Does Anyone Know How to Make Lemonade?

July 20, 2009 at 9:34 am 17 comments

The end of last week was rough. A few things combined to make Stephen and I want to throw in the towel and just stay in bed for a month eating junk food and watching crappy television. I’m not sure why that would solve any of our problems. It would probably just help us ignore them. Or, more accurately, it’ll allow us to wallow in our misfortune. Oh, woe is me… my car battery died.

Actually, a few of the things troubling us were worth a bit of wallowing.

We know that part of being a young married couple with a house means that things go wrong, we will be poor, we are slaves to our jobs, and things aren’t really “how we planned.” It’s very easy to feel sorry for yourself in this state. So Stephen wallowed a bit at home. And I wallowed a bit in Galveston. By Saturday night we were feeling a little better about our situation. Not great, but a little bit better.

Start the violins, the “poor” chick is crying again.

So I managed to cheer myself up a bit, which is an incredible feat considering the fact that my hormones would rather I start a big fuss about everything. You know what they say… when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. So I decided to be productive last night. I started cleaning out my closet, gathered a big box of books to sell to Half Price, worked on laundry, made dinner, grocery shopped, wrote some cards, etc. etc. etc. Basically, I was being awesome.

Then at about 10:30 I went to go change the laundry so my robe would be dry in the morning and all of a sudden I realized, I clearly don’t know how to make lemonade. There, where my washed clothes should have been, was a lemon. It looked more like a washing machine that had broken in mid-cycle and was full of soap, water, towels, and my robe… but you and I both know it was actually a lemon.

So how do you make lemonade without even more random lemons showing up around your life? Maybe my recipe skipped a step? Maybe I didn’t make a big enough batch? I’m not sure. But if I don’t figure it out soon, you may find me in bed eating a bag of chocolate chips and watching marathons of Bridezilla and Keeping up With the Kardashians.

Please don’t let that happen.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Galveston, Hurst Castle, Stephen. Tags: , , , .

(Not a) 101 Progress Update Word Count: 582, Quality Count: 0

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  July 20, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Ahh Chelsea!! I’m sorry😦 My washing machine crapped out on me too, right around New Year’s. We’d just gotten back from visiting family so of course there were a ton of dirty clothes. I later find out that it was my fault…the guy said “Has someone been kneeling or standing on the washer?” I’m like…ugh….that’d be me…I dropped something behind the washer and I was trying to get it, and apparently I broke the “lid switch” that tells the washer to get goin, the lid is closed. Hopefully it will be an easy fix and not too $$.

    On the other hand–good for you for being so productive last night. I wish I could get some of that in my system!!

  • 2. Jimbo  |  July 20, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Ugh, “when it rains, it pours” comes to mind. The wallowing is never worth it! I always just feel worse with more to do at the end of it. On behalf of your fellow “poor” home-owners, keep the faith.

  • 3. DebbieQ  |  July 20, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Oh I understand!!! Ask how I handled the recent septic system crisis. On second thought don’t ask, it wasn’t pretty. Much wailing and gnashing of teeth and acting out that was Biblical in it’s proportions.

    My favorite phrase at the moment, that I seem to utter much more than I would like is “It is what it is”.

  • 4. HoustonGurly  |  July 20, 2009 at 11:25 am

    That sucks! I know what you mean when you’re trying your hardest to stay positive and things just keep going wrong. Just remember to keep the faith. God wouldn’t bring you to it if he couldn’t get you through it.

    Everything happens for a reason! (Even the sucky stuff.) We wouldn’t appreciate our blessings as much if we didn’t have bad things happen every now and again.

    Take a deep breath, load those clothes up and take them to the nearest laundr-o-mat if you have to (or your parent’s house). Either way, there IS a way and you WILL get through this little bump in the road. 🙂

  • 5. Veronica  |  July 20, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Ahh! what a bummer. the things Jake and I have to look forward to!

  • 6. Ashley  |  July 20, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Breathe in. Breathe Out. Let it go.

    I hope today will start a LONG streak of great, super things!

  • 7. osarah  |  July 20, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Ugh. I know how that feels. It’s so frustrating. We have had our fair share of that going on as well. So if you do decide to wallow, maybe we can co-wallow. (I had to say that because it sounded funnier than “wallow together.”)

  • 8. mastroianni66  |  July 20, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I’ve been stuck in a perpetual state of being poor and a slave to my job pretty much since 1996. The really unfair thing is that both my wife and I are highly educated, and I don’t even do what I’d really like to do because I can make more money doing what I hate… if that makes any sense.

    Sorry about the washing machine. The best thing to do about that is complain about it to everyone you see. Mine broke last year and I was lucky enough to whine about it to a person who’d just upgraded theirs. I got their old one for $50 and it works just fine.

  • 9. tiphanyb  |  July 20, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Ingredients

    * 2 cups sugar
    * 1 cup hot water
    * 2 cups fresh lemon juice
    * cold water

    Directions

    In a 1 gallon container, place sugar and hot water, and stir until sugar dissolves. Add lemon juice and cold water to render 1 gallon. Stir until well mixed. Pour lemonade over glasses of ice. Add vodka to taste.

    Hope it gets better! 🙂

  • 10. Kristin  |  July 20, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    I’ve been in your spot lately! Chocolate chip cookies are an awfully good substitute for lemonade. Cheer up. : )

  • 11. The Husband  |  July 20, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    What a time we live in to understand that everything takes constant maintenance. After this weekend, I fully understand now how needed is a day of rest, not work at home, but rest by doing what relaxes you and brings you back to being refreshed.

  • 12. Marissa  |  July 20, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Chocolate chips + TV sound like just what you need!

  • 13. Lisa Hendricks  |  July 21, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Oh, dear Chelsea. We all have those times, some worse than others. One time, when I was in my 20s, my transmission in my car went out (only 30,000 miles). I proceeded to get in bed with my clothes on and cover up my head in the middle of the day. It helped! A friend of mine told me that sometimes it is ok to just wallow in the “poor me” stage. You will get tired of it sooner than you think and move on!
    Love you bunches.

  • 14. Debbie  |  July 21, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    bless your heart….poor things!!! when it rains it sure pours!! well the good news is (knock on wood) it cant get much worse! ha🙂

  • 15. Debbie  |  July 21, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    and, stupid houses!! they always create problems and more work then you imagine when you sign all the paperwork for your fairytale house experience!

  • 16. Rachel  |  July 22, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    DON’T WATCH Keeping Up with the Kardasians!!! Those girls are loaded and DUMB, you’ll just be amazed that they have so much money and think they need to donate money to you. Or at least that’s how I feel after watching it.

  • 17. Rachel  |  July 22, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Here’s some lemonade… You have a dad and a husband who can fix those sort of things. If you had to pay someone else it would probably cost you double. Yea for handy dads and husbands!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

