Sweet Texas Heat

July 6, 2009 at 9:20 am 10 comments

What a fabulous weekend! There really is no other word for it. Fabulous! Well maybe there are a few more… memorable, special, fun, and I think the kids now days are using the word “epic”… I think this qualifies.

We spent the weekend in south Texas celebrating a few amazing events. Of course the 4th of July was one, but we really didn’t celebrate it. We were too busy celebrating my Papa’s 80th birthday and my Meme and Papa’s 60th wedding anniversary. Sixty years!! What an accomplishment! And more importantly, what an inspiration!

Friday night was all about Papa. We sat in the air conditioning and had fajitas and beer and then settled down for a time to honor him. The evening began with all of the “out-laws” asking him a question. That didn’t make sense? In other words, everyone who married into the family (I think you people call them “in-laws”) had to take a slip of paper out of a bag and each slip had a question on it. They took turns asking their questions and we all listened to Papa answer. My favorite: What first attracted you to Meme? Answer: She was slim, pretty, and could dance! At least he’s honest!

Then Papa got a chance to talk. Papa doesn’t talk much. I’m not sure if it’s because he chooses not to, or if it’s because he lived in a house with three daughters and never got the chance to talk. Either way, it was a treat. He told us things about his life that we didn’t know. Turns out, he has had an extremely interesting life and there’s quite a lot we didn’t know. My Papa is one of the most genuine, honest, hard-working men I have ever met. Want proof? The thing he is most ashamed of is in 6th grade, he told his teacher to shut up. He’s 80. That’s the thing he is most ashamed of. Don’t you wish you could say that about yourself? I’m not sure that God makes men like him anymore. You can trust him with your life, but also count on him for a good corny, dirty joke every now and then. Here’s Papa at the hunting camp last Christmas. He’s a Longhorn by blood but he’s a Rice fan for a few years:

PC250074

Saturday night we had a party to celebrate Meme and Papa’s anniversary. We had about 70 of their closest friends over to my aunt and uncle’s house. We all wore pink. It was a special night and I know they felt loved. Then Sunday morning, little Sophie Grace was baptized. We are all so thrilled that these three events could be celebrated on the same weekend so we could be part of it all.

South Texas is hot. Like really hot. It’s not humid so you don’t really feel like you are suffocating the way you do in Houston. But it was still over 100. We did all we could to stay inside. And the times we had to be outside, we made sure to stay hydrated with cold beer. We spent part of Saturday evening outside but God blessed us with a bit of a breeze. I don’t think I broke a sweat. Well, that’s actually not saying much. I don’t think Stephen broke a sweat. That’s saying much.

We headed home yesterday afternoon. We were uplifted and refreshed. And then we walked into our house. It was hot. Hotter than south Texas. We turned down the thermostat and sat under the ceiling fans. After about 20 minutes I realized that my legs were sticking to our leather couch and the house wasn’t feeling any better. I got a bad feeling. You know those bad feelings? I mean it’s not unusual for it to take 30+ minutes to cool down the house on a hot July day, but I just felt like something wasn’t right. We mumbled and grumbled and went around feeling air vents. Air was coming out, but it didn’t feel very cold. Oh sweet irony. We sat outside on July 4th and felt perfectly comfortable, but in the supposed comfort of our own homes, we were sweating buckets. (Well I wasn’t, I was just a bit sticky. But you know what I mean.)

This is the second time our AC had stopped cooling since we moved into Hurst Castle. Naturally, both times were in the heat of summer. To all of you who have just purchased a house or are looking to purchase a house: This is why you get a home warranty and RENEW it each year. Hypothetically, if our AC is broken, we only pay $55. That’s it. No matter what is wrong, we only pay $55. So there will be no sleepless nights from us, stressing over money. We spent last night in the guest room at my parent’s house. Between Stephen hogging the bed and Rookie trying to get comfortable on the floor, I only slept about 4 hours. But at least I wasn’t awake thinking about money. See, my glass is half full!

Entry filed under: Family, Holidays, Hurst Castle, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , , .

More R&R Updates Honest Scrap

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:01 am

    I need to login and read this later because I’m just packing up to leave work, but I wanted to let you know I gave you a blog ward today – it’s on my most recent post. 🙂

  • 2. Ashley  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Congrats to your Meme and Papa — what a great thing to be married for that many years! Sorry to hear about your AC — but at least you’re not worrying about the $$ to fix it.

  • 3. mom  |  July 6, 2009 at 10:27 am

    Ditto on the comments about the weekend! FABULOUS! And what special words you wrote about Papa – he is definitely that and more. The best daddy a girl could ever ask for! And we are so blessed to have my parents married for that long and healthy for pretty much of it. (The guest room is always open but I sure hope you get that fixed! TOOO HOT for no AC!)

  • 4. Aunt Bonnie  |  July 6, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Blessed beyond measure! The weekend was fantastic and even more special because of the celebration of 3 happy events! Sorry about your AC! Our house is actually cool…..finally:)

  • 5. Kristin  |  July 6, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I love love stories like that! I hope the hubs and I can make it that long. Who did you get your home warranty through?

  • 6. Tellie  |  July 6, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Sounds like you had an awesome weekend minus the AC. Thanks for allowing me to “meet” Meme and Papa, they sound like an awesome couple. The high was in the 60s where I’m at which is very unusual for July, but I won’t complain I loved it!

  • 7. John O.  |  July 7, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I think Sarah meant a blog Award…. LOL

    “Chelsea, your blog has been gravely injured. You can visit it in the east wing of the hospital, also known as the “blog ward.” 🙂

  • 8. osarah  |  July 7, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Your post about your grandpa made me tear up. I’m so glad you all got to celebrate all of that in one weekend – that’s so special!

    And yes — oops — I meant “award.” That’s what I get for commenting from work, where I shouldn’t really be looking at blogs. I try to comment and get off the site too fast!

  • 9. molly  |  July 7, 2009 at 6:01 am

    That sounds like an awesome weekend!

    Hope the A/C is up and running again.

  • 10. Jimbo  |  July 7, 2009 at 11:41 am

    60 years!!! Praise God for the example of your Meme and Papa! Family, friends, holidays, good food, and celebrations…I can imagine nothing better! No A/C in that sauna down there? Ugh…does your home allow for good cross breezes with the windows open?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

