I Feel Sorry For You

August 11, 2009 at 9:42 am 21 comments

Not all of you. But some of you.

I feel sorry for all of you that don’t live in Texas. I just can’t imagine.

We have so much pride here. Being a Texan is an identity. It’s a calling. It’s a blessing on our lives. We don’t take it for granted that God has put us in this great state. Every Texan that has moved has always said, “But I’ll be back.”

The truth is that we love it here. We love the views and sunsets and beaches. We love the fact that you can drive all day and still be on Texas soil. We love that no matter where we go, if we run into another Texan, we’re instantly bonded. We love that we can claim people like Matthew McConaughey, Sandra Bullock, Janis Joplin, Nolan Ryan, George Strait, Tommy Lee Jones, Luke and Owen Wilson, Steve Martin, Ron White, Beyonce, Roger Clemens (although we may not really want to claim him anymore), and I could go on and on.

We have the hill country, ranches, the Mexican border (and consequently, the most amazing Tex-Mex food you’ll ever bite into). We have rivers, lakes, and beaches. We have NASA, The University of Texas, the Houston Medical Center, and so many brilliant people in one concentrated area. We have our own brand of music. All of our colleges have hand signs. We have countless Texas songs that we learn as children.

I don’t ever want to leave this state. For all of you non-Texans that say “What’s the big deal?” that is exactly why I don’t want to leave. I don’t ever want to live in a state where 5 year olds don’t know the state song, bird, flower, capital, and tree. (Texas Our Texas, Mocking Bird, Bluebonnet, Austin, Pecan.) Did you know the state gem is Texas Blue Topaz? Did you know that my birthstone is Topaz? Coincidence? I think not.

I don’t ever want to live in a state where it’s not common to see people with button downs designed to look like their state flag.

tx shirt

I didn’t say it was recommended. I just said it was common.

Listen, I could go on and on. But I won’t. Ironically, my “I love Texas” post is going to be one of the shortest I’ve written. But I think I’ve made my point. We have so much to offer. We have cattle and city life. We have hot women and men in Wranglers. We have big trucks and big hair. We have deep rooted friendships and polite men.

But most importantly, we have this guy…

that guy

Entry filed under: Chelsea, UT. Tags: , .

The Great Debate Not On Our Side

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mastroianni66  |  August 11, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I think I know that guy.

  • 2. Ashley Brenstein  |  August 11, 2009 at 10:16 am

    i LOVE texas. when i went to college station a group of us ran into a guy from new jersey. it was his first time to be in texas.

    NJ guy: “you know i didn’t get it before when i’d hear don’t mess with texas. but i get it now. it’s HUGE. don’t mess with mother f***ing texas.”

    seriously this is a great state. how many other states get to constantly brag about how we were once our own country?

  • 3. Caroline  |  August 11, 2009 at 10:27 am

    I guess it’s a Texas thing!! I love how you included Beyonce. Have you seen “Obsessed”? Good movie.

  • 4. DebbieQ  |  August 11, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Ummmm, excuse me but I must have missed you mentioning Baylor as an excellent reason to love Texas. I am sure that it was just an oversight on your part…..right?

  • 5. Lyndsey  |  August 11, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    When a nameless Texan guy friend saw my Texas license plates, he said “well there is at least one thing still respectable about you.”

  • 6. HoustonGurly  |  August 11, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Yay, Chelsea! Or should I say, “Yee-haw!”

    I love Texas and never want to be anywhere else. 🙂

  • 7. mom  |  August 11, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Amen

  • 8. Debbie  |  August 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    uh heck yes to this post!!!! where’s the like button?! 🙂

    i love love love Texas. you cant explain the phenom to others…you just have to live here and experience it yourself.

    amazing post, as usual, my friend.

  • 9. Debbie  |  August 11, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    ps- pat green should be included in the wonderful things about texas. love that man!

  • 10. Maureen  |  August 11, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Amen!!! I didn’t need to leave Texas to live in California to know how much I loved it. I remember driving through California and looking at all the beautiful mountains, then the next week coming to Texas and driving from Austin to College Station and thinking that California had nothing on Texas landscape. Texas is just the absolute best! When we moved back, I had my Tanya Tucker cd on as loud as it would go… “When I die, I may not go to heaven, I don’t know if they let cowboys in. If they don’t, just let me go to Texas, Boy! Texas is as close as I’ve been!”

  • 11. Jimbo  |  August 11, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I thought and thought and thought about all the funny comments I could make in response to this post. But, you know what, this topic is too important to belittle with my irreverence.

    TX=Awesomeness.

    TX also has Chuck Norris btw.

  • 12. Kristin  |  August 11, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    When I lived there I saw a dude walking around with a F*ck you! I’m from Texas! shirt. Ah ha

  • 13. Lisa Hendricks  |  August 11, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Once again, you have said it beautifully, Chelsea. You KNOW you are Texan if you read this blog and know exactly what Chelsea is talking about.
    Love you bunches.

  • 14. Lindsay  |  August 12, 2009 at 12:10 am

    YEAH! Missouri sucks. I’ll definitely back to Texas once i graduate!!!

    I feel sorry for the people I go to school with because almost all of them have never experienced the wonder that is the state of Texas.

  • 15. Ashley  |  August 12, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I feel like I’m missing something… I’ve never been to Texas — unless you count the airport which I didn’t leave…

  • 16. Taryn Estell  |  August 12, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Hellooooo? Dr. Pepper and Blue Bell! 🙂

  • 17. This Heavenly Life  |  August 12, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Now, if Missouri had a shirt…could we join the club of cool states? Hmmm…I know we have bluebirds and dogwood trees, but that’s where my knowledge ends. *sigh* Maybe when we grow up we can walk in Texas’ footsteps 🙂

    My brother lived in TX for a few years and he goes back whenever he gets a chance – no reason needed. Just, it’s Texas. Why wouldn’t he go?

  • 18. Rachel  |  August 13, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Um, Lindsey… Missouri does not suck. St. Joe… maybe… but not the whole state. Spend a weekend at Lake of the Ozarks… you might change your mind. Not enough to convince you to stay away from TX though, I’ll give you that.

  • 19. Rachel  |  August 13, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    And yes, I feel sorry for me too, Chel.

  • 20. Jessica  |  August 14, 2009 at 9:04 am

    You know, I think that College Station has been mentioned enough in the comments for me to say that A&M is also a good reason to love Texas. I would have said it anyways, but I have a more legit reason now. I know you’re a Longhorn, but I gotta represent.

  • 21. Jen the Newlywed  |  August 26, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Texas, our Texas, all hail the mighty state!!! 🙂 I love Texas too. I don’t ever want to leave…. and it gets cold here in the month of February so we do in fact have seasons…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

