Seven Quick Takes (vol.2)

August 14, 2009 at 9:46 am 21 comments

I’m back for round 2. I got quite a few comments last week so I’m assuming yall like an occasional random post. Works for me! FYI- you can click on this picture and it’ll take you to a list of other people who take part in 7 Quick Takes. You know, in case you need even more randomness on you Friday.

7_quick_takes

1.
This has been a weird week.. insurancely speaking. First there was the awful Dear John letter. Only it was Dear Chelsea and Stephen. And it was Love, Nationwide. That’s getting settled, by the way. No worries. On Wednesday I got a call from my sister-in-law. They are in the process of changing their homeowner’s insurance as well. I don’t know the full details but either the old insurance company or the new one asked her “Is Chelsea Rosenhagen still living with you? If not, we need proof of new residency and we’ll need to get her off of you policy.” Umm… what?! I’ve never lived with my sister-in-law. Or my brother. I’ve never had my name on any homeowner’s insurance policy before Stephen and I bought Hurst Castle. And Chelsea Rosenhagen hasn’t been my name in over two years. So very, very weird. We can’t figure it out.

2.
I got my laptop. (It’s the Acer Aspire Timeline, 14.1″… because I know you’ll ask.) So anyways, that means I started my book. It’s hard. Really, really hard. I’m sure there is some method for writing books that is more advanced than mine. I use the method where you have no idea what is going to happen. You just write, delete, write, eat chocolate, backspace, have some wine, write, stare, moan, write, save, etc. I’ll let you know how it works out for me.

Stephen walked in to the formal living room where I had set up shop and said, “So are you going to be known as that writer who drinks wine and eats M&M’s for her best ideas?” I can think of worse things to be known for.

3.
Remember Sophie? Here’s another picture.

sophie

From what I can understand, she’s trying to chew off her thumb so that her daddy doesn’t make her be an Aggie. They are a house divided and she so desperately wants to be a Longhorn that she seems to be going to extreme measures.

4.
I’d very much like to curl up in a comfy chair with a good book and a cup of coffee. Bonus points if it’s raining.

5.
So, yeah. To answer all of the comments from yesterday. Yes I have gray hair. No, it’s not my entire head. But there are quite a few in there. Many a time people will say, “No! You don’t have gray hair.” Then I bend my hair down and tell them to look closer. “Where? OH! Oh my gosh. That’s like, a lot. Wow.” Yeah. It’s not that I’m opposed to gray hair, I’m just opposed to gray hair at the age of 24. It started a few years ago. Seriously, who starts going gray at 21? Me. That’s who. I’m still convinced that I’m actually older than my parents say I am. Here’s a post from a long time ago that tells you why.

6.
I’m having some horrible lower back pain and lower abdomen pain. It started subtly a few days ago but this morning it’s pretty painful. I am SO SO SO hoping that I don’t have another cyst. I’ll give it about 2 days and if it doesn’t go away, I’m going to the doctor. I don’t tell you this for sympathy or concern. I tell you this because it is one of the 7 random things on my mind. I’m not too worried. I have random ailments all the time. They usually amount to nothing.

7.
I can’t stand Nickleback, Coldplay, or Shania Twain. And 90% of the time I can’t stand Beyonce.

That is all.

I hope everyone has a great weekend and you come back on Monday to tell me all about it. I will have a wonderful weekend assuming that this pain isn’t actually a cyst that is going to rupture.

Entry filed under: Chelsea, Rainy Day. Tags: , .

Sunday Nights with Bob Saget I Will Sleep When I’m Done With This Post

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lyndsey  |  August 14, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I like the randomness.

  • 2. Aunt Bonnie  |  August 14, 2009 at 10:34 am

    She hasn’t chewed it off yet!

  • 3. DebbieQ  |  August 14, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I believe that all the best writers eat M&Ms and drink wine. Chocolate and red wine are good for the brain.

  • 4. Kelly  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    #4 sounds really, really good right now. Happy Friday!

  • 5. HoustonGurly  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    I agree with Kelly… #4 is what I’ve been wanting to do for a while.

  • 6. Pam  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    That is a seriously cute baby! Good luck on the book!

  • 7. Joy  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Hi
    Thank you for stopping by and for your kind comments. Lovely blog and post. I totally agree with #4.

    BTW I had the great honor of also living in Houston during my husband’s residency. We still eight years later miss some of the restaurants.

  • 8. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Ugh, Nickelback. Sounds like the guy’s having trouble passing an extra difficlul bowel movement while singing. And this sells?

    I think if I were ever to write a book, I’d follow your example. They say there are things like trade books and helpful writers’ forums, but I’m pretty sure that’s too much work. I just wanna write, yo!

    I have many many gray hairs on my head that have been there for many many years and I’m only….what…27? Yes that’s right. I’m only now starting to get frustrated when people point it out at close range. Makes me want to point out their snaggled nose hairs or something. Have they no sense of tact?

    Hope you’re feeling better soon 🙂

  • 9. Caroline  |  August 14, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I hate Beyonce 90% of the time too. I like her music when it first comes out, but after that…no more.

    I think your best ideas come from wine and M&M’s. Isn’t that how it is??

    And I hope you feel better. Go to the doc!!!

  • 10. timlinzrowland  |  August 14, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    hey I am so sorry to hear about your pain but i can totally sympathize with you!! I too get cysts and they are no fun at all and hurt like the devil. I found out a year ago I have polycysic ovary syndrome and so therefore I am prone to having them! Good luck, I hope it isn’t a cyst!

  • 11. Ashley  |  August 14, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I totally have gray hair too (thanks Mom!) I’m glad I’m not the only one, although I hate to wish that on anyone!

  • 12. Jill  |  August 14, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I really hope you feel better. I had a cyst once and it was horrible pain! I might have told you that already…if so forgive me! haha The only person I want to know if I have grey hairs is my hairdresser, and I tell her to only tell me when I ask, LOL.

  • 13. Rachel  |  August 14, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    We all need a little random Chelsea to close out the week… At least that’s what I think. I don’t think it’s so random… but maybe that’s because I’m just as random as you.

  • 14. Kim  |  August 14, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    ummmmm….yeah…I would have to agree with you on Sophie’s thumb sucking….
    I tried to do the two-finger-Longhorn-suck…like David used to do, but it didn’t work…thumb was better…

  • 15. angie  |  August 14, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    my mom was telling me about her own woes with insurance seems everyones is going up

  • 16. Mandy  |  August 14, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    I feel your pain…I started going gray at 22 and my count is up to about 10 gray hairs…NOT COOL. The most annoying part is that I color it and two days later..they’re gray again!

    And…I am also attempting to write a book (empasis on attempting). I however prefer the angry, brooding writer approach. You know, the kind that gets rid of a guest bedroom to create “her mood” for writing…but really I just read other writers in that room, lol.

  • 17. Debbie  |  August 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    ughhhhh…..i have cysts too. worst. pain. ever. im so sorry. totally feel ur pain! hopefully that’s not what it is!

    nickelback drives me CRAAAAZY!!!! cant stand that guy and his grunty singing!

  • 18. rachelheather  |  August 16, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    i’m with you on nickelback, shania twain, and beyonce, but you don’t like coldplay!? why ever not?

  • 19. mastroianni66  |  August 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    You’ll love that Acer.

  • 20. mastroianni66  |  August 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Also, good luck with the novel.

  • 21. Heather  |  August 18, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    You’re writing a book?! How exciting! Am I going to have a famous sister-in-law some day?

    Also, Shania Twain is awesome—don’t hate

    Second also, I have gray hair too—it’s sad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

