Seven Quick Takes (vol.1)

August 7, 2009 at 9:45 am 20 comments

One of my favorite bloggers, DebbieQ, does this each Friday. It’s very similar to my Rainy Day posts, but it looks like you’re intentionally writing 7 random things… instead of making a list of random crap because you can’t come up with anything better. I’m not sure that I’ll be doing this every Friday since I’m not very reliable, but I’m going to give it a go!

7_quick_takes

1
I have a message for all companies that aren’t NASA. We, here in Houston, don’t think it’s clever when your ads say space related things. We think it’s dumb. You aren’t the first person to do this, you aren’t inventive. Inserting your product into “Houston, we have a _______” is stupid. So so stupid. And McDonalds, please pull the ads that say “HOUSTON: The Angus Has Landed.” Seriously. We don’t read those ads and think, “Wow. McDonalds really understands us! They are really speaking our language…” You look like an idiot. Please stop.

2
Just in case anyone is keeping score in the Who Has The Best Husband contest, you can stop counting now. Mine wins. Not only did he clean the heck out of the kitchen last night, but my hubby snuck a card in my purse this morning for me to find at work. And for those of you who know him, you know that he writes fantastic cards! You don’t get to see what he wrote but you can see the card he picked out… The front says “hello :)”

card

Have I mentioned that my love languages are Acts of Service and Words of Affirmation?? My love cup is full!

3
At what age do the tiny fly-aways go away. When my hair is in a ponytail, I look like I’ve been electrocuted. I have these bits of hair around my face that don’t seem to grow. I don’t know what to do about them. I have a half curl on the left side so not only does it stick out, but it curls a bits. It’s awful. I feel like I’m already paying my “bad hair dues” since I’m 24 and have gray hair. Isn’t that enough God???

4
Dear Mariah and Eminem,

We don’t care.

Love,
Chelsea

5
I seriously think I have carpal tunnel. Or something like that. My right hand ring finger and pinky are almost always in pain. They often tingle. Sometimes the pain shoots all the way up to my elbow. By the end of the day, I want to cut my arm off. I’m not really sure what to do about this. And please don’t say “get off the computer” because that’s really not an option. And I really don’t think the appropriate answer is “take a few ibuprofen” because I’m really not into taking 2 pills, three times a day for the rest of my life. Does anyone have any real advice?

6
I was sort of curious if there would be any hospitalizations or deaths after yesterday’s Twitter issues. Seems like these people have become surgically attached to their iPhones and Blackberries. I don’t understand Twitter. It’s annoying. I wish there was a way that I could tell facebook to filter out the crappy tweets. Please don’t tell me what people are eating, where they are driving, when they are going to bed, what they are saying to other Tweeters, and other things with “@” or “#” in it. Seriously people. There is such thing as privacy… and that’s saying a lot coming from me. You guys know a lot about me but you don’t know everything… trust me.

I’ve said this before I will probably have to say it again – Just because I hate Twitter, does not mean I hate you. (It just means that I honestly couldn’t care less what you JUST did and what you are ABOUT to do. And please don’t refer to your friends as @_____. Use their names!)

Ugh!

7
I’m copying DebbieQ’s #7. I am also attached to my planner. It is always in my purse. I am VERY picky about the planner that I use. I have found that I am already in need of a 2010 planner. I have a sticky note in the back of my 2009 planner for 2010 events. It’s full. I am having a bit of anxiety about the planner that I just ordered because I’ve never seen it in real life. I must’ve been drunk because normal, sober Chelsea would NEVER commit to a planner without holding it, turning it’s pages, testing the size and paper quality, and holding it up against me in the mirror. I hope I don’t regret this decision. Stay tuned.

There you go. There are 7 things you could have lived without knowing. Except #2. (Stephen really is great.) Hmm, also, I think you needed to know number 1… and 5… and 6. And really, Mariah and Eminem… really.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Rainy Day Thoughts The Great Debate

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kelly  |  August 7, 2009 at 9:59 am

    your hand hurts bc of how you sit at your desk! the pain actually comes from your shoulder…if you feel around you will find a really sensitive knot on the back of your right shoulder. you should be sitting close enough to your computer that you don’t have to reach to get to your keyboard/mouse. you’re wrists should also be exactly level with the keyboard….they call this “neutral position”. no, im not a nerd…we just have ergo ppl that come yell at us at work from time to time. i used to hate it, but now i’m very glad!

    see you in a few hours!

  • 2. osarah  |  August 7, 2009 at 10:11 am

    2 – How sweet!🙂

    3 – I have those too…I just use hairspray and forget about the rest. The little pieces by my ears have frustrated me for years. I give up now.

    5 – I get that too sometimes. I think it’s some sort of arthritis. I don’t have any good advice, though.

    6 – So what exactly happened? Did the service just go down?

  • 3. Mom  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:05 am

    YEA FOR STEPHEN!!!! What a wonderful husband….keep it up – it gets harder to do – but keep it up! (Remember when wife/mom is happy, everyone is happy!)

  • 4. Caroline  |  August 7, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I love the letter to Eminem and Mariah. I just ignore them as well as hundreds of other celebrities that I do not deem worthy of acknowledgement. I have my list of celebs I “stalk”.

  • 5. Rachel  |  August 7, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    The fly aways don’t leave by 26.5 years old…. They might leave when you get a traditional “mom” haircut. If you try that solution please let me know how it pans out… and take pictures.

  • 6. Sarah Johnson  |  August 7, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I’m totally going to steal this, for my blog. I guess it’s not really “stealing” but you are SUPER BLOGGER in my life, so I’m imitating you. “When I grow up in the blogging world, I want to be like Chelsea.”

    1. Yeah, it’s kinda like the whole “Everything is bigger in Texas” gah- be original.

    2. High five for Stephen!

    3. I got bangs cut, but not short ones, just ones that I have to pin back when my hair isn’t down, but long enough to go behind my ears when my hair is in a ponytail.

    5. I have a hand cast thing I wear because I have carpal tunnel symptoms, too. My Mom had the surgery. Dumb computer…

    6. I love Twitter- and do not take offense to your hatred toward it. Jim hates it too.

    7. I love planners- but I now use my iPhone which allows me to color code. I may get a small one to keep handy.

  • 7. Chère  |  August 7, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    What a fun post! And how sweet of your husband!🙂 I’m on Twitter, both personally and for my blog. I’m kind of over it for the most part and only use it when I’m bored or to get in touch with certain people.
    I love my planner. Love.

  • 8. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  August 7, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Oh, those flyaways. I’m considering having the little baby-hairs that grow straight out of my forehead just plain old WAXED off. I hate them so. A couple of years ago, I grew bangs hoping that would cover them up, and it did. But then I got hair-amnesia and thought the fly-aways would be grown out by now. Alas. They are immortal. I’m not even sure waxing would work. They’re tricky little buggers. (Wait, that reminds me of boogers…)

  • 9. Debbie  |  August 7, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    how thoughtful of Stephen! i love little cards and notes like that, so sweet.

    3. i’ll let you know when i find out. it’s riDONKulous…and annoying.

    @6. Twitter is retarded. Is it not just 24/7 facebook status updates. seriously. get over it people.

    7. im obsessed with planners and calendars!! i have different colored pens to color code events in it. yep, its a disease.

  • 10. timlinzrowland  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    Seriously number 4 cracked me up. And just a few tips on the fly aways (coming from a hairstylist) try using a styling creme that is for curly hair (I love Redken’s Align and Aveda’s Hang straight….a little goes along way on both of those products) . It will help smooth them out and help lay them down. Also if they are reallly just driving you crazy, try cutting long swoopy bangs. The new hair will blend right in and you won’t see them. Also anything with Silicon in it is G.R.E.A.T. for frizz, fly aways and it protects the hair from any damage from Thermal styling (curling irons, blow dryers ect…) A few great ones to try: Biosilk’s silk Therapy, Joico’s KPak Color therapy restorative styling oil. oh and one more thing, if you turn your head upside down to dry it… it will be almost impossible to get the new hair to lay down. Try drying them flat to your head. Hope this helps🙂

  • 11. DebbieQ  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Welcome to the Quick Takes cult….um I mean club.

    #2 – well now I don’t know about that. HHBL is pretty awesome around here. But I must say that Stephen earns HUGE husband points for the card in the purse. He sets the bar high. And the cleaning the kitchen thing is rather excellent.

    #4 – In total agreement.

    #6 – I don’t even want to know what I do minute by minute throughout the day so why should anyone else! I am a boring dork I can tell you. Missed the whole Twitter and FB being down yesterday because I was wedding dress shopping with #2 progeny.

    P.S. Your socks are next up in the “sock queue”.

  • 12. Darla Baerg  |  August 7, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Have you seen the Chick Fil A cow in a space suit by the Galleria? I almost got in a wreck reading the sign and of course it was another space reference.

    Hadn’t seen the McDonalds signs yet!

  • 13. Pharmgirl  |  August 7, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I totally agree with you about Twitter! I don’t need to know every single thing every single one of my friends is doing at every minute!

  • 14. Ashley  |  August 7, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    What a sweet husband! I couldn’t stop laughing reading #1… you just totally crushed some marketing persons “great” idea.

  • 15. Big W-D  |  August 7, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    #1: Amen sister.

  • 16. Ginger  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Wearing wrist guards (like, for rollerblading) helps stabilize your wrists. That’s sort of a cheap help that you might use.

  • 17. Jill  |  August 9, 2009 at 12:21 am

    What the crap, 2010?! You are obviously way cooler than I, because the only thing I have planned for 2010 is paying my mortgage. And I don’t even know yet what day that’s gonna be due…so anyways. Tell us what all this fun stuff is you got planned for 2010. You could devote a blog post to that!

  • 18. Mary Kate  |  August 10, 2009 at 12:15 am

    1. I know! Its like “I live in Houston! I know that NASA exists. Be original!” I drive past NASA everyday and don’t really think about it.
    2. That is SO cute. I hope when I get married, my husband is that sweet. My mom used to write notes for me on napkins and put them in my lunch. Now I get notes on the counter when I wake up that say “The dishwasher needs emptying. Love Mom”
    3. I think that they are cute and fun. I call them baby hairs. Although I have always wondered why they dont seem to grow? That really has bugged me.
    4. So true!
    I pay not attention to twitter I pretend it doesnt exist.
    7. You and your sister and your planners. ay yi yi. Its ok, I always buy a planner and plan how i am going to use it. then i forget about it and lose it😦

  • 19. Amber Warren  |  August 10, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Totally agree about Twitter, how inane are most of the tweets on there! The Houston thing is hilarious – I had no idea but it doesn’t surprise me. All the I’m-trying-really-hard-to-be-funnylocal Utah messaging gets annoying too. How many times can you advertise beer in an offensive way to Mormons? You’d be surprised at what they come up with. Anyway, I had that same terrible pain in my left ring finger. I got a mouse. and then I started holding my position up better (like they taught me in computer class in 5th grade), and stopped popping my fingers, and it got better.

  • 20. Taryn Estell  |  August 10, 2009 at 11:18 am

    1. those ads annoy me, even though i don’t live in houston anymore!
    2. Lucky dog🙂
    3. the fly aways don’t go away at 31, either. I have found that “Dirt” by Jonathon product (that guy from the Bravo show Blow-out) works really well. They also now have “silky dirt” which is a little easier to manage and comes in a tube.
    4. Might as well add Lindsey Lohan and Jon & Kate to this list.
    5. Try alternating hot and cold packs on your wrist at night. Also, buy one of the sqooshy wrist supports for your desk. Feels weird at first, but they really really work. I also keep neoprene slip-on wrist supports in my desk drawer for when they’re really bothering me.
    6. I HATE twitter.
    7. I, too, am addicted to a planner. However, I have recently moved everything over to my cell phone, as it has Outlook. I can update everything in my calendar through my computer and, voila!, it’s all updated on my phone, too. Love it!🙂 don’t ask me what happens when my phone croaks. i may not survive the catastrophe!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

