Word Count: 582, Quality Count: 0

July 21, 2009 at 10:14 am 11 comments

So this is the deal. I have nothing to tell you today. Nothing at all.

Stephen and I were going to go get ice cream from Baskin Robins last night with our monthly Buy One Get One Free coupons but those plans got postponed since he and my dad were too busy tearing apart our washing machine. My dad came over to take a look. Approximately .672 seconds after he looked at it he realized the problem was not with the lid clicky thing and that was what he was counting on. “Well, I’m out of advice…” So they unscrewed some things and checked out some wires and did something with some fancy contraption that makes a beeping sound when something happens. And after all of that, they think they found the problem. Stephen will get the replacement part tonight and see if he can work his magic.

Then maybe we can go to Baskin Robins and I’ll have some funny story to tell you about how Stephen ate a super rich ice cream cone even though he’s semi lactose intolerant and ate too much fiber cereal for breakfast and spent the rest of the night rolled into a ball screaming with stomach pains. (I say this so that it won’t come true. I’m pretty superstitious like that.)

Or maybe tonight I’ll Shred with Jillian and have something entertaining to tell you about how I’m about ready to punch her in the face for using words like “phone it in” or “I’d do just about anything for those abs”… Or about how annoyed I am that the chick on the left works out with her hair down. Who does that? (Besides Helen from the pink team… remember her? Ugh.)

Thanks to all of my blog and real life friends for your words of encouragement yesterday. I loved your comments and emails. We’ve all been in these sticky situations and it’s nice to have a few people around to tell you that sometimes you have to try harder to make lemonade. Sometimes you don’t actually have lemons, you have oranges. And sometimes you just need to add some vodka to make your lemonade taste better. Blog friends are great.

This weekend I was at Bella Rose with Lauren and her friend from Canada. My brother stopped by to help my dad fix a few things. As I was introducing them, Justin asked, “How do yall know each other?” This is where things get awkward to non-bloggers. “Well, um, Lauren is my blog friend. And I don’t actually know Corlene.”

His face was priceless. “Blog friend?? O…kay.” If he only knew. It’s a twisted little world we all live in. And I love every minute of it!

I’ve thrown this out there before and I usually get two or three tidbits of good advice. For days like this, when my life is dull and I have nothing to tell you, what do you want to hear? Are there any questions you have? Like… Is Stephen really that fun? (Yes.) Does he care that you write about him so much? (No. He likes it.) Does he even read? (Yes, everyday. Our marriage depends on it. Not really. But he does read.) Etc.

Additionally, I have a hilariously sarcastic friend who has decided that he wants to be my guest writer the next time I’m out of town. This is intriguing to me. I’m thinking this could open up a whole new world of fun here. Thoughts?

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Galveston, Marriage, Rainy Day, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

Does Anyone Know How to Make Lemonade? They’re Not In Texas Anymore

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osarah  |  July 21, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I liked this post even though you had “nothing” to write about.

    My sister ask me that “how do you know each other” question with regard to a blogger friend, and I wanted to avoid the awkwardness, so I didn’t exactly tell the whole truth…oops.

  • 2. Caroline  |  July 21, 2009 at 11:52 am

    This was hilarious! I couldn’t stop laughing. What Jillian workout do you do? And I could never work out with my hair down. I’d die. Working out is UGLY!!!!! Also, who works out in long sleeves and long pants?

  • 3. DebbieQ  |  July 21, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I am so glad that there is someone else for whom the whole “Helen working out with her hair down” issue is aggravating. It used to make me crazy.

    And sometimes, going to get Baskin Robbins ice cream can be the absolute highlight of the day.

  • 4. Jimbo  |  July 21, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I think you should ABSOLUTELY have a guest writer when you’re out of town! See, I don’t think it’s weird about “blog friends” once you’ve physically met each other. I would be more embarrassed to talk about my blog friends who (or whom…can never remember that rule) I have not yet met.

  • 5. Ashley  |  July 21, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I hope the washer makes it and you get your ice cream — I don’t do well without my ice cream!

    The Boyfriend laughs everytime I mention a blog friend.

    Guest writers are fun!

  • 6. HoustonGurly  |  July 21, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I need a guest writer… Maybe my blog would be more interesting! lol

  • 7. Jennifer  |  July 21, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    So when you buy the at home exercise tapes, do you actually use them? I have an elliptical in my living room and I prefer to look at it and pay a lot of money to use one at the gym.. Is that just me?

    Also, happy early anniversary in case I forget later on which is likely..🙂

  • 8. Debbie  |  July 21, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    I’m totally on your page about people working out with their hair down….it would make me CRINGE everytime I saw Helen on BL!! Seriously, when you’re sweating that much and your hair is plastered to the sides of your head and neck…PUT IT UP!! okay, I feel better, ha.

    I also love the blogger friend comment. I always read Kelly’s Korner and since we both have babies about a month apart, I refer to her and Harper a lot when I talk to my hubby. Sometimes I’m like “this girl I know..” or “my friend with the little baby girl..” then I realize we’re just blog friends and I don’t really say it like that to my hubby, ha. oh well🙂

  • 9. Lauren From Texas  |  July 21, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    BFF. Blog Friends 4EV. Let’s get tattoos.

  • 10. Matt  |  July 21, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    lol blog friends. wait, are you a blog friend of mine?

    loved this post. i was totally able to visualize your dad’s facial expression.

  • 11. Rachel  |  July 22, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    There was this show about nothing… I think it became a big hit… It was almost as good as Friends. Don’t tell Justin I said that. Maybe you’re on that track.
    PS- I can TOTALLY see his face and hear his tone when he said that.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

