Seven Quick Takes (vol.9)

October 2, 2009 at 9:15 am 25 comments

Can you believe I’ve been doing this for 9 weeks? Can you believe that you keep coming back even though you KNOW I’m going to tell you seven useless things? Yeah, me neither.

7_quick_takes

1.
All day yesterday I thought it was Wednesday. Each Thursday I’m responsible for posting (not writing) a new devotion on the women’s ministry blog for my church. As I was closing down my computer at work yesterday evening I thought, “I suppose I could go ahead and schedule it.” Two seconds later I realized it was Thursday already and I was 8 hours late. I’m so responsible that I shock even myself.

2.
 Yeah, hi J. Crew. Why are your dresses so expensive?

I have a few weddings to go to this winter and I think I’d like a new dress. All three weddings are from different areas of my life, so I think it may be appropriate to wear the same dress to all three weddings. I was thinking about a gray, knee-length dress. Maybe wool. If you see something let me know. I’m not very good at shopping unless it involves Target, Half Price Books, or Old Navy.

3.
I recently read a blog that discussed getting what you want. People often say, “Oh I wish I could _______.” In her case, people often said, “Oh! You are so lucky that you get to live in Europe. I wish I could live in Europe for a few years.” To which she answers, “Why don’t you?”

So simple. But really, so true.

I wish I knew what blog this was because I’d give you the link. One part I really loved was that she said that so many people get involved with a million different projects, hoping that they’ll find happiness in at least one of them. Just figure out what you really want and pursue it. If you wish you could cook, learn to cook. If you wish you could sew, learn to sew. If you wish you could lose weight, lose weight. Don’t avoid the thought process of figuring out what it is that you’d like to pursue. It’s that easy.

Only it’s not. 

4.
This Sunday on my weekly grocery shop, I plan to get a bottle of pumpkin spice creamer. I normally drink my coffee black. Pumpkin spice creamer is the only exception I make. Plus, I can’t afford to spend $4+ on pumpkin spice lattes. I need something pumpkin flavored to convince myself that it actually is fall.

5.
I’m “one of those” people who get their Christmas shopping done early. I don’t believe in being stressed out the week before Christmas, that makes me lose focus of what Christmas is all about. It also makes me broke. So for the sake of my sanity and my bank account, I start early. If you know of any great Etsy stores or unique websites, tell me the links! I think I’ve asked this before and got ZERO responses. I probably made the mistake of asking two questions in the same post.

Speaking of two questions… if you can handle it, add two words to your comment. I got 9 submissions yesterday but since all of them are TOO HARD I’m welcoming more.

6.
Last night my fingers were swollen from being hot and eating salty foods so I took off my rings. I have to do this because I have a band on both side of my engagement ring and it hurts my sausage fingers to have all three on. After The Office, Stephen was flippng around the television while I was working on this and that movie with Diane Keeton came on. I think it’s called “Something’s Gotta Give.”

C: I like this movie. You don’t, right?
S: No. I don’t. I don’t like watching old people have sex.
C: Well I like it. She’s a writer in a big house with big windows on the beach. I like that.
S: But she’s single.
C: So?
S: Put your ring back on.

So I did. But I just put my engagement ring on because it was too uncomfortable to wear all three. I put the others in my “secret hiding spot” and forgot to put them back on this morning. ALL OF THAT to say that I’m only wearing my engagement ring today. It’s kind of fun.

7.
I’m on this new kick where I want to learn stuff. Weird, I know. I don’t really want to take a class or anything, I just want to learn new sweet skills. I have to be conscious not to “put my hand in too many projects, hoping to get happiness out of one of them” but instead “begin the thought process of figuring out what it is that I want to pursue.” Like pie. I think I’d like to make a pie with homemade crust. I should probably stop saying, “I’d really like to do that” and start actually doing it.

I’m reading a John Piper book called “Don’t Waste Your Life.” For those of you who are familiar with Piper, you know that he’s not a simple beach read. He writes quality Biblical stuff and you must have a pen in your hand to read it. But I’m enjoying it because I’m in this learning mood.

That’s is y’all. That’s 7 quick takes. I feel like this week was especially lacking.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Chelsea, Stephen. Tags: , , , , , .

What You’ll Find in the Cracks of My Brain Ask the Hubby – Round 2

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Taryn M. Peine  |  October 2, 2009 at 9:31 am

    good luck with the pie thing – homemade pie crust is literally the hardest thing i’ve ever done in the kitchen. BUT it’s worth it in the end. look at smitten kitchen’s website for a tutorial on it – she makes good-looking pie crust!

  • 2. Lyndsey  |  October 2, 2009 at 9:46 am

    There is almost nothing your can’t learn how to do on YouTube.

    I frequently have no idea what day it is. Today I pulled into work and I was relieved to see someone else in jeans because for a brief second i thought “what if it’s not Friday.”

    You could come to Kansas City and visit… because it was 50 degrees when I got to work this morning and I can’t even pretent it’s still summer. Pumpkin is fabulous. Hungry girl (www.hungry-girl.com) uses it in TONS of recipes.

  • 3. Lauren From Texas  |  October 2, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I made my first pie last Christmas – success! Let me dig around for the pie crust recipe. It is my mom’s and it is “No Fail” – which is exactly what I needed 🙂

    Hahaha Stephen. “Put your ring back on.”

  • 4. Caroline  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:15 am

    I like the whole, “if you want to, why don’t you?’ I think I am going to start asking myself that question. Thanks!!!

  • 5. This Heavenly Life  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:16 am

    You can totally make pie! It’s not that hard, really – my grandma’s advice was always to use icy cold water, dribbling in teaspoonfuls until it reaches the right consistency. DO IT!

    I’ll check back for your Etsy suggestions. I *want* to use Etsy, but it feels so overwhelming not knowing the best places to look.

  • 6. kelly  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:17 am

    i want to make these, except i’m not big on pumpkin. i just like the idea of it. http://www.bakerella.com/

  • 7. kelly  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:18 am

    i also just got a message from your blog saying “your posts are coming too fast. slow down.” ok ok, but it was just one post!

  • 8. kelsey @ seattle smiths  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I am a Texan a heart, born and raised, and now in Seattle. Do I still count (refer to Stephanie’s blog)!!

  • 9. Joy  |  October 2, 2009 at 10:48 am

    I will send you the chicken recipe and a couple Etsy shop names later today.

    I do the same thing with pumpkin creamer, treat myself to a couple of lattes from Starbucks and then buy the creamer.

  • 10. Glam Newlywed  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:00 am

    The pumpkin creamer idea is fabulous, I’ll have to pick some up this afternoon when I run to the grocery store. (not literally run, I haven’t actually run anywhere since like 9th grade. but you know what I mean 🙂

    The convo with your husband cracked me up, mine tells me all the time to put my ring back on too, I always take it off to put lotion on my hands after washing them and forget to put it back on… Oops!

    I’m not an etsy expert, but I do like these websites for fun gifts:

    http://www.lulus.com
    http://www.hulaisland.com
    http://www.curlygirldesigns.com

    Good luck!

  • 11. rachelheather  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:11 am

    “Don’t Waste Your Life” is one of the best books I’ve ever read. And I’ve read a lot of books.

  • 12. DebbieQ  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Oh yes, just remember that you took your rings off and what you did with them. I say this from experience after the unfortunate “unstuffing and restuffing of the Thanksgiving turkey” incident many years ago when I took off my rings the night before Thanksgiving to put lotion on my hands and then forgot to put them back on. I got up early on Thanksgiving morning and went down to stuff the bird and get him into the oven. Then went back upstairs to crawl back in bed and at that time realized that I didn’t have my rings on, didn’t remember that I had taken them off the night before, and then unstuffed the bird thinking that perhaps they had somehow slipped off my fingers into the stuffing. Not a good way to start a holiday.

  • 13. Jill  |  October 2, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I’ve only ordered off etsy once or twice. However, I rec’d a lovely something from this gal yesterday:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6519972

    This is Becca, my real life friend, and she does custom artwork in addition to her military-themed pieces:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5622672

    Also, this gal, I’ve been eyeballing her wreaths lately. Unfortunately I don’t have $70 to spend on a wreath so I think I’m going to have to try my hand at making one myself…
    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6862219

  • 14. Aunt Bonnie  |  October 2, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Will bring you Uncle Dennis’s EASY home made pie crust…..if you have a food processor????

  • 15. mbowman7  |  October 2, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    1 – At least you weren’t thinking it was Friday and it turn out to be only Thursday.
    2 – I love Target
    3 – I always am involved in too much but only cause I can’t say no.
    4 – Have to start on my shopping list. I always put it off.
    5 – I plan on doing mostly online shopping this yr.
    6 – I took my wedding ring off and forgot where I put it one time. I was freaking out all day.
    7 – You can never learn too much. But when I’m done with work It hurts to use my brain.

  • 16. Mom  |  October 2, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I went to the girlfriends blog and was wondering where the devotion was. I started to email you…didn’t I??? I saw a nice gray/black sweatery dress at Coldwater Creek.. If you are wearing a dress to 3 different weddings it is okay to spend a bit more. You can do a pie. It isn’t that hard – cold cold water is the key and not handling it too much. I would like to read the book when you are done. Happy weekend!! And thanks for taking care of my molly…..

  • 17. Rachel  |  October 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    #1? Totally something I would do. Did Stephen call you Dwight? (B/c of The Office episode where Jim lets Dwight think it’s Friday all day when it’s Thursday. I laugh out loud thinking about it… Almost as hard as I laugh when Dwight gets faxes from his future.)

    There is nothing wrong with store bought crust… my grandma taught me that. I’ll post an AH-mazing cheesecake pie I made last Thanksgiving on your recipe blog… Stephen will thank me… so will your food baby.

    Jeez my comment is long today. So last thing. If I submit tupperware and turtle as my two words again does that mean they go in the bowl twice? Because I think they should… don’t be scared. 🙂

  • 18. Joy  |  October 2, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Two shops that I’ve either used or thought about using:

    http://meandmadeline.etsy.com
    http://www.MsquaredDesign.etsy.com

    And I will post the chicken recipe on my blog either tonight or tomorrow.

    Two Words: Birch, chocolate

  • 19. Lisa D  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I love these 7 takes. Fun to learn random info about you!

    I hate when people say “I wish…” when it is totally attainable. I have a good friend who is always saying that she wishes she had as much time to read to me. And she used to say this to me when I was working full time and doing grad school in the evenings. And she was just working. So it royally pissed me off. I wanted to tell her to maybe cut back on the 9,000 shows she watched each week and she would be able to read as many books as I can. But that would be mean to say. And I try not to be mean if at all possible.

  • 20. timlinzrowland  |  October 3, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I like John Piper and my best friend keeps telling me to read that book. I guess I will have to add it to the nightstand after I finish the 4 other books I have started but have yet to finish!

  • 21. Amanda  |  October 3, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    I love these 7 Quick Takes posts!!

  • 22. Erin  |  October 4, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Pie crust that never fails:
    1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1/3 cup shortening
    5 Tablespoons cold water

    Blend the flour & salt, then cut in shortening until it’s pea-sized. Add the water and stir until just mixed, then roll the dough out to desired size. So easy, and so good! Once it’s in the pie plate, refrigerate it for about 20 mins so the dough gets cold – it is flakier that way! I am a freak show about pie dough from scratch. Pretty much anything from scratch actually. But it’s totally not hard and takes literally 5 minutes. Stepping off of my soapbox now.

    I need to get that book. I made a mental note to about, say, WAY TOO LONG AGO and still haven’t.

  • 23. Veronica  |  October 4, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    banana republic had a really good sale last week. i got a cute little black dress for a reasonable prize; it’s worth a shot. i get a lot of coupons/discount codes for BR in my e-mail, so if i get any good ones soon, i’ll let you know.

    let me know how pie making goes. the other night my friend made cherry pie, and it was so delicious. i thought to myself that i would love to make some time to make a crust and a yummy filling for a pie. mmmm.

  • 24. jfowens  |  October 5, 2009 at 2:51 am

    On the “I wish/Your so Lucky” concept, for me it’s a big pet-peeve when people say “I didn’t have time to do… whatever.”

    When someone tells me, that they really wanted to call me last week but they “didn’t have time,” or I’ve really been wanting to Do this craft project but I “haven’t had time,” it really bugs me.

    Don’t get me wrong, I know that some people lead busy lives, but the fact is, most of us have time that we spend relaxing, watching TV, going for a walk, working on a home improvement, mowing the lawn, doing whatever. Wouldn’t it be more accurate to say “I’ve really been wanting to call you but I chose to watch 6 episodes of ’24’ back to back?” Or “I haven’t done my craft project because I’ve chosen to do something else.”

    Don’t say you haven’t had time if you have. Just admit that you haven’t chosen do whatever it is that you need to get done.

  • 25. osarah  |  October 5, 2009 at 4:01 am

    This is going to be a long comment of responses. Please excuse the lack of transitions. I don’t feel like trying to segue my thoughts here —

    I own Don’t Waste Your Life. I haven’t been able to get past the first 50 pages, though. It just sits on my shelf.

    If you want a homemade pie crust recipe, let me know. My grandmother’s recipe was amazing. It’s light and flakey and oh so delicious. I only ever made homemade pie crusts because of this. And on the topic of wanting to do new things, I have been the same way lately. I’m takinga sewing class and a quilting class later this month AND John and I are going to the first meeting of the Culture Club on post to see if it’s any fun. 🙂

    I, too, like wearing just my engagement ring now and then. It IS fun. Plus, I like how dainty just one band looks.

    Try Ann Taylor LOFT for dresses.

    Two (3) words: ficus and rolling pin

    #3 – John’s response/our blog. It’s true. That is his pet peeve. He corrects me every time I use that phrase.

    #4 – Etsy stores. I wish I had a good suggestion. I normally just browse until I find something I think is neat. Unfortunately, I don’t save the links. Whenever I go back, I have to start at square one.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

My Button

Since the code doesn't work, save it as a jpg and be sure to link back to Roots & Rings.

Join Swagbucks!

Search & Win

