This Is What Happens When You Don’t Give Me What I Ask For

September 17, 2009 at 9:45 am 27 comments

I’m a planner. I keep lists and a very detailed planner. I have a meal plan hanging on my fridge. On Sunday afternoons I sit with my coupons, Kroger ad, and a cookbook and decide what we’ll be eating for the next 6 days. It helps me not be a crazy lady during the week. I know Stephen appreciates it. He doesn’t particularly like my crazy lady side.

I’m not sure if this is breaking some sort of blog etiquette but I also semi-plan my posts. As I grocery shop I’ll think, “Monday I’ll write about that thing that happened Friday night. Tuesday will be able the thing Stephen said. Wednesday is Biggest Loser. Not sure about Thursday yet. Friday is Quick Takes.” And then as I go about my business, I apply the things I’m experiencing to the things I planned to write. It helps me. Well remember last week when I wrote “Talent Show“?? (You can click that if you haven’t read it. It’s actually one of my favorite posts I’ve written.) At the end, I asked yall for two more words for my next challenge.

Here’s the problem. People suck at answering multiple questions. Think about it. How many times have you sent an email or text with two questions? You only ever get one of those answered. “Where do you want to go to lunch? What time should we meet?” The answer you’d get back would be, “Let’s go to Panera Bread.” The end. Do you see the problem? So when I asked you to leave me two words, very few of you did. Many of you had plenty to say about my jump roping experience and how cool I am. And while your comments were hilarious, that doesn’t help me today. Today is Thursday, the day I had mentally prepared to write a “two word challenge” post.

If you’d like to participate in next week’s challenge, leave two words in the comments today. But because you left me with nothing, you get this today. I saw it on another blog and thought it was fun.

I am thrilled that Lauren is a Biggest Loser lover after only one night and very few threats

I think every weekend should be a three day weekend. It makes me happier.

I have a lot of bruises on my legs from painting last weekend.

I wish I had the money to replace all of the floors in my house.

I hate talking on the phone.

I miss The Austin Stone Community Church and the people I met there.

I fear that I am going to get sunburned this weekend.

I hear that Kate Gosselin and Paula Dean are going to have a television show together. Seriously?? That’s dumb.

I smell the bathrooms across the hall from me. It’s as disgusting as it sounds.

I crave the chopped salad from Outback Steakhouse. And also Andes chocolates.

I search for blog material in all aspects of my life.

I wonder how Stephen and I will be able to afford kids.

I regret painting my hallway the pink/tan it’s painted.

I love being entertained by your comments. Seriously, you guys are funny!

I ache all the time.

I am not patient.

I believe in Jesus! I think He’s just swell!

I dance never.

I sing when I’m alone in my car or alone at home. That’s it.

I cry when I get overwhelmed. And sometimes when I have migraines that are so bad I’d rather die. And sometimes when I see something that fills me with joy.

I fight like a girl. Except I took Rape Aggression Defense class in 8th grade so I know a few moves. (Slap, grab, twist, and pull– know what that could mean?)

I won a guitar signed by Cross Canadian Ragweed in college. I should write about that sometime.

I lose sleep if I have anything on my mind.

I never watch Lost, American Idol, Dancing With The Stars, or Desperate Housewives. And look, I’m still alive and happy!

I always have Chapstick in my pocket.

I confuse people when I say that I love baseball but hate hot dogs. I really don’t know why people think they are so correlated. Why would my fantastic taste in sports be related to my taste buds despising tubed meat?

I listen to the Roula and Ryan show every morning. I used to listen to Pandora all day. I haven’t figured out my next game plan. Yesterday I kept the radio on but heard Black Eyed Peas 4 times.

I can usually be found wearing jeans and a t-shirt.

I am scared of knives, snakes, and losing family.

I need to sleep through the night. Just once. Please God. Puh-lease!

I am happy about the dining room table my mom bought us for $100 at a resale shop. Now if we could only find cheap chairs in the correct height…

I imagine what we’d do if we won the lottery. It makes me pretty excited!

I tag nobody. I’m not into forceful blogging. (Except forcing you to give me two words. These posts don’t just write themselves. Help a girl out!) But seriously, steal this if you want to.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Hurst Castle, Rainy Day, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

Loser Week 1: Jillian Needs to Wash Her #$*@% Mouth Out With Soap Seven Quick Takes (vol.7)

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  September 17, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I followed directions last week… just sayin’. So here they are again because I think it will truly be a test of your writing ability: Texas and sucks.

  • 2. Jill  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Here are your two words: “book” and “sprinkler”

    I agree about the two questions. I read this somewhere once before, with the suggestion that you basically “feed” the person…like “How’s Panera at 2 for lunch?” Of course I am not good at it…

  • 3. Jessica  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:45 am

    I wrote you a semi-long comment and wordpress then proceeded to delete it before I got a chance to post it. Although, I should take the majority of the blame for that seeing as how I am technologically challenged. I’ll do my best to recreate it and then it’ll be even longer because of this paragraph.

    I love talking on the phone! I used to hate it and still do in public places (because of all those military secrets I have and because I hate being the person on the bus who’s annoying everyone around them because they’re shouting out what they did on Northgate last night (sorry about the mini-rant)). When I cut down on texting my phone calls got a lot longer. It didn’t exactly have the desired effect of spending more time on my studies and less on socializing so now my phone’s always on silent.

    And to fulfill the required portion of my comment my two words for you are “Spaghetti” and “Climbing”. To stretch my limits, I’ll even give you two more… “Block” and “Vase”. Although I do like Rachel’s words only because it truly would test your writing ability.

    Happy Thursday!

  • 4. Sarah  |  September 17, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    octopus

    jollyrancher

    You’re welcome!

  • 5. kelly  |  September 17, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    you taught me freshman year of school to never ask a boy more than one question at once bc you’ll never get the other one answered!

    bacon. ruler.

  • 6. John Owens  |  September 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Two words: Rhubarb and Hippopotamus

    Also… you may be alive and happy not watching Lost, but just think how much more alive and happier that one hour a week could make you! 🙂 Oh and Lost vs Biggest Loser: LOST!

    *ducks to avoid the swinging fists of fury coming my way*

  • 7. Lauren From Texas  |  September 17, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    i LOVE Biggest Loser. I am going to blog about it tonight.

    Pandora is only 99 cents for unlimited listening for the rest of the month. CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP. I do it and I am cheap.

    I heard Black Eyed Peas 3 times in 15 minutes this morning in the car. NOT OK.

    Two words:
    pink
    fart

    I HOPE MINE ARE PICKED.

  • 8. Stefanie  |  September 17, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    i too love baseball and hate hot dogs. my husband eats enough for both of us! Fun!

  • 9. Mandy  |  September 17, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    Two words: Library and tanning

    This was blog cool…I might have to borrow your idea for mine…;)

  • 10. Lisa  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    We might be twins. Maybe. I am so similar w/ the planning thing. In fact, I have a post scheduled for tomorrow about that very subject!

    Here’s my two words: salamander and bronchitis.

    Thanks for commenting on my blog – looking forward to getting to know you through yours!

  • 11. Mandy L  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    I HATE when people don’t answer all the questions. I once even tried a “question recap” where I took all the questions I’d asked earlier in the email and made a numbered list out of them at the end, just to make sure they didn’t forget to answer them. Still didn’t work. I think they do it just to make me mad.

    blizzard
    thumbtack

  • 12. Darla  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    We can still be friends but I love American Idol. 🙂

    I can’t compete with some of the above two word suggestions so I’m not gonna touch it.

  • 13. Stephanie  |  September 17, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Girl you crack me up! (And I have horrible migraines too! In fact, I have one now. Can’t wait to get home and crawl in bed.)

    Two words? Ok, ok!!!

    lightsaber, meatballs

  • 14. tiphany  |  September 17, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Dragon

    Bamboo

    Lol. Can’t wait till next week!

  • 15. Samantha  |  September 17, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Lingerie
    and
    Ice cream

    You got some really good two word combos. Can’t wait to see which one you choose and what you come up with next week!

  • 16. Kelly  |  September 17, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Uh, that Kate/Paula show sounds like a nightmare. Who would watch that? No one can afford kids, but that’s okay. Do it anyway!

  • 17. Charise Sprengel  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Maybe not sleeping through the night is God’s way of getting you ready for children- whether you can afford them or not!! if you wait till you can afford them – you’ll never be there!! Just do it- you’ll be surprised at what you CAN live without!! 🙂

  • 18. Charise Sprengel  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    oh yeah my two words

    whine

    sweat socks

    go for it!!

  • 19. Charise Sprengel  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    ok- just read all your comments and you can NOT possibly use Rachel’s words in the same sentence without puting a big ole fat NOT in front of one of them!!! I’m not even a native and I know better. 🙂

  • 20. Charise Sprengel  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    just read all your comments and you can NOT possibly use Rachel’s words in the same sentence without puting a big ole fat NOT in front of one of them!!! I’m not even a native and I know better. 🙂

  • 21. osarah  |  September 18, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Sorry I didn’t leave 2 words before. I just couldn’t think of a combination that was any good.

    How about niece and stapler? (I’m so unoriginal. My stapler is next to a photo of my niece on my desk at work.)

  • 22. Taryn E  |  September 18, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Lime, cockroach

  • 23. Lyndsey  |  September 18, 2009 at 8:31 am

    My words are Texas and Football. Wait… too easy???

    Ok…. How about chapstick and baby poop? Does baby poop count as one even though it’s two words.

  • 24. lalagt  |  September 18, 2009 at 8:59 am

    I plan my menu and blogs too! I thought I was the only wierdo. My husband makes fun of me and my multitude of lists.

    Here are my two words:
    toilet paper

  • 25. smile steady  |  September 18, 2009 at 11:19 am

    dandruff

    and

    unicorn

    ready, set, go!

  • 26. mom  |  September 18, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Do NOT get sunburned this weekend! (1) Beach (2) pretzel

  • 27. Ashley  |  September 18, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one imagines what I’ll do when I win the lotto… I just wish it would be sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

