Only One of Us Thinks This is Cool

July 15, 2009 at 8:46 am 17 comments

I remember the day my parents made the change from a mini-van to a suburban. They were excited to get rid of the green van that was always missing the front, right hub cap. I’m not sure that my mom was thrilled to be driving something the size of a tank but she did it anyways. She’s a trooper.

We were hanging out at my grandparents’ house while my parents went car shopping. I remember it vividly. They pulled up in this shiny blue suburban. We ran out to see it. My dad gave us approximately 6.4 seconds to look at the car before he said, “Kids, look at this!” We walked over to him and looked at the piece of paper he was holding. I have no idea what that piece of paper actually was, but it had an important bit of information on it. It told us who the previous owner was. Clyde Drexler. Clyde The Glide Drexler. We were very familiar with Mr. Drexler. We’d watched plenty of Rockets games, he was a superstar in Houston.

Needless to say, we thought it was pretty cool. I’m sure I went to school and told all of my friends. Anytime his name came up, I would tell people that we have his old suburban. It was kind of my claim to fame.

So one time in 8th or 9th grade, I went to the circus with my a few of my friends. It was then that I had my first random celebrity sighting. It was him, The Glide himself, at the circus. He was with his wife and kids, fighting the crowds. We stared and I, naturally, reminded my friends of my connection with Clyde.

“Go tell him,” Rachel said.

I peed my pants a little when she said that. I don’t do well with public speaking. Clyde Drexler is public.

Just kidding about peeing my pants. But my heartrate was out of control.

“No! I’m not talking to him. He doesn’t care!” Although I’m not sure why he wouldn’t care. I sure cared. It was probably like the 3rd coolest thing that had ever happened to me. (Behind meeting Ken Griffey Jr. and being allowed to dye my own hair.)

“Well I’m going to tell him,” Brad said. And off we ran. Four teens dodging the crowd to talk to one of our favorite Rockets. I wasn’t sure how this was going to go down, but I knew I wanted to be there for it.

“Hey, excuse me. My friend has your old suburban!”

“Oh really? That’s neat,” he answers.

We all nod our head awkwardly… out of things to say.

Apparently he was used to nervous kids so he kept going, “The white one?”

“No.”

“Oh. The red one?”

“No.” Silence. Crap. How many suburbans has this guy had?? We didn’t give him the chance to keeping guessing, “The blue one.”

“Oh. Yeah. Good car.”

Silence.

“See ya.”

At which point we freaked out because Clyde Drexler talked to us. Soon after, we reflected on the fact that he really couldn’t care less that we had his old suburban. It was a sad day for me. It was quite a lightbulb… people don’t always thing things are cool, even though you do.

I experienced the opposite feeling yesterday.

One cool feature that WordPress has is a list of things people have googled to somehow end up on my blog. I have a lot of random things that often make me want to apologize to the searcher. No, I can’t help you find a “company that ships cheddar wurst” – I don’t really even know what a cheddar wurst is.

I normally get about 5-15 people each day searching for “Harry Potter’s  Scar.” Click here to see why they end up here. Apparently if you google it and look at the images, I’m the third one. It’s kind of annoying because these are counted in my stats but they aren’t really readers. I wish they’d just go away.

As you may or may not know, the newest Harry Potter movie came out last night. Apparently a prerequisite to seeing the movie is to know what Harry’s scar looks like. Monday I had 95 people search for this scar. Wow.

I told my friend Jim about this craziness. He thought it was pretty cool. In fact, his words were “AWESOME! What a world we live in…”

Okay, Jim thinks it’s cool. I guess I should just embrace it. When I got home from work last night, I wanted to show Stephen the numbers. I was not prepared for what we saw. On Tuesday, 1618 people searched for Harry Potter’s scar. (I am hoping this will settle down and the only reason it’s so bad is because all the HP nerds were dressing up for the midnight showing and needed to know how to draw Harry’s scar on their heads.)

July 14 on my line graph was almost a vertical line. “Wow, sure makes all the other days look insignificant.” You’re right Stephen.

This is not cool. Not cool at all.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family. Tags: , , , , .

The Umpteenth Wonder of the World Selfish Parenting

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  July 15, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Let’s just hope that all of the traffic doesn’t force WordPress to send you a nasty email saying: “Due to the exponential increase in traffic to your blog, we can no longer continue hosting Roots & Rings free of charge. We apologize for the inconvenience but must require you to pay us $58,348.29 annually for the continued use of the WordPress servers. Have a nice day.”

    I think that I’m impressed that Clyde Drexler owned a Suburban.

  • 2. osarah  |  July 15, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Wow! That’s a lot of hits. I remember the day our blog got around 400 and I was amazed (and sad at how it altered the graph).

    By the way, I had a similar experience for my first celebrity sighting of sorts – I was at the San Francsico Steakhouse and the person at the host stand in front of us told the hostess they were there for the Spurs Chirstmas party. I got so excited, becuase I figured David Robinson would be there. Instead of eating with my family, I sat out in the lobby waiting and waiting. I saw Sean Eilliot, Vinny Del Negro, and many other Spurs but didn’t want their autograph. I was just waiting for David Robinson. When he walked in, I started shaking and (of course) my hands got sweaty. I asked for his autograph, and he was really nice! He joked with me – I think trying to get me to relax – and signed my paper. I still remember the PEN I had him sign with. That was a big moment in my childhood! David Robinson! I love/loved him!!!

  • 3. HoustonGurly  |  July 15, 2009 at 10:11 am

    I’ve not come close to very many hits… I think the most I’ve received in one day is like 10. lol

  • 4. Elisa  |  July 15, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    very enjoyable read! I love kid memories…

  • 5. kelly  |  July 15, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    clyde’s burb treated us very well all the way to colorado and back..including getting pulled over by officer patty cakes.

  • 6. cassie  |  July 15, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I’m so glad you’re doing the 101 in 1001. Is your list posted somewhere?

  • 7. Jill  |  July 15, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I’m going to make a scar on myself somewhere and blog about so I can get some cool hits! hehe j/k

  • 8. Ginger  |  July 15, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Cheddar Wursts are awesome! They’re like bratwursts with cheese in them.

  • 9. smile steady  |  July 15, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    hahaha… that is hilarious. Why do I feel the sudden urge to google the infamous scar now?

  • 10. Ashley  |  July 15, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I was thinking the same thing as “smile steady” — I really had the urge to google the scar!

  • 11. Rachel  |  July 15, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Do I remember the story??? I have a scar from that night! We felt pretty stupid after that encounter. I always feel famous when I make your blog. 🙂

  • 12. The Husband  |  July 15, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I’ve known Chelsea for 4 years now and I’ve never heard of this story! Clyde Drexler is cool and I’m sad I never got to see the blue suburban… \8^(

  • 13. mom  |  July 16, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Woo Hoo for that blue suburban!!! (If memory serves me right, we WERE NOT in the market for a suburban when we went car shopping that day) It had many memories in it and now has moved on to some of our favorite people (The Starks) and hopefully many good travel memories are being made again. WOO HOO EVEN MORE FOR MY SMALL CAR!!!!!! 🙂

  • 14. Debbie  |  July 16, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    hahaha…this is awesome!

    and quite fankly, im jealous you guys had a car owned by Clyde Drexler! i would have been telling anyone with ears! 🙂

  • 15. Debbie  |  July 16, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    btw- I added your blog to my page so I can easily keep up with you…love your stuff! hope its okay! 🙂

  • 16. Jen  |  July 17, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    So the other week I was on 59 and guess who was in the lane next to me in a Bentley?? That’s ride Clyde the Glide himself…and naturally I think of the burb and this story! 🙂

  • 17. Rachel  |  July 17, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    But the question is, Jen: Did you hit your head on the window as you went to look at him? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

