The Great Debate

August 10, 2009 at 9:37 am 21 comments

There are so many issues that we, as a country, cannot agree on. Things that are personal and effect us to our very core if someone disagrees. Relationships have ended, friendships have broken. But we all know that there are some issues we have to hold tight to. And we don’t apologize for these opinions. They are just way too important. Where do you stand on these?

Creamy or crunchy?

SUV or car?

Baseball players: Socks up or socks down?

Coke or Pepsi?

Edward or Jacob?

Dogs or cats?

Yankees or Sox?

Backstreet Boys or N’Sync?
…what? Nobody argues over that anymore?

Bud or Miller?

Paper or plastic?

Aniston or Jolie?

The list goes on and on. For the record, here is where I stand on these issues… Creamy, SUV, Socks Up, Dr. Pepper, Edward, Dogs, old school Yankees (Now? Neither. I’m an equal opportunity hater), Backstreet Boys, Bud, Cloth (with an occasional plastic so Stephen can use them for lunch boxes), Aniston.

I’m sorry if our friendship cannot survive this. It’s who I am. I do not apologize for this.

But over the weekend I discovered that there is a debate that may never be resolved. Even on a personal level. After going in circles on the topic, I got so frustrated with myself that I spent $7.25 on a another Bud Light to settle my mind. I’m curious about your opinion.

The Topic: Greatest George Strait Song.

It’s hard, I know. Over the weekend I was lucky enough to go to the George Strait concert. On the way there, Lyndsey and I were discussing our favorite song. Each time we thought we had it figured out, another song would come on the radio and we’d change our mind. I don’t think we are the only people who suffer from this inability to make a decision. He’s.just.so.good! So so good.

In case you were wondering, the concert was fabulous. He didn’t sing a few songs that I wish he’d sung, but I guess when you have 48297 #1 hits, you can’t please everyone. But I was never displeased. Example:

Lyndsey: I’m going to go to the bathroom right now because I don’t like this song.
Chelsea: I’m sorry… what?
Lyndsey: I’m going to go to the bathroom right now because this song isn’t my favorite.

Her second statement is much more accurate. There are a few of his songs that I don’t prefer, but I would never be such an idiot to say that I don’t like them.

Lyndsey decided her favorite was The Chair. Excellent choice, my friend. I don’t know a whole lot about music but typically, isn’t there something called a chorus, refrain, verse, etc? This song has none of those. I think. It’s just a story… A wonderful, make-your-heart-flutter story. But a story nonetheless. But George can do that. He’s The King.

So after hours of deliberation, I finally chose a favorite. I feel good knowing that it was the first song that came to mind when I first started trying to pick. My favorite is Cheyenne. It’s a beautiful song. And while I’m not a cowgirl and may not understand a rider’s mentality, I think it’s a great picture of a cowboy’s (not so) conflicted love for his lifestyle. “I’m sorry it’s come down to this. There’s so much about you that I’m going to miss. But it’s alright, baby. If I hurry I can still make Cheyenne.” Love it. Love it. Love it!

What about you? Can you decide? I tried a new fancy poll. But I only included 8 songs. Weigh in. If your song isn’t there, add it in the comments. And if it is there, go ahead and vote and then tell me why it’s your favorite. I’m so very curious!!

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Nights Out. Tags: , , , , .

Seven Quick Takes (vol.1) I Feel Sorry For You

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  August 10, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I cannot vote because you put “Carrying Your Love With Me” twice.

  • 2. Chelsea Hurst  |  August 10, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Okay, changed it! Maybe that’s my favorite!!

  • 3. Lauren From Texas  |  August 10, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I cannot vote because I literally just can’t. Like I go to punch one and I feel such conflict my stomach turns. I am that passionate about George.

    Besides, I can’t trust your judgement, because you forgot:
    “She’ll Leave You with a Smile,”
    “I Saw God Today,”
    “Write This Down,”
    or
    “The Fireman.”

    So, sorry. Plus you listed “Carrying Your Love With Me” twice. PLUS you went to the concert without me.

  • 4. Lyndsey  |  August 10, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I also had this conversation with my parents. Neither of them could decide on a favorite either. I think “I just want to dance with you” was discussed as a possibility and of course “baby blue”

    “Troubadour” never came up at all 🙂

    Great Post!!!!!!!!

  • 5. HoustonGurly  |  August 10, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Out of those, I have to pick Baby Blue… I sing it out loud every time I hear it!

    However, my absolute FAVORITE is, ‘I Cross My Heart’.

    It was the song my husband sang to me when he proposed and it was the first song we danced to at our wedding. It is our song. 🙂

  • 6. Jill  |  August 10, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Ok, I’m conflicted. George has some good ones!!

  • 7. Lindsay  |  August 10, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Creamy
    SUV
    Socks up..the only TRUE way to wear a uniform.
    Neither–I hate both Coke and Pepsi
    JACOB!
    Dogs
    Sox
    Backstreet Boys.
    Bud..hands down
    Plastic, simply for the convenience of it
    Aniston

    Also. I couldn’t do your poll. It was an even tie between Baby Blue and Cheyenne. I looked at it for about 3 minutes and was so conflicted I knew I could not make a decision. You don’t have my favorite. It’s CLEAR BLUE SKY! I love it. But Baby Blue and Cheyenne are VERY VERY VERY close seconds!

  • 8. Spotty Prep  |  August 10, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Cross my heart!!

  • 9. Darla  |  August 10, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Oh wait…I voted for Amarillo by Morning but just remembered “Cross my heart” which is really my favorite. 🙂

  • 10. jaybub11  |  August 10, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Write This Down is actually probably my favorite, but I voted for All My Ex’s Live in Texas because I was just singing that song the other day and realized how truly awesome it is.

  • 11. Aunt Bonnie  |  August 10, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Now, come on, Chels. There is no way I can vote for a favorite GEORGE song. I’ve tried and tried many times before to think this out with other folks. No luck…..to many dang good ones to choose from. However, one that pulls at my heart strings is, “Let’s Fall to Pieces”. No, it isn’t one of his best, nor my favorite. But….I can’t help remembering Dave( 3 or 4 yrs. old) standing in his seat at the Astrodome singing along with George, not missing a word. That was Dave’s favorite and he could really smaltz it up good:)
    I listened to the entire box set on the way to Houston, trying to pick a favorit. Only decided which ones weren’t:)

  • 12. Caroline  |  August 10, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I like “All My Exes Live in Texas”. Maybe it’s because that is the only song I know. Oops!

  • 13. Maureen  |  August 10, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Love, Love, Love George Strait, and my favorite is Amarillo by Morning!, as for the rest of the poll…

    creamy pb
    suv
    no opinion on the socks
    coke
    edward
    dogs and cats equally
    no opinion on either team
    no opinion on either group
    miller
    cloth, and occasionally plastic
    aniston

  • 14. mom  |  August 10, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    voted for Amarillo but I really don’t have a fav…too many good ones. I DO love “Cross my Heart” – it makes me melt (of course I loved “Pure Country” – even though he isn’t an actor!) Also, The Chair, I Saw God Today, Write This Down, You Look So Good in Love, Marina Del Rey…..oh well, I’ll just stop now! 🙂
    The others: creamy, car, socks up, coke but prefer Dr. Pepper if I”m having a soft drink, Edward, dogs, of course (Molly in particular), neither team, neither group, Bud Light Lime (if I have to drink beer), cloth or paper and neither.

  • 15. Matt  |  August 10, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Looks like I’m carryin the load for Oceanfront Property so far, although I feel as if I’ve committed treason by not voting for Amarillo by Morning.

    Neither

    Truck

    If I can’t see your socks while you’re on the field you’re doing it wrong

    Coke

    I have no clue who Edward and Jacob are

    Dogs

    Bo Sox

    New Kids on the Block. Are they still around?

    Lone Star

    Whatever they give me

    Aniston. Bowchickabowow.

  • 16. Sarah Johnson  |  August 10, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Creamy, SUV, Socks up, Dr. Pepper, neither Edward nor Jacob, Dogs, Texas Rangers, N’Sync, Dr. Pepper again (I don’t drink beer), reusable shopping bags, and Aniston.

    I definitely voted for BABY BLUE, although this poll was hard- my dad used to always tell me I had baby blue eyes!

  • 17. Kristin  |  August 11, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Socks up hands down. The hubs wore them that way. Yum. And I’m not a fan of the baggy pants either. Go Team Aniston. And of the options listed The Chair is my fav, but my all time fav is Carried Away. He puts on the BEST concert!

  • 18. Debbie  |  August 11, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    umm….CROSS MY HEART and Carried Away!!! love george though. everythings so good! and seriously, does that man age at all?! i dont think so! 🙂

    as for the rest…

    crunchy, SUV, down, DP, Edward, dogs, both can die, BB, BL lime, plastic b/c its easier to carry, and Aniston all the way.

  • 19. Ashley  |  August 12, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I can’t pick just one… and I hate you for going to the concert!

  • 20. Rachel  |  August 13, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I Cross my Heart…. And as I sit watching Twilight for the first time (disappointed because they ruined the book) I have to say… Edward.

  • 21. Mandy  |  August 22, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Terribly late with my answers, but just because I’m a new reader. 🙂

    Creamy
    Car
    Socks up (I guess… I never really paid much attention to baseball players’ socks…)
    Pepsi
    Edward or Jacob? Maybe it’s just too early in the morning, but I don’t quite get this one…
    Dogs – definitely dogs
    Braves
    N’Sync
    Not a drinker, so I can’t choose.
    I prefer cloth, but always forget to bring them with me so I end up with plastic.
    Aniston

    The song is a hard question to answer… I grew up hearing “Amarillo,” and it is very possibly my favorite, but whenever I heard it, I also would hear “You Look So Good In Love” and “Let’s Fall to Pieces Together.” So it’s more of a toss up between those three, but I think I lean towards Amarillo.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

