There’s No Place Like Home…

July 9, 2009 at 9:13 am 8 comments

…except when your AC goes out. Then there is no place like your parents’ home around the corner!

I’m very tempted, but I’m not going to tell you the story about how Stephen didn’t call me when he left work yesterday. I won’t tell you about how I couldn’t get ahold of him via cell phone, text, or email. I won’t tell you that he didn’t call me when he got home (to our unoccupied house) or when he decided to go for a run or when he got back from the run. I won’t tell you that I was freaking out and was thisclose to calling his mom and discussing a search and rescue plan to find him. I won’t tell you that it was 8:10 before I heard his voice. Why won’t I tell you all of that? Because he apologized. He was really busy being a man that he didn’t realize how scary it was for me. But I think he realizes now. And he has promised never to do that to me again. So I’m not going to tell you all about it because, really, it’s in the past… and we shouldn’t dwell on it. I love you Stephen!

So, moving on. Last night marked Night #4 of our stay in the Rosen Haven guest room. Which also means that it marked Night #4 of a bad night’s sleep. Actually, we are at Night #6 since we were out of town last weekend. It’s not that these beds are uncomfortable or anything, I just don’t do well in beds that aren’t mine. So I am unbelievably tired, and that’s a bummer.

But there are some positives to staying at my parents’ house all week. First of all, I get to see them and my sister. Although I haven’t seen them much because they are quite social and don’t stay still very long. The times they have been home, though, have been enjoyable. I already had dinners planned and defrosted so I’m just making them over there. Unfortunately I didn’t go to the grocery store on Sunday so breakfast and lunch isn’t planned. The good side of that? I’ve been having Panera Bread bagels for breakfast. Also, Rookie has had a playdate all week. Her and Molly are probably going to get sick of each other!

So really, it hasn’t been all bad. Sure, living out a a suitcase isn’t ideal. And I’m sure there are tons of things we could be doing at home. And my dad is probably tired of me stealing the remote to watch “Chopped” and “America’s Funniest Home Videos” while he wants to be watching the Tour de France but is too polite to ask me to change. But all that is bearable, right Dad?

Now, as I’m thinking about it, I have gone full circle. Because the worst part really is the bed. We just aren’t used to sleeping in a smaller bed. Stephen is a heater. And I hate to be touched. So if you put us in a bed together, we need a buffer zone. Romantic, huh? In our big king I can’t feel his body heat. I can’t feel him moving around. If he breathes heavily, I can’t feel it on my side of the bed.

The first night we were in bed, I realized that this was going to be a problem. It takes me a looong time to fall asleep. It’s a long process, and if it gets interrupted, I have to start over. It’s awful. So we are laying there and all of a sudden I feel bounce….bounce….bounce.

C – What the heck is that? What are you doing?
S – Sorry, I’m bouncing my leg.
C – Okay, why?
S – Because my rib hurts.
C – (crickets) …bouncing your leg on the bed helps your rib not hurt?
S – Well not really. But it distracts me. (long pause) I’ll stop.

The AC guy is finally coming today. We are hoping it’s a quick fix and we’ll be back in our house tonight. Mostly, I’m hoping to be back in my big bed with a buffer zone tonight. I’m not sure I can’t handle this much longer!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Family, Rookie, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Oh Dear 101 Progress Update

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pippy  |  July 9, 2009 at 10:19 am

    You’re right! We should be friends!
    I love your blog btw. I will keep you posted on my scrapbooking efforts, but I will admit I am slightly jealous that you have a whole scrapbooking room!

  • 2. Jimbo  |  July 9, 2009 at 10:40 am

    This situation is Reason #73 it’s good to live in the same town with your parents even after getting married.

  • 3. molly  |  July 9, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I rarely take study breaks anymore…3 weeks away is just too close to be doing anything BUT studying. I do have to tell you though, Miss Chelsea, I adore reading this blog. It’s one of the few non-studying things I do everyday. I hope you become blog famous and I can say I “knew” you when…

  • 4. Ashley  |  July 9, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    haha, I had no idea the leg and rib were connected! I hope the AC guy works his magic!

  • 5. Jill  |  July 9, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Hahah laughing about the bed thing (definitely not the AC because I’d be dying). We have a King Bed, which I LOVE, but my husband likes to be close to me. I should say he did, until the last few years when I suddenly became a heater. I’m not kidding you–sometimes I wake up sweating (gross, sorry) and he says I “emit heat” when I’m sleeping. So when we visit family…yeah, the beds are a problem! I’m all “get off me!” and he’s all “But I’ve got no where to go!”

    On the brighter side, I’m sure your parents are enjoying having you do dinners and having you there🙂

  • 6. Rachel  |  July 9, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Andrew is what I call a human furnace. After Caden I all of a sudden started getting really cold at night but I still want to solve that with blankets, not sweaty man furnaces. Amazingly enough, even with human furnace status, he is still a cover hog. I have to keep my own comforter in order to insure I will stay warm, no matter the season.
    Also, I thought 21 years of a twin bed would get me ready for staying on “my side”… but it didn’t. Instead I’ve figured out a way to sprawl out over a good 3/4 of a king bed. My favorite sleeping position resembles a belly flop in the middle of the bed which Andrew has to roll me out of when he gets home late from work. I put up with his snoring though, so don’t pity him.🙂

  • 7. Big W-D  |  July 9, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    It’s partly my fault – I had big news for Stephen when I came by, then we did the Houston Death Run. He didn’t look too good after the fifth lap. Sorry!

  • 8. osarah  |  July 10, 2009 at 9:21 am

    #1 – I love hearing y’alls random conversations. This was another funny one!

    #2 – I’m jealous of your king size bed. I don’t like cuddling at night, because I get too hot (sort of similar to you).

    #3 – I hope your AC got fixed!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

