- I’m not kidding about the work stuff. Fix that.

Entry filed under: Chelsea. Tags: , , , , .

Who’s Your Daddy? Friend Dating

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  June 18, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Cute blog today! You might want to add “this is when I get my paycheck” to your wonderful reasons you like “work week”… 🙂

  • 2. The Husband  |  June 18, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    The only reason we don’t get our checks from weekend is because week is selfish and wants banks to stay!

  • 3. Lyndsey  |  June 18, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I had a similar conversation with work week this morning when I got up at 6 am after going to be around midnight. We used to be much more cordial until study time, work out time, and obessive cleaning were added…. I also quit caffine which is taking a major toll on work week and I’s relationship.

  • 4. novelsita barista  |  June 18, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    LOL this is funny… and so try

  • 5. Lauren From Texas  |  June 18, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Hahahaha. You’re hilarious.

  • 6. Veronica  |  June 18, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    great post! i seriously laughed out loud 🙂 Weekend is coming very soon, so yayyyy!

  • 7. Kristin  |  June 18, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Could you please ask work week to shorten itself by a day so the hubs would have a 3 day weekend every week. Thanks.

  • 8. Jimbo  |  June 19, 2009 at 10:37 am

    Dear Chelsea,

    I apologize for not getting back to you sooner but I have a hard time accomplishing anything during these five days we spend together 52 times a year. I understand and appreciate your concerns and promise to try and do a better job about the things I can change.

    However, please understand that this isn’t a walk in the park for me either! You think I enjoy having everyone hate me? You think it’s easy for me to hear “How was your weekend? It was great; too bad it’s Monday and time for the work week to start again…” all the time? I have feelings, too, ya know. Consider something else…I NEVER get to go to church! I NEVER get to enjoy laid back brunches, or breakfast-in-bed, or leisurely days at the beach. No, my brother is the only one who gets to do those things. He sleeps five days a week and then gets to party for the other two and the bum has never held a steady job! “I work,” he says. Annual garage sales and volunteer days at the park are not work, I’m sorry.

    I say all of this to you to let you know that it’s not all fun and games for me either during my visits. I will do my best to make things better so that you enjoy our time together more but I’m limited by that job you have. Why not just quit working? Then, we can have a lot of fun! I daresay that even Weekend would be jealous!

    In the interest of brevity, I will wrap this up. As a way of saying thank you for your kind words in your letter to me, here are five things I like about you:

    1) You and Stephen keep the same routine every morning. I don’t like change so, thank you.
    2) Your blog is a bright spot in my days and I appreciate you allowing me to host that honor.
    3) You wear nicer clothes for me than you do for weekend. Thanks for dressing up!
    4) I love your home! You and Stephen allow me to spend most of my evenings there instead of making me go out.
    5) You haven’t made me to go to school in a long time!

    Enough! I am going to take a trip to France. They only make me show up for four days a week over there…

    Sincerely,
    Workweek

  • 9. The Husband  |  June 19, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    …awesome!

  • 10. Chelsea Hurst  |  June 22, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Kristin, Work Week doesn’t listen to me… But I’ll pass the word along!

    Jim, you win “Best Comment of the Year” with that!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

