What You’ll Find in the Cracks of My Brain

October 1, 2009 at 9:01 am 17 comments

What is your earliest memory? They say you can remember things from as early as 18 months. I think “they” are liars. I’ve been told numerous times that I have an incredible memory. And while that may be partially true, I definitely can’t remember things that happened before I turned 2! They also say that you remember things that made an impact on you. Things that scared you, caused you pain, made you extremely happy, things you loved, etc. The good things bring us special joy. We think, “I hope my kids make forts in the living room!” Or “I hope my kids love playing with homemade play-doh the way I did!”  Do you think those things?

When I was little, my mom sold Tupperware. I don’t specifically remember this, but I do remember having access to every size and shape and color I desired. As long as that color was either mustard, orangey brown, brown, or red. There was a small brown container that I kept in my room. Imagine the size and shape of those tiny cokes, short and squatty. I don’t remember how old I was but I had to be under 6 since this happened when we lived in our old house. Each night my parents would tuck us in and say our prayers. Sometimes I’d go into my brother’s room as my mom was sitting on his bed listening to him talk about something that was boring to me and I’d pick off all of the little pills from the backside of his comforter. I kept a collection of these tiny white balls in my Tupperware. Haven’t we talked about me being a hoarder before? I don’t particularly hope my children tear apart their siblings’ possessions, but I do hope they find joy in small collections. Little trinkets or toys that have some special (and probably odd) meaning to them.

I also hope my kids use their imagination when they play outside. I remember making pictures with sidewalk chalk, building houses for snails out of shoeboxes, going on adventures in the backyard, and making up rollerskating routines. These things obviously meant a lot to me because I can still remember them vividly.

Books also made quite an impact. Don’t you remember the amazing stories about the Berenstain Bears? With their long finger nails and their super cool house? I can remember loving the Amelia Bedelia books and the Dr. Seuss books. And Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. All great books! So great that there are TWO movies out right now that are based on children’s books. (Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs and Where The Wild Things Are, for those of you living under a rock.)

My brother loved turtles when he was a baby. Seeing as I was negative 2 years old when he was a baby, I’m having a hard time remembering this. But I’m told by my mother and my brother that he loved turtles. We even had this really cute turtle sprinkler. It was really cheap. Just a plastic turtle with a hole in the butt area to screw the water hose into. The top of the turtle (also known as the shell) had holes in it. It was great. We’d jump over it and giggle and then jump back over. It wasn’t fancy, it didn’t turn or swivel, it just sprayed. But we loved that thing. Maybe because it was a turtle, or maybe because it was a sprinkler and all kids love sprinklers. Who knows?!

My sister-in-law is pregnant. She’s due in early January so there is quite an excitement buzzing around the family. A few weeks ago she went to register for all of her baby loot and my mom and her mom went along. As they were wandering the aisles my mom spotted a stuffed turtle. She melted. She HAD to buy this for baby Avery. Since Avery’s dad has such a love for turtles, certainly she would too. When my mom saw my brother she showed him, “Look what I found!” He smiled and said, “Tuh tuh!”

We hold onto these things yall! The collections, the books, the activities, the hours in the sprinkler. We keep these memories in a special place and every now and then they are resurfaced. When I have a child I want to bake homemade chocolate chip cookies and let them cool on unfolded brown paper grocery bags that are spread all over the kitchen table. I want my child to hold onto Stephen’s hands and crawl up his body and flip around just like I did with my dad.

Maybe this is a way of holding onto our youth. We feel like we are reliving these activities. Or maybe we just really want to see our children giggle and smile and learn. Whatever the case, I have high hopes for my kids! I can’t wait to meet them and learn them and listen to them recite “Caps! Caps for sale!” as they pretend to read it.

What about you? What memories do you cling onto that you hope your children can experience?

********

My lovely blog friend, Jill was responsible for this post. I told you the two words seemed easy. They weren’t! Leave your next two words in the comments.

DSC01298

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Family, Getting Old. Tags: , , , .

Loser 8.03: I’m Used to Pizza, Not Climbing a Hill! Seven Quick Takes (vol.9)

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  October 1, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I love these “two-words” posts; so much creativity and forced random topics!

    May I be the first to introduce two words for next week? “Diploma” and “candle.”

  • 2. Lisa D  |  October 1, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Wow. Good work! Loved this post. I have so many fond memories from my childhood. We also loved playing with the sprinkler. Life was simpler then. No one had iPod or Nintendo DS or anything. We played outside and used our imagination. I want my kids to have a similar childhood.

    I think my earliest memory is not a fun one, though – I was maybe 3 and I ran into a chair or something and got a terrible black eye. It was actually purple. But I remember I got totally pampered and laid on my dad’s recliner with my panda blanket and got tons of attention for my little minor injury!

    My two words: candle / library

  • 3. Kim  |  October 1, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Honestly for me, my hope is that my children have a drastically different childhood then I did. So it’s sort of the opposite, everything I remember I hope is pretty much the opposite for them.

    This is a great entry, I think I’ll borrow your idea and expand on my thoughts with this for my own blog. 🙂

  • 4. mom  |  October 1, 2009 at 10:51 am

    What a lovely way to start my day!!! Reading about memories. Parents don’t always think what they are doing with their kiddos will have an impact on them – glad to know it did – and so grateful to hear about it! I LOVED ALL OF THOSE BOOKS!!! Your kids can also have those great “simplistic” memories if you don’t let technology take over their lives – not sure HOW that will happen in this day…harder for yall then it was for us. Although I do remember that Nintendo had come out and we wouldn’t buy it for yall and we heard about that ALL the time! 🙂
    Two words: scarecrow and clown

  • 5. Taryn M. Peine  |  October 1, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Everyone jokes with Drew when they meet me and says, “I bet you’ll have five kids just like her,” as Drew rolls his eyes. I pretend like I hope they’ll be nothing like me because I know I was a handful, but I secretly hope we’ll have at least one little Taryn. I think it’d be hilarious. Annoying sometimes. But often hilarious!

  • 6. Sarah  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    I was wondering where this came from until I realized it was your two random words!

    orangutan & antidote

  • 7. mbowman7  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I don’t know what my first memories are. I can kind of picture comming down stars Christmas morning one year. I must have been about 3 or 4. But I do know that I have plenty of memories from a home we moved into when I was in 1st grade.

    As for books I loved Where the Wild Things Are. My son is 10 and I still read it to him all the time, and sometimes he reads it to me.

    2 words: light switch / stapler

  • 8. DebbieQ  |  October 1, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Nice job! My head is spinning at putting books and sprinklers together. Two things that do not play well together.

    My earliest memories are of coming down the stairs at the house that we lived in and the lightening was flashing through the window. My mom tells me I was about 2 at the time.

    P.S. I left you a little “award” on my blog.

  • 9. timlinzrowland  |  October 1, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I haven’t left you two words before but I thought I might today! Since it is fall here where I live and Halloween is around the corner I think one word should be witch and then lets make it harder and let the second word be snowman.
    Have fun if those two words get picked !

  • 10. Tiphany  |  October 1, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Loved it! Paige’s room is decorated with turtles. I’ve been collecting them since high school.

    deja vu / samurai

  • 11. Maureen  |  October 1, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I have all the kids books from when they were little, one that my mom gave to “Stephen” the Christmas before he was born. She wrote in it to him. We didn’t know he would be Stephen or whatever girls name we had picked out. Of course that will go to your children. OH, and all of Stephen’s Garfield books, he loved those books. I bought a picnic basket when the kids were little one summer, and we had many adventures with that basket, it was filled with pb&j sandwiches and went to the West U pool with us many times, and the zoo, parks, etc. I still have the picnic basket too. And, Stephen has his yellow popple from when he was a baby (or I have it in storage). My kids were fortunate as was I and got to play outside with all the neighborhood kids, riding big wheels, motorized firetrucks, tricycles. We could leave them outside alone, wouldn’t do that now! My two words are Halloween and hamsters.

  • 12. Rachel  |  October 1, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    So I knew this was the “two word” post as I was reading it and thought I had it figured out. I was SURE the words were tupperware and turtle because those are two VERY random words to find in a post together.
    I think about this stuff all the time… The one that is the most sentimental for me is his bedtime routine. Every night we read three books (or there are nights like last night when he wanted me to read Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs twice and one other book) and sing three songs. The three songs are all songs my mom sang to us growing up and I love that at two… he knows all the words already. Two words: turtle and tupperware… because I’d like to see you use those two words again! 🙂

  • 13. Lindsay  |  October 1, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I totally forgot about that book! Caps for sale! Caps for sale! 50 cents a cap!! Loved it! I also memorized every word to Chicka Chicka Boom Boom when I was little. It was how I convinced some of my friends that I had already learned to read. hehehe.

    I can HEAR Justin say Tuh Tuh when i read that…cute. Can’t wait for Avery..>SOOOOO excited!

  • 14. Brother  |  October 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    I was wondering where my white fuzzies went from my comforter. May I have them back please. If Avery doesn’t like turtles we also got her a pink Astros rally monkey. It’s got long arms and legs with Velcro. I’m going to tie it aroung rogues belly tonight

  • 15. Jill  |  October 1, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Ahh! How I enjoyed reading this 🙂 It’s funny the things we remember, isn’t it? Good job on the 2 words 😀

  • 16. Sarah Johnson  |  October 2, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Here are my two words-
    Sharpies & Quelf

  • 17. Kristin  |  October 5, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I hope my little man enjoys the excitement of a run through the sprinkler as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

