Do You Have Any Thoughts or Feelings?

August 20, 2009 at 9:17 am 29 comments

My friend Kelly sucks at making decisions. I say this in the most endearing way. I love her to death, but she couldn’t make a decision if her life depended on it. I may or may not mean that in a literal way. I don’t think she’s ever been in a situation where her life depended on her making a decision. But I imagine that if a masked man came up to her in the street and told her that he wanted to know her absolute favorite restaurant, or he’d kill her… she may prefer a quick death over the stressful deliberation of coming up with an answer. She knows this about herself. She’ll say, “Oh no. Please don’t ask me. I can’t decide! Oh please no!” It causes her some emotional turmoil. So she either avoids the issue altogether or she asks someone to decide for her. We all do this to some degree.

We consult people who we think would know better, whether it be your mom, your spouse, your best friend, or Cosmo. My friends Jim and Sarah needed to figure out why their washing machine stopped working. They consulted Roots & Rings and got their answer! Last night I needed to cook a very large amount of chicken breasts. I’ve poached chicken many times before, but never in this quantity. I wasn’t quite sure how it would work. I consulted Google. Google came to my rescue.

Lyndsey always says that she hates it when men don’t have thoughts and feelings. You don’t have to have a thought or feeling about everything, but you must have them about something. As a woman, there is nothing more frustrating than talking to a man and his only reply being “Oh.” But since the majority of you are women, I know you have thoughts and feelings. Look at this picture.

 CG Girls

See that tall girl? The one with the ponytail and the terrible flyaways and the shiny face and demon eyes? Yeah, that’s me. I had eaten a burger, chips, had a beer, and played a couple hours of Catch Phrase. That takes a toll on a girl!

Lay off.

Let me introduce you to the others. Go all the way to the right. See the teeny tiny beautiful girl in the gray? That’s Christine. Next is Sarah. She’s the one that was visiting from Germany. She apparently has something she needs to tell me. I think it’s that they decided that they don’t want to buy property in San Antonio since we don’t live there. And let’s face it, life without the Hursts is no life at all. So she wants to tell me that she and her husband have made an offer on a house in our neighborhood. Fantastic news Sarah! Okay, next is me. Then Veronica. Look how cute that shirt is!

Look at Veronica’s hair. Ignore that little piece going across her forehead. That’s not meant to be there. Thank you to the men taking the photo for telling her about it… Come on guys! But look at the rest of her hair. Cute huh? Should I do that? And yes, I know Christine’s hair is super cute too, but I’m not doing that. Her bangs are way too complicated for someone who likes to sleep in. They look amazing on her but she’s not lazy. And Sarah and I have the same ponytailed hair. Only hers is much better because she doesn’t look like she’s just been electrocuted.  

I’m getting tired of my plain ponytail. But I don’t know what to do. I’m thinking I want some side swoopy bangs. But do I keep my hair long? Or do I cut it?

I’m a bit nervous when it comes to hair. I used to be of the mentality that “Oh! It grows back!” but then I had a traumatic experience. I grew up going to the same woman. When I was a little girl, I’d go with my mom to the salon. I’d get a trim and then as my mom was getting her hair cut, I’d sweep the floors. I continued going to this woman throughout my life. Even when I was off at college, I’d wait until I was coming home to get my hair cut. But then my world came crashing down. I went in for a trim. I had semi-long hair with a few long layers. Just a trim. Maybe two or three inches please. I came out with bangs. Disgusting bangs that a 5 year old would do to herself while she was going through a curious stage. It was horrible. Awful. Disgusting. I cried. And I never went back to that woman again. That was about 4 years ago. I haven’t found a new person since.

So that’s why I’m coming to you for help. I can’t just go in to my lady and say “You know my hair. You know my style. I trust you.” like I used to. Because, quite honestly, I don’t trust anyone anymore. Well that’s not entirely true. I trust you. So please please please help me. I’m not normally bad at decisions but I just can’t do this by myself.

Share your thoughts and feelings. Puh-lease! And if you live in Houston and have a lady that you SWEAR won’t give me five year old bangs, give me her name. Be careful with your recommendations though because if I come out with something bad, you will be held responsible.

Entry filed under: Chelsea. Tags: , , .

Are You Cooler Than a High Schooler? Seven Quick Takes (vol.3)

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  August 20, 2009 at 9:31 am

    That woman just cut my hair and I LOVE it! Also, I think you should go for some layers AND whatever bangs you want… then go for short hair.. ease your way into it.

  • 2. kelly  |  August 20, 2009 at 9:40 am

    oooo…the bangs. i remember those. go for some side swoop bangs…i have curly hair and i’m attempting to try them. they just aren’t quiet swooping all the way yet…i think you have to train your hair to go in your face when you’ve been pushing it out of your face your whole life. take a picture in you like. i think side swoop bangs would make your pony tail really sassy.

  • 3. Debbie  |  August 20, 2009 at 9:58 am

    with your long and lean physique some long swoop bangs would be…well, bangin! 😉

    but you sound like me. i’d go with mid-cut with layers, having the shortest layer be about shoulder length? yeah, im just throwing stuff out there. random things because i dont want to be held responsible!

    although, ive gone to the same hairdresser for 10 years now, if you ever come up to ft worth i would gladly give you her name. 🙂

  • 4. mastroianni66  |  August 20, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Seeing as how the whole 1980’s fashion trend is getting to the point of being completely played out I’m guessing that the 1990’s are going to come back any day now. Jump ahead of the trend and get yourself a Rachael.

  • 5. Samantha  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Ugh, I used to go to a lady who did the same thing – only it wasn’t a haircut. I wanted a “body wave” to give my hair a LITTLE BIT of curl and volume. Instead, I ended up with a full-blown perm. I’m talking Shirley Temple curls. Baaaaad. Plus, it damaged my hair. I’m still trying to nurse it back to health. I never went back to her, but since, I’ve never found anyone who I really like and trust with my hair.

    You really don’t look like you were electrocuted in that picture! Don’t be so hard on yourself. But I understand the want for a change. I think you should go for the side swoopy bangs, but still leave at least a medium length (and maybe add layers like others said) so you don’t feel traumatized all at once. If you like it and want to go shorter, you can always get it cut again.

  • 6. Jimbo  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Layers? Bangs? Are we talking about a 4th of July cake?

  • 7. Mandy  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Umm…I’m sorry. I’m missing the female gene that is really into hair styling. So, I can’t help you there…I do however think you’ll look fabulous, regardless of what you do 🙂

    I dont have problems with decision making. But I do have a fear of recommending people to friends and then having my people do a terrible job for my friend…so no recommendations here. Good luck with the hunt

  • 8. Caroline  |  August 20, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    I am finally growing my hair out. I desperately wanted a ponytail and now I have one. A few months ago, I was “bang raped”. It was awful. I understand your concern. Maybe get a few whispy layers. Bangs are high maintenance and I wish I didn’t have them, but they always get cut. I am sure you’ll look cute no matter what!

  • 9. Lyndsey  |  August 20, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I think you should do a long vicotoria beckham (the name of the acutal hairstyle is eluding me right now).

    I have bangs…. swoop ones in fact. Have you seen them? NOPE! Almost no one sees them.

    The reasons are three fold:
    1) I am lazy and don’t take the time to fix them
    2) It is hair in your face. All day. In your face.
    3) I can’t decide if they actually look good… and the end up looking so weird if I don’t check on them. So I am adding another neurotic behavior to my repertoire by checking them or touching them every 10 minutes.

    Those are my thoughts and feelings.

  • 10. Lauren From Texas  |  August 20, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    CUT IT OFF! I’ve gotten tons of hair cut off lots of times and it’s like shock therapy – you just have to do it. If you “ease” yourself into it, you’ll never get there. I’ll go with you and hold your hand.

    Or just do what everyone else is telling you to do. 9 against 1. (But the 1 is your BF4EV – don’t forget it.)

  • 11. SouthernBelleJm  |  August 20, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Ha! I wish had your take on shopping instead of mine. LOL=) I’d be a much richer woman. Well, a little more rich that is.

  • 12. Mom  |  August 20, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    you know what I would say – CUT IT!!! You are an adult and I think adult women look better with shorter hair – doesn’t have to be real short – but shorter for sure. And I am with Lyndsey on the swoop bangs theory. They just get in your face and they are a pain! ((You are a cutie pootie anyway you slice it, though!)

  • 13. Jimbo  |  August 20, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    I know it’s probably a violation of blog etiquette to comment twice on the same post but Mom’s post (hi Mrs. Rosenhagen!) was priceless. We can never get away from our parents’ cute names for us and, well, “cutie pootie” is one of my favorites! 🙂

  • 14. Christine  |  August 20, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    i will teach you how to do my side bangs. It is sooo simple.
    I think you should take the plunge and join V and I with short hair!

  • 15. The Husband  |  August 20, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Seeing how I get to look at Chelsea the most, I think there should be two opinions only on this matter: mine and mine.

    Since that’s cleared up, I’ll just say…Chelsea, we saw that one woman with that short hair-cut and I think you’d look great with it, but variety is key, so just because you get a short hair-cut doesn’t subscribe you for life with that style. Let it grow back out and style it as it goes, then cut it again!

    …seasonal like, you know?

  • 16. d.a.r.  |  August 20, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Cut it! It’s only hair 🙂

    And people without opinions drive me crazy. Probably because I am overly opinionated myself, ha!

  • 17. Rachel  |  August 20, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Hmm… Cut it. But nothing that is in your face all day. You’ll hate that. Or do whatever Stephen says… he does gets to look at you the most. 🙂

  • 18. Rachel  |  August 20, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Whatever you do, don’t tell someone you want to look like Demi, unless they know who she is… or let Phoebe cut your hair.

  • 19. Veronica  |  August 20, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Do it! Cut it short 🙂 You just gotta go in and tell them you want it short, but long enough to pull back in a little ponytail. And someone up there in your comments said to ease in…I say ease into the bangs and ask for them to make them long enough to tuck behind your ear so they’re not annoyingly in your face.

    and if only you lived in austin I would make you go to my lady I’ve been going to for the past 6 years. maybe you just need to move to Austin 😛

    oh and I look AWEFUL in that picture. i look like I’m hiding a big ole belly and my hair looks messy…you’re right, i can’t believe the boys didn’t point it out…i’m pretty sure Jake was even one of them taking a pic.

  • 20. Jill  |  August 20, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Girl I am SO NOT GOOD with major hair decisions. I am a big chicken. I wanted highlights forever before I got them, and I wanted my haircut in a certain style for at least a year before I bit the bullet. I maintained it for a little while, but now it is more of a grown out version. I am boring. Oh well.

  • 21. Eric  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    I didn’t notice V, or I would have told you! Chelsea, this blog post was hilarious btw.

    I say shop it off or do some really exaggerated layers if you want to keep it long. But ultimately, I guess it’s what Stephen wants right? 🙂

    Although…Christine wanted it short, and I wanted it long, but then I wanted what she wanted so………….help I’m trapped in a paradox!

  • 22. Mom  |  August 21, 2009 at 10:27 am

    commenting again…yea, for Stephen – I like the comment about variety and that this haircut isn’t for life! However, I also think you need to do what you want – not what Stephen wants or what anyone else wants cause it is YOUR hair and YOU have to mess with it daily. I mistakenly started my marriage with “what does he like” and it screwed me over for years! (Sorry Kurt, but it did) So….move on…do it YOUR way!!! (of course Stephen would want you to do it your way cause he only wants your happiness!) 🙂

  • 23. Mom  |  August 21, 2009 at 10:47 am

    oops..hi Jim! Hope you are doing well and yes I love that “cutie pootie” name too! (She is)

  • 24. Ashley  |  August 21, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Side bangs are way easier than you think… I love mine! Just start longer and work your way shorter once you get used to them.

    And guys have no attention to detail… it’s like they didn’t even notice the out of place hair. Or maybe I’m just the girl who when taking a strangers picture directs them on anything I find wrong… is that mean?

  • 25. Sarah @ This Heavenly Life  |  August 21, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Sorry, I heard you bashing that tall beautiful lady, and couldn’t get past it 🙂 You know, the one with an adorable outfit on, the sleek hair, the muscular shoulders, and glowing smile?

    I have no hair advice – I’m terrible with hair and fashion, so any decision you make will be stellar in my opinion. It may in reality look awful, but I would still think it was good 🙂

  • 26. Mandy L  |  August 22, 2009 at 6:30 am

    I think it really depends on how daring you are willing to be and how much you like change. A few years back, I decided that I wanted to donate to Locks of Love, so I went from long to short in a matter of seconds as the chick cut off my ponytail. I won’t lie – when I got home, I cried. But after a couple of days I got used to it. (I’ve always had to re-style after a haircut… no one knows your hair like you do).

    Since then, I grow it out, donate it and then grow it out again. Every time I do it, people gush over how they love it short and that I should keep it that way… but I like the cycle, and my hair usually grows out long enough in a year’s time, so I usually try to donate once a year. I think it’s fun. 🙂

  • 27. Kelly  |  August 22, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I love swoopy bangs! For about 11 days when they are the perfect length. Then forget it!

  • 28. Lindsey  |  August 25, 2009 at 7:54 am

    I am commenting late due to being so busy but coming from a hairstylist, I would go into in gradually. Maybe take a few inches off, have some fun choppy/ razored long layers and I think you should do a swoop bang that hits around your cheek bone. You really have a great face shape for lots of different styles. Try taking your length up to just below your shoulders. Look through many hairstyling magazines and find ones you like and ones you don’t like. Tell whoever cuts your hair what you like and what you don’t like. Some of us our great at reading minds and knowing what you want but then I can’t speak for everyone. WARNING…… speaking from experience cutting your hair can be addicting so you may want to start longer allowing you to change it up more in the near future. If you start with a shorter length then you won’t have as much to work with if you want to change it. Hope this helps you! Oh and as a side note…. my fave celebrity to copy cuts from is Jennifer Anniston. She has great cuts that would work great on you!

  • 29. Jen Halligan  |  August 26, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Hello! So I guess I am way behind on the blog reading! A few tips… 1. I’ve done the side bang…special blow drying, straightening, and hairspraying all leads to forever digging in your purse to find a bobby pin to get them out of your face! I now just blow dry my hair in my face and sweep in behind my ear to mimic bangs.
    2. I have a girl that I’ve been going to for a long time in Clear Lake, let me know if you want her name. She listens to you, I tell her how much time I spend getting ready and what I like to do and not like to do and I’ve always had a good cut with her.
    3. Good luck, new hair styles are always so tricky to find!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

