That’s Why Pencils Have Erasers… Or Why Phones Have Cameras

September 21, 2009 at 9:07 am 15 comments

I had one of those weekends that was wonderful beyond words. One that makes you consider quitting your job and living in a tent on the beach so you can keep it up. Although that really wouldn’t make sense. But it does a little bit, in my head.

I spent the weekend at the beach with my husband and 6 of our dear friends from Austin. I don’t have much to offer you this morning for two reasons. The first reason is that we got home pretty late last night and spent some time doing laundry, cleaning our house, and showering the Galveston funk off of me, so I didn’t have time to work on an interesting post for you. Now I’m at work and, well, these projects aren’t just going to administrate themselves. Whatever that means.

The second reason is that when I arrived at Bella Rose, my mom kindly asked me if I had my camera or if I wanted her to leave her’s here with us. To which I responded, “Of course I have my camera. I’m a blogger.” Later that evening when we were playing a ridiculous game called Quelf and my husband was wearing a face mask fashioned out of a reusable grocery bag, a twist tie, and that plastic doober that holds a six-pack together, I realized I was an idiot and my camera was sitting on my desk at work.

Hey, we all make mistakes.

I planned to show you a bunch of wonderful photos today but instead you have to look at photos taken from an iPhone and an LG Dare. Deal with it.

Veronica was quick enough to get a picture of the only wave we saw this weekend.

IMG_0283

Let me also say that when it’s really bright outside, it’s very hard to see the screen of your phone. Hence the off-centered photo of Stephen and Jake playing Monkey Balls. At least I got Veronica’s legs in there. Nice legs, V.

0919091403

I feel that I need to share the one crappy photo we have of Stephen with his mask.

IMG_0285

We decided that the person who invented this game was high. There is no other explanation. If you haven’t heard of Quelf, well, you’re not alone. None of us had- except, of course, the couple who brought the game. They can show their faces if they want. Imagine drinking about 7 beers and then sitting down with some of your friends and making a board game. That is Quelf. Need more proof?

IMG_0287

Uhhh, yeah.

So that’s all I’ve got for you. I’ll pepper in a few more photos during the week. And maybe some stories.  Too bad I don’t have the opportunity to draw a two word combination of “iPhone and drunk man” or “Cube and stud finder.”

How was your weekend?

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Galveston, Stephen. Tags: , , , , .

Seven Quick Takes (vol.7) This Is Your Mission, Should You Choose To Accept It

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren From Texas  |  September 21, 2009 at 10:21 am

    All my photos in my last post were taken with my iPhone – I need a new camera really badly. But the iPhone takes pretty good pictures.

    Looks like you had fun, we did suck at communication this weekend. We’ll make up for it this week/Sunday 🙂

  • 2. Jill  |  September 21, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I have never heard of the game Quelf. And oddly enough, I was just looking at iPhones last night. I’m eligible for an upgrade! I’m sure you were just dying to know that 😛

  • 3. Veronica  |  September 21, 2009 at 11:57 am

    I want to go back. Wouldn’t it be nice to be there still instead of in front of our computers at work?

  • 4. Lindsay  |  September 21, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I miss Bella Rose.

  • 5. Lisa D  |  September 21, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    I hate it when I forget my camera. Doesn’t happen very often, but it does happen occasionally. Like on Friday at my going away happy hour. I was so annoyed because I really wanted to get a group photo with my co-workers. Bummed. Oh well. I will see them again, so it’s not the end of the world, I guess!

    My weekend was great, though. Hung out with friends I hadn’t seen in a while!

  • 6. Sarah  |  September 21, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Is it just me or does Quelf sound dirty?

  • 7. Caroline  |  September 21, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I am jealous of the beach and sun. It’s been raining here for a week and a half straight. And I agree with Sarah, Quelf sounds really, really dirty!

  • 8. Kristin  |  September 21, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I forget my camera all the time. Pitiful excuse for a Mommy I am. Ah ha. Sounds like a delightful weekend!

  • 9. Mom  |  September 21, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Sounds like you had fun – Quelf can’t be “Dirty” or my daughter wouldn’t have played it! 🙂

  • 10. Mom  |  September 21, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    P.S. Sorry about the camera!!!!! I can’t believe you didn’t have yours – that is soooo unlike you! Oh well…

  • 11. Samantha  |  September 21, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    I hate when I forget my camera. Or when I actually bring it along and the battery is dead!

  • 12. mbowman7  |  September 21, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Sounds like y’all had a blast. Haven’t been to the beach in ages so I’m jealous. Never heard of Quelf either but I’m with Sarah it does sound dirty …lol..

  • 13. Debbie  |  September 22, 2009 at 8:42 am

    I was totally going to make the “quelf sounds dirty” comment! and ive definitely been having one of those weeks/months!

  • 14. Debbie  |  September 22, 2009 at 8:43 am

    at least you had a super fun weekend to make up for it!

  • 15. Jimbo  |  September 23, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    I don’t understand why “Quelf” sounds dirty. I do understand why it’s in the discussion for greatest party game of all time. I don’t understand why there was one wave on the beach this last weekend. I do understand why you would never want to leave Bella Rose EVER!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

