Honest Scrap

July 7, 2009 at 10:59 am 17 comments

I’ve been blogging for 6 months, precisely 129 posts and I have received my first blog award. Thanks to Sarah at Sojo for your sweet words about my blog! This award is the Honest Scrap award, I guess because I tell you a lot of honest crap. I’ll still take it as a compliment, Sarah! So without further ado, here are 10 things about me that you (probably) don’t know.

honest scrap

1. I have a scar on my thigh from a splinter. I was in elementary school. I was at a girl scout’s meeting and I was sitting on a wooden picnic table. A piece of wood at least an inch long went through my hunter green jeans and into my thigh. That night, my parents held me down and tried to pull it out. They got a little bit. The next day at school, the school nurse tried to get it out, she got a little bit. Then I had to go to the doctor. He gave me a shot that, I swear, was 6 inches long and stayed in my leg for about a minute. (That may or may not be my childhood imagination getting out of control.You can be the judge.) Once the spot was numb, the doctor pulled out the rest of it. It was awful. I’m sure that was God’s way of telling me that there are consequences for wearing green jeans.

2. I have major guilt issues. I hate letting people down. This is why I’m never late. If my behavior lets you down, trust me, I will punish myself enough. I can’t sleep, I get headaches, my stomach starts churning, it consumes my thoughts. It’s the worst with my parents. This is probably why I am so much like my mom. I’m scared that if I’m different, I’ll let her down. And it’s also probably why I’m so cheap. I can’t bear the thought of my dad coming to my house and seeing name brand items in my pantry. Maybe I should see a doctor about this… but it’s not like I’m unhappy with who I am.

3. “Kids these days” make me terrified of having kids. I can’t handle the language and inappropriate things on television. I hate the clothes that I see little girls wear. I can’t stand that land lines are a thing of the past and everyone has cell phones now. I don’t want my children growing up in a world where gay marriage is normal, teenagers think it’s trendy to have babies, dolls wear skanky clothes, and Christianity is just the religion for uptight people who can’t accept others. I’m aware that families have the greatest impact on a child, but I’m scared about what they’ll learn “out there in the real world.”

4. I have this condition on my hip that makes my skin thin. I’ve had it for over a year now and we can’t get it to go away. So I have a big purple/red/white spot on my hip. It’s called lichen sclerosis, but don’t google it. The normal location for this condition is a bit south of the hip region, and trust me, you don’t want to see pictures. There is your warning.

5. I harshly judge people who don’t write thank you notes.

6. I get headaches all the time. I get migraines on a semi-monthly basis. You probably know that about me. What you don’t know is that I often convince myself that I have a brain tumor and that is the only reasonable explanation for these headaches. In reality, they are hereditary. My mom’s side of the family gets them just as bad as I do. But that doesn’t stop me from thinking that there is a chance I have a tumor.

7. My relationship with the Lord needs a lot of work. I know, I know… who’s doesn’t?! But it’s been on my mind lately and it’s making me uneasy and cranky! I’ve started carrying a Bible in my purse and am about to start a prayer journal in hopes that this will refuel me. This is one area of my life I don’t want to settle for mediocrity.

8. I’ve always gotten along with people older than me better than people my own age. I’m sure this is a character flaw somehow. I never have problems making friends with older people and carrying on conversation. But if you put me in a room of 24 year old girls, I may pee myself. And then I’ll leave feeling like a misfit… and not just because I’m 24 and peed myself!

9. My love languages are Words of Affirmation and Acts of Service. There is nothing more valuable than a handwritten letter or a homemade gift. When Stephen works around the house without me asking, I feel like he truly loves me and I fall even deeper in love with him. When I get an unexpected card or email, I feel loved. This is also how I show love. That is why I like to cook for people. Stephen is Physical Touch and Quality Time. Yes, this causes a problem in our marriage. Yes, we are working on it. Yes, we will be working on it forever. And yes, we are okay with that.

10. I wish I could sing, sew, draw, clean, write, relax, knit, scrapbook, take pictures, play an instrument, put on eye makeup properly, sleep through the night, memorize Scripture, and bake. I also wish I didn’t think dancing was the most awkward and boring activity.

Now I’m supposed to nominate 10 bloggers. I’m not going to though. I’m just going to nominate four:

Considering the Campbells – because I’d like to get to know Molly a little better. And I think she could take a little break from studying to do something fun!

A Peine for your Thoughts – because Taryn is funny and also very honest!

Life on Dayton – because I want Jim and Sarah to post more often and maybe this will make them do it!

Lauren from Texas– because she is my blog soul-mate and I want to know how much we have in common.

The Rules:

1. Thank the person that nominated you for this award (that would be me).
2. Copy the logo and put it on your blog.
3. Link to the person who nominated you for this award (me again).
4. Name 10 things about yourself that people might find interesting.
5. Nominate 10 Honest Scrap bloggers.
6. Post links to the 10 bloggers you nominate.
7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Marriage, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

Sweet Texas Heat Oh Dear

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alicesworld  |  July 7, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    I think it’s great that you’re upfront about your religious beliefs. It’s hard to find people who are willing to do that now since so many have been persecuted on blogs for doing that. I commend you!

    As for #3. Do not fear. Fear is the absence of Faith. You can raise righteous children despite the world. We’ve considered making concessions down the road and doing home school and other things like that to help shelter our children from negative effects of the way the world is going, but I truly believe that every generation in all times has said those same words: kids these days!

    I see families everywhere who are raising children to be modest, upright, friendly, and respect themselves and others. You just have to teach them the way they should go and maintain a good relationship…but also let them make their own choices and hope they choose your path. It’s wild ride this motherhood thing, but it is an amazing one and one not worth missing out on.

    Plus, you seem pretty cool. You owe it to the world to replicate your genes. LOL

  • 2. d.a.r.  |  July 7, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    #3. Oh my goodness it’s like you read my mind….

  • 3. jaybub11  |  July 7, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    your blog should come with a warning. “do not read in q chem” i laughed and now look like that crazy person

  • 4. Ashley  |  July 7, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    re: #6

    I had a headache going on 3 days and it seemed to have moved into my neck on the left side (like that spot that is kind of still your head but almost your neck — either way). So I thought I’d webmd this to see what was going on. BIG MISTAKE. The Boyfriend calls and I’m crying. WebMD tells me it is either a brain tumor or a muscle pull. HELLO? Is there nothing in between. Of course I was convinced I was dying since doing something that would pull a muscle would require work or something else I am not really fond of! Thank goodness it was just a muscle pull. So now everytime I get a headache The Boyfriend reminds me to stay away from WebMD.

    So I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks the worse of headahces!

  • 5. Jill  |  July 7, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    The headache thing? Used to be the same way. Everytime they’d send me in for an MRI or CT scan, I’d think “they must think it is brain tumor! oh no!” No I’ve just chalked it up to heredity and hormones.

    I have guilt issues as well, but I actually read a book several years back called “Getting Past Guilt.” I still feel guilty but not nearly as bad as I once did. There are some thing that are always nagging at me though.

    In some ways you might kinda be my bloggie soul mate, haha.

  • 6. mom  |  July 7, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    #2 – you need to give that up – you don’t want to be “just like your mom” – I have too many faults! And you won’t ever let me down. “I’ll love you for always, my baby you’ll be”….#6 All I can say is I’m soooo sorry. I wish I hadn’t given that to you! #7 DITTO!!!! and P.S… YOUR GREEN JEANS WERE ROCKIN’! 🙂

  • 7. molly  |  July 8, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    I am VERY excited about this! 🙂

  • 8. Aunt Bonnie  |  July 8, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Okay…..so the “tryin to measure up”….Your mom is right…..give it up! I went through too many years of trying to please everyone and not wanting to let anyone down. Not good. Gives you headaches……#6. Obviously, it’s familial:)
    #7 HELP! Been havin’ trouble with this and sometimes blame my severe ADD. Sheesh! Good thing God is a loving God and we are saved by His grace and NOT our feeble attempts. BUT….at least we make the attempt!

  • 9. Candi  |  July 8, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Could you have tmj? I have tmj and have been having headaches lately.

    I have guilt issues too. In some aspects I’ve gotten better about it, while in others…not so much. I’m Catholic, this could be why too. We have major guilt lol

    Congrats on your award 🙂

  • 10. Gabby  |  July 8, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    My love language is Words of Affirmation, too! My hubs is Acts of Service and Quality time. Man, it is so weird how true that book is, I even read the ones for kids, spot on!

    Don’t be afraid to have those kiddos, it is a scary world, but you know what, God is bigger. I have to trust him more every day the more I think about the world stuff, but I know that He will work things out for the good of those who love Him.

    I totally think I have a brain tumor whenever I have just about any kind of head thing. Headache, tight neck, swollen lymph node, you name it, My husband banned me from looking up ailments on the internet. He says I diagnose myself as worse case each time!

  • 11. Rachel  |  July 8, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Everyone has guilt Chel…I think that’s common. Also, to forewarn you, I think guilt gets worse when you’re a mother. Something to look forward to! 🙂

    The Love Languages is one of my favs…. I’m pretty sure physical touch is one of the top love languages for every male who’s read the book, isn’t? 😉

    I’m confused about number 10… last time I checked, you were an amazing scrapbooker.

  • 12. osarah  |  July 9, 2009 at 2:21 am

    Yay! I loved reading this, Chelsea!

    I harshly judge people who don’t write thank you notes.

    I laughed, because I do this as well. I received an email thank you note the other day for a wedding gift and thought, is that it?! (I hope it’s not! We both know mail received via USPS is much more meaningful.)

    Also, I loved your comment about being punished for wearing green jeans. It reminded me of my purple jeans. I often wore them with a purple, lime green and black plaid flannel blouse. Dear gosh, what was I thinking?! (In my defense, it was the early 90s and maybe this sort of thing was semi cool??? No? Ok, then.)

    One more thing, I wish I was a more punctual person. I try. Really, I do, but if I’m ever late to meet you guys, I apologize in advance. Chances are, though, if I’m with John, we won’t be late. He cannot stand to be late.

  • 13. Stephenie  |  July 9, 2009 at 11:15 am

    I am with d.a.r. its like you read my mind! Especially about having friends older than you and feeling awkard in the presence of people your own age. Simply put, lets just say I can relate to you on every description! I am right there with you when it comes to my relationship with the lord. I hate to mention this, but since Makenzies death I have wanted nothing more than to rebuild my relationship with Him. I miss looking forward to chapel services (HS chapel), and all the songs, just having that pure innocent relationship with Him. I have recently become re-addicted to KSBJ and “the message” (xm radio- its a must have if you dont have it) I have to say Christian music has come a long way. Its nice to know someone other than myself thinks so in depth on so many differnt topics/levels.

  • 14. Big W-D  |  July 9, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    #3: I had some pretty negative opinions about “kids these days” too… then I started meeting some of the teenagers at our church. They do some stupid stuff (like write on their jeans and listen to goofy music) but they’re pretty good kids. As long as they have good parents and good adults looking out for them they seem to turn out OK. You should sit in on their bible study one Sunday and see for yourself!

  • 15. Mandy  |  July 11, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    Okay….so, if it weren’t for the fact that my writing skills are mediocre at best…I would think I had written this blog!

    #’s 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 10 apply to me. Except for the dancing on #10…I’ve been English Country Dancing for the last couple of months and I love it!

    I panic about my relationship w/the Lord more than anything. I know I am saved and that he loves me regardless of whatever silly decisions I make. But, I feel like I owe him more and that I fall short in my devotion to him and his word (which or course is true for all of us…the thing is, that he still loves and understands us). So, I too have taken to carrying my bible in my purse…no, seriously, lol.

  • 16. shanna  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    i don’t want to be political or offend anyone but there was one sentence in your blog that bothered me. in the same sentence you said you don’t want your children growing up where gay marriage is normal yet a few words later you also say you don’t want them to grow up in a world where Christianity is the religion for uptight people who cant accept others. i know its not word for word but that is among other things that you wrote. what upsets me about this (and a lot of Christians now a days) is that you contradicted exactly what you were trying to say. gay marriage is happening. i don’t believe you have agree with it, but all sins are equal, and if we all have faith in Jesus Christ, and ask forgiveness, we will be with Him in Heaven. right?

    there are many things in life that we do not agree with and we have the right to our opinion as well as our right to voice (or as you do, blog/write) our opinion. im not saying your wrong or trying to bash you, im just coming in from a different perspective as a Christian as well, and maybe shed light that love is love and i think God wants everyone to love each other. while that does not need to be taken literally, i do think it does mean we can love who ever we want. we have the freedom. disagreements will always exist in this life, but once were with Him in Heaven, nothing on this life will matter anymore, so im just trying to say, take a step back, gay marriage is new and strange and a “sin”. who wants to live their life finding the sin in the world? gay marriage means more loving in the world more happiness (no pun intended :)) if there is more love,and no physical harm being done, why is it so wrong to let every person on this earth enjoy their life and do their best to live it the best they can so they can enjoy Heaven once and for all.

  • 17. shanna  |  July 13, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    try the book

    “what God really says about homosexuality”

    my christian therapist recommended it to me when i was struggling with being christian and gay. it helps alot.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

