The Umpteenth Wonder of the World

July 14, 2009 at 9:47 am 7 comments

I’m not feeling very creative today. I have a headache that is really wanting to turn into a migraine. I feel like if I take the time to think about what to write, I’ll anger it! I do have a quick story for you though.

On Saturday afternoon, Stephen and I spent some time on the beach in Galveston. Stephen ventured off into the waters to crash into a few waves. I laid on a giant towel and started reading a Chick Lit book. I got 4 pages and 83 f-words into it and decided it wasn’t worth my time because I already knew how the book would end. So I people watched. Eventually Stephen made his way back to our spot and started playing in the sand.

We were sitting pretty close to the water in the sand that is damp and moldable. He began constructing a dome. A hollow dome. With each part he completed, he got more and more giddy. His goal was to make it look like a mound of sand that a kid would want to kick. Once the kid kicked it, he’d be shocked that it’s hollow.

Just picturing it made Stephen chuckle.

I admired his commitment to the project. It was no small feat. Rome wasn’t built in a day, you know. But my stomach was growling and I was ready to pack it up.

C – Stephen are you about ready? I’m getting hungry and we need to clean up before we get dinner.
S – Yeah. Almost. Just give me one more second… I want to make sure this looks really appetizing!

We have no idea if a kid kicked the hollow dome. We did see an old man walk by and look at it as we were leaving. But I don’t think that’s the important part. So let’s take the moral of the story. The important thing is the journey. Stephen exercised his creativity and was proud of his work.

So I should do the same right? Even if I don’t get a quality post, I should still write… right?!

Yeah, probably not.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Galveston, Stephen. Tags: , , .

Bloggers Annonymous Only One of Us Thinks This is Cool

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  July 14, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I’m interested to know which book you put down after 83 f-bombs. Didn’t you feel guilty? Oh wait…that book I sent you must be helping… 😉

  • 2. Chelsea Hurst  |  July 14, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Yes I did feel guilty!! That’s why I put it down. I can’t handle it!

  • 3. Ashley  |  July 14, 2009 at 11:01 am

    haha, I love that he wanted to make it appetizing! I can totally see The Boyfriend doing something like that.

  • 4. Pippy  |  July 14, 2009 at 11:15 am

    I hate headaches that you can tell want to become migraines. Grab a coke & snickers bar. That usually helps me. Or an excedrine…..lol

  • 5. mom  |  July 14, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    toooo many good books out there to waste your time on yucky ones! Good for you Chelsea – do I sound like your mom????

  • 6. Jimbo  |  July 14, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Hehehe…love the hollow dome! Incidentally, I was walking on campus (at a school that shall not be named) one time with a friend who saw a Sprite can sitting on the ground and thought it would be a great idea to kick it…except it was full. Needless to say, we both ended up with Sprite on us!

  • 7. The Husband  |  July 14, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I enjoy sand, it makes me happy!

    Also I could have sworn that old fart was going to stomp on it! I put a face on top of the dome to make someone see it, notice it, and step on it and I pray that that happened…it would be glorious…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

