Ignorance is Bliss

July 1, 2009 at 9:20 am 8 comments

There are some days when I’m in the car and completely uncomfortable. The mirror isn’t right, the seat belt is rubbing, something is rattling, I’m hot, there’s traffic, there’s nothing on the radio, my butt hurts, I’m tired, and my hair looks like crap. Ever have those days? One other thing that bugs me is when the bottom of my jeans tickles my ankle. It makes me think there are bugs on me, so I usually roll my right pant leg up a couple times. Yesterday was one of those days.

On my way home from work yesterday, I stopped at Bed Bath & Beyond to exchange a few things for my mom. I had two big shopping bags filled with some items to be returned, some to be exchanged, and some as samples so I can buy more of them. I carried detailed instructions around with me as I filled my cart. As I was at the customer service desk to do my extremely involved transaction, complications arose. Without confusing you to the degree that I confused Chachie behind the counter, here are the basic details. I needed to exchange two 84″ curtain panels for two 95″ curtain panels. My mom had bought a few of each to try them on for size at the Bella Rose. The 84″ers were too short. Chachie tells me that it appears that we never purchased any 84″ panels. This is clearly not true since I am holding two 84″ panels with the security tags already removed. I obviously didn’t just pick them up in the store. Anyways, I got my mom on the phone to ask her a few questions then talked Chachie through the situation. Apparently I look like a trustworthy person because he eventually believed me and completed my transaction. I left with a sigh of relief, proud of the way I handled the situation.

My next stop was HEB. I needed cookie dough, yogurt, and canned tomatoes. A quick trip. I found my goods and got in line. I thought I picked a good line… but I never do. There was an older lady currently paying and then a couple with about 4 items. I stood in line reading all Kate Gosselin headlines (poor woman… she may be crazy, but leave her alone!) and I realized we weren’t moving. I looked up and the couple in front of me looked annoyed. I looked ahead of them and noticed that the older woman was done checking out and paying, but was just standing there chatting. Her and the cashier were bonding over stories of their dogs. This went on for another minute or two (that’s a long time in grocery store line terms) and she finally left. When it was finally my turn, I had a couple options. I could be short and annoyed with the cashier. Or I could just smile and be careful not to mention my dog. I chose the latter. You know, smile and love her with Christ’s love… even though my cookie dough is room temperature and growing bacteria. And once again, I left the store with a sense of pride in the way I handled the situation.

Then I got home and realized my right pant leg was rolled up and I looked like a complete fool on my errands. I’m an idiot. I’m just glad that Chachie and the dog lady were equally as polite to me!

Entry filed under: Chelsea. Tags: , , , .

Model Behavior Props! to Lorna Doone Shortbread Cookies

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  July 1, 2009 at 11:54 am

    That is quite a day you had! At least no punks made fun of you for you new pants leg. Maybe the oldies just thought you were sporting a new trend 😉

    If it is any consolation…I too always pick the bad line–always. It can be the shortest one in the store and I guarantee you it’ll move the slowest.

  • 2. Ashley  |  July 1, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Most days I am pretty sure that my seatbelt is out to get me — it doesn’t seem to matter how I adjust my seat (up, down, back) the seatbelt hits my neck in the most UNCOMFORTABLE ways.

    And don’t get me started on check out lines — I pick the wrong SELF checkout lane. The Boyfriend doesn’t let me pick lanes anymore — it’s sad really, I can pick the shortest line and end up standing there longer than had I gone to the line with 6 people with full carts.

  • 3. Tellie  |  July 1, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Hahaha. Maybe they everyone just thought you were setting a fashion trend with your rolled up pant leg?

    My mom is notorious for holding up check out lines. She’ll discover that she’s distantly related to the cashier (hey it’s happened) or that they both know some body who knows somebody who knows somebody that they both know. Or better yet, she will share her life’s story. Of course this isn’t just limited to the cashier, she’ll do this with any person in the store that will listen. I’ve been in situations where the conversation will literally last hours. Needless to say, I don’t go shopping with her any more.

  • 4. Gabby  |  July 1, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    One day, I ran errands all day with my kids. I was annoyed by the last stop at Target because, you know, I had my kids with me and they were being kids.

    Anyway, I was checking out and answering the 55 debit card questions with a faulty pen thingy and my daughter (then 6) kept tugging on me and calling my name.

    Finally, I said, “what is it honey, I am trying to pay”, and she loudly said, “your shirt is on backwards and the tag is hanging out”.
    Oh, well. Thank you very much, I am so glad we have been out FOUR HOURS, and I am just now finding that out.
    La tee da, another day in Crazyville. My kids still laugh about it, oh, and so did the check out girl!

    I had to laugh myself. Life is too short to really care about that stuff!

  • 5. Rachel  |  July 1, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Is the one leg up still in style with some circles of people? (You would know better than me… we have no such circles in MiddleofNowhere, KS.)

  • 6. Kristin  |  July 1, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Did you do the pimp limp?

  • 7. Marissa  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I am soooo bad at picking lines too!

  • 8. Aunt Bonnie  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Chels,
    I can totally identify with the “bugs” on your ankle when your pants hit just right. Drives me crazy! Is it a “tall” thing?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

