Sweet Skills

June 29, 2009 at 9:49 am 14 comments

I know a lot of talented people. Musicians, cooks, photographers, scrapbookers, knitters, smart people, athletes, etc. etc. etc. I believe that God gives us all talents and I’ve often wondered what mine it. What is my sweet skill? Maybe it’s something I haven’t discovered yet. Like juggling. Probably not. Usually people who don’t see 3D aren’t good jugglers… lots of black eyes and bloody noses. Maybe I’m an excellent ventriloquist. Or maybe it’s some sort of activity that doesn’t require me to join the circus.

My sister decided to go to school to be a graphic designer. Part of that major is art. She wasn’t particularly excited about it since she had no background in art and was convinced that she wouldn’t be any good at it. She soon proved herself wrong. She’s incredible. Each time we see a piece of her work, we are shocked. That girl definitely has a talent. She is truly an artist. Here’s the proof. Here is a picture of her self portrait. If you haven’t seen my sister, this is her.

lindsay portrait

Some people have incredible talents that aren’t as useful. I remember one time in college, I was in the car with my friend Lyndsey. She was like, “Hey have you heard that new song? It’s something about ‘That’s What I Like About Sundays.'” At that point, the song was brand new and I had never heard of it. She said, “Oh, it’s really good. It says something about ‘Sweet Miss Betty likes to sing off key in the pew behind me… That’s what I like about Sundays, Sing along as the choir sways, every verse of Amazing Grace. Shake the preachers had. Go home, into your blue jeans. Have some chicken and some baked beans….’ And then it says something about ‘It’s 35 cents off a ground round baby, cut that coupon out.’ I don’t know. I’ve only heard it once.” Reread that last part. She had only heard it once but somehow she memorized the tune and half of the lyrics. It was nuts. I don’t know how she did it. She often complained that she could memorize any song but couldn’t memorize facts for school. Regardless Lyndsey, I was impressed. I still think about that every time I hear that song.

Everytime I post about not having skills, you all post comments about “blah blah, you can write, blah blah, you can cook, blah blah.” Yes I can do both. I can do neither exceptionally, but I can do both in true mediocre fashion. But that’s okay, because I realized what my true skill is. Foreshadowing. Or maybe we can even say that I’m a fortune teller. Or more accurately, a future teller. Do you doubt me? Two examples follow.

One. Think back a couple month ago to when I went a bit crazy with my cooking. I stocked the freezer with casseroles, meat, and cooked turkey. I bought sandwich meat on sale and froze it. We had tons of food. I just knew that I was going to need it. I knew I would be glad that I did it. And now, here I am, praising God that I made that choice. Our bathroom is taking shape. We got new floors, a new shower, new ceiling and walls, retexturing, painting, etc. The glass for the shower has been ordered. We’re about to buy a vanity and toilet. And let me just tell you, it’s not cheap. It makes me almost want to vomit every time I spend money now. So you can imagine the relief I have when I go to the grocery store and only have to buy the perishable items. Lunch and dinner is already bought and paid for. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect. Somehow I knew.

Second example. A few weeks ago I got a call from my mother. She said, “Hey. Are yall busy Thursday night? We are going to meet in the Academy parking lot at 6:15. We have something we want to do with all of you kids.” I hung up the phone and my immediate reaction was “they bought something. Maybe a boat, maybe a car, maybe a vacation house. Something. They bought something.” After two days of deliberating, I figured it out. I morphed into Sherlock Holmes and used my clues. I had decided that they’d bought a beach house. Turns out, my fortune telling skills are right on. Well, almost right on. I was only slightly off. They hadn’t actually purchased it. And it’s a house in Galveston, not technically a beach house. Regardless, I’ve got to say, I impressed myself on that one.

So here is the official introduction. Blog world, meet Bella Rose. Bella Rose, Blog world.

FrontView

(Yes, we like to name our homes. First my grandparents and their friends named their Colorado condo Luther’s Run. Then Stephen and I bought the Hurst Castle. Now my parents bought the Bella Rose. We just decided to name my parents’ house the Rosen Haven. That’s funny if you know us…)

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Hurst Castle. Tags: , , , , , .

Move Over Jillian Michaels Model Behavior

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  June 29, 2009 at 10:27 am

    The Bella Rose is awesome! I have “feelings” of foreshadowing like that too. It is sometimes creepy. I don’t really know what my talent is, either. My brother is a very talented musician. Apparently my talent is less obvious, because I’m still lookin’ for it…

  • 2. Jimbo  |  June 29, 2009 at 11:42 am

    “Rosen Haven”=funny, I don’t care who you are. I guess I’m an ignorant Texan but I was under the impression that the entire island of Galveston had been obliterated by Ike. Yet, Bella Rosa looks right out a Galveston Tourist Bureau book…did it miraculously escape Ike’s beatdown?

  • 3. Marissa  |  June 29, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I love that you name your homes!

  • 4. Rachel  |  June 29, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    SO SO CUTE! I love it! When will you spend your first weekend there?

  • 5. Lindsay  |  June 29, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Yay for Bella Rose! I can’t wait to go there and use it!
    Also? My sweet “skills” were learned…not natural!

  • 6. Candi  |  June 29, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    This is such a great house! I can side with your friend, as I am really great at remembering events that took place in my life and song lyrics, but had a horrible time remembering things I learned in class!

  • 7. Tina  |  June 29, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Ahhh! Yea! You’ve joined the world of Galvestonians. Oh, the world that awaits you. When’s the first party?

  • 8. Ginger  |  June 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    What a beautiful home! The name makes me think of the Twilight books, hehe!

  • 9. osarah  |  June 30, 2009 at 2:10 am

    Unrelated:

    I had a dream about you and your 2-D visiion last night. I dreamt that I saw everything through the “View MAster 3-D” toy that was around when we were little. The problem was, I couldn’t open both eyes at once, so I saw everything kind of flat. It made me think of you. How are the eye exercises going??

    Related:

    That’s a beautiful house, and I love the colors!!

    New bathroom? aweeeesome. Will you post pictures when it’s finished?

  • 10. Kristin  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:20 am

    WOW, that is gorgeous!

  • 11. Chelsea Hurst  |  June 30, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Jim- Shockingly, there was no damage from Ike. It’s a couple blocks from the beach. Apparently after the storm of 1900, when the rebuilt Galveston, they built it up so those parts wouldn’t flood.

    Rachel- Stephen and I will be spending our anniversary there at the end of July. Can’t wait!

    Tina- I knew you’d be excited!! I’ll email you the website, you should take the kiddos down there for a couple days.

    Sarah- Therapy is going okay. I don’t notice any change, and that’s pretty frustrating. I have an appointment next week. And yes, we’ll post pictures of the bathroom when it’s done. Don’t get too excited, its so tiny!!

    All- Thanks! It is a beautiful house. I’m so excited for my parents!!

  • 12. Debbie  |  June 30, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    beautiful house! and i’ve got sweet skills, like nunchuck skills…

  • 13. Rachel  |  June 30, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    PS- I want to see more pictures! 🙂

  • 14. U Rory and A Chris  |  September 9, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    We are thrilled that your parents have a new home away from home! Enjoy family time together……It is the most wonderful time…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

